August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Beyond Hope

by manabreak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It was my second time participating, and this time, I didn't feel that comfortable doing the theme. Nevertheless, I came up with something, but instead of focusing that much on the theme, I tried to make a small, simple game that tries to deliver something. The theme is there, but it's not as obvious as it might be.

I hope you enjoy it, I'd love to hear what you think of it. :)

For installation, just extract the .ZIP file. :)

Requirements:
- .NET 4.0 runtime
- OpenGL 3.3 capable graphics card
- A few megabytes of free space

Notes:
"Beyond Hope" was made with C#, Visual Studio 2013 Preview, OpenTK, SDL + SdlDotNet, LDLib, GIMP and Psycle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#8Audio4.06
#26Mood3.94
#131Overall3.59
#224Graphics3.51
#531Fun2.95
#606Innovation2.89
#861Theme2.81
#864Humor1.71

Comments

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

Windows download reports back "Access to the web page was denied"

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

Going to the zip just leads me to google docs and the files within the zip... switch to dropbox maybe?

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

I had no idea what was going on in this game for a while. But...I spent a lot of time in it not knowing what was going on =)

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17am

^ Ignore that comment =/ Had two windows open.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23am

I just get a blank, white screen when I run it. I can hear the music, though. I'm on Win7.

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24am

Very Fezzy feeling! Liked that. Had a little trouble in the beginning because the door didn't like to appear and I was running out of land to...land on. But I enjoyed the experience I was given!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29am

Don't worry, I didn't feel comfortable with the theme too. Cute!

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32am

That was great! I really liked the music and the atmosphere created.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50am

Was sad but brilliant. If only I could jump a few pixels higher!!!

Excellent and beautiful game

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06am

Interesting audio, I liked the mood. A good deal too pretentious in the story, sort of like Braid. Good job nonetheless.

levsha128 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55am

Game is not loaded

Diamonde says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Fantastic game! Very atmospheric and relaxing music.
The levels were increasingly more difficult, but not so hard they needed too many attempts, and they were increasingly more enjoyable as well :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Great music. The '..his reason to live' level was too tough for me, and I gave up.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37am

Very nice game. It's kinda sad... I made it thru the end. The music was amazing. The gameplay too. Just perfect to tell the story. Great work ! Thank you !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49am

Very good.

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:58am

Dear manabreak:
The day that I can make a game like yours, I will be very happy. Imagine, I'm really happy by playing your game!!
Dear manabreak, you just won a fan.

This game is a piece of art, with beautiful graphics and impressive music. The gameplay es pretty fun, and the level design is ingenious (lacks of balance maybe)...

I give you a modest prize for your game, a Programmer Fun Art:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/27/beyond-hope-fan-art/

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:07am

At first I thought it was just a atmospheric story game, so the platforming seemed a little, harder, but beautifully as the game progressed it turned into a genius puzzle platformer, whilst retaining the brilliant mood setup in the beginning. A simplistic game but with endless charm and genius!

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21am

At this point, I want to say thank you to everyone who has played my game! Your heart-warming comments mean the world to me and make it all worthwhile. <3

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:22am

Great game! Loved it all, took some time to understand that the door showed up after 10 seconds and not after remove all blocks ;)

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Fun game man.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Nice game, thought the puzzling with falling blocks was great. Cute game with a sad story.

Erhune says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Very nice and interesting ambiance, with a good balance of graphics/audio/story. Some levels were a bit too tough for me (especially because of the strong horizontal inertia), but I liked it overall!

sittaman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:35pm

A bit strange, since I couldn't find out what was happening. Some levels has a good difficult level and the jump could be a bit higher. Also, the sound is good so is the mood.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:19am

really good game ...good sound and fun to play

Spotline says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

Very cool mood, maybe a bit too indie-emo for me though

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:38am

:3

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Unhandled exception on startup, probably the OpenGL requirement.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Very solid entry ;) The sound has good mood for me :) Good work overall.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:46pm

doesnt start

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Worked fine on my other machine.

Innovation on new lows :)

Nice little game, the floaty controls are somewhat annoying.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:56pm

OMG how cute!

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Hi again Manabreak! I like that the 10 seconds are implicit. It took a while for me to realize the door will only show up after a while (instead of appearing when walking somewhere). Had a good vibe and like liked the narration. I think rotating block a tad bit (only minimally) when falling would make the falling effect amazing (it did sometimes already). The window closing automatically at the end felt magical somehow :D.

manabreak says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:32am

@FrozenCow Wow, my exact thought about the blocks was "Hmm, it's a bit boring when the block just... falls." You're right, giving it a small 'pre-torque' would make it much cooler. Maybe in the sequel! ^_^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]