August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Fall

by Qaterknan - Jam Entry

=== NEW version ====
There were some server errors, but it should be alright now
====================

After The Fall, resources are depleted and every piece of scrap is valuable. Different groups wage wars on junkyards and you are a leader of one such group. You have something special that gives you great advantage - you have a computer! But you have only energy to run it for about a ten seconds. What will your orders be?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#322Innovation(Jam)2.91
#381Audio(Jam)2.53
#452Fun(Jam)2.50
#500Mood(Jam)2.24
#512Theme(Jam)2.55
#523Overall(Jam)2.55
#535Graphics(Jam)2.32
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

gravyhands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12am

Pretty fun! My setup consisted of clicking my mouse as fast as humanly possible for 10 seconds, haha. No strategic placement whatsoever, but it was good fun and that is what matters

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46am

Game wouldn't start!

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47am

It takes quite a while for it to load, are you sure you didn't escape to early?

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26am

Nice old school feel

vrld says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:05am

Wouldn't load on Windows 7 with Chrome and a fast internet connection even though I gave it about 5 minutes.

teamenschede says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:07am

Game does not start

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16am

The game does not load on my machine... I'm using chrome in Windows7.

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29am

ATTENTION:
There were some hosting problems but it should be ok now. However, the game still takes a long time to load.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:35am

While I think it was extremely interesting having the different modes (shop, planning, observing) which I found cool I think I felt kinda drained from all the tutorial reading at the very start. Being able to zoom in and out of the battle was awesome but I wish there was a way to fast forward it or something (watched the mutants walk painfully slow for ages across the map haha) Anyways good stuff man : ).

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Positives:
Liked the setting.
Good concept for the theme.
Music matched setting pretty well.

Negatives:
Too many units in setup time so didn't have time to think about strategy.
Units took too long to get across the field after the battle was pretty much over.
Tutorial text was quite overwhelming and didn't really want to read through it all.
Felt a bit too easy.

All in all, not a bad game. As said above setting is good but I feel that this would have worked a lot better with less units or given a different theme to work with. The 10 second setup just doesn't give time for strategy and that should be what the game is about. Still, enjoyable nonetheless and a pretty good effort!

Grafter says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Good idea, simple and i enjoyed it!

Urfoex says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:40am

I would join into what The Evil Cult said.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]