August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Kendog

by Koga SilverDragon - Jam Entry

Kendog is a game about the samurai duels that a keen eye and lightning reflexes means honor or death.

OBS: Better play in 1024x768(windowed), any other resolution may have some issues.

Controls:

- Space: attack
- Enter: reset battle
- Esc: Main menu

Team:

Daniel - 2D Artist, UI, scenario, BMG and SFX.
Flam - 2D Artist, character and animation.
Geeh - 2D Artist, UI and scenario.
Koga - Programmer.
Luiz - Programmer.
Lurils - 2D Artist, character and animation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#42Graphics(Jam)4.33
#191Audio(Jam)3.13
#305Theme(Jam)3.04
#358Mood(Jam)2.71
#406Humor(Jam)1.94
#484Overall(Jam)2.67
#555Fun(Jam)2.13
#557Innovation(Jam)2.21
#1806Coolness17%

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14am

Art is gorgeous, rated highly. :)

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:56am

Yep, your art is awesome :) kinda hard to win though :V

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26am

Looks beautiful, but I couldn't figure out the mechanics. I could only get one random victory, out of several tries, and I still can't say why I won.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32am

@BradleySmith @Foxtacy
TY. That's just was possible because we have good artists on the group =)

@pvradtke
You must attack after your enemy lower his guard(The vulnerability frame is pretty small, so you need to pay attention on his moves).

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48am

Updated. I forgot the "unsheathe" SFX (the "vulnerability alert").

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29am

menu looked amazing, but the gameplay is lacking, wasn't sure where the challenge lies because I spam spacebar and win everytime.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Very beautiful! After get the hang of it is easy. Perhaps with a doge and a counterattack make the game more dynamic.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Amazing game! Congrats!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Incredible graphics! Very cool that it is possible to note the authors by name! Daniel, Flam, Geeh, Lurils - you're the best!

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Grapichs and sound well made. Think the mechanics and gameplay need more work, but well made =)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:17am

Excellent, great graphics, music, sound and innovative mechanics. Gave me some ideas, I think a couple more kinds of moves would make the game yet more interesting.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Gorgeous game. The gameplay could get a bit more work, feels a bit random at first, but good game overall.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

Beautiful game, but felt too short/simple. Also didn't really know what I was doing, just kinda guessed and usually won.

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:15am

Really nice art, couldn't quite grasp the mechanics...

Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:20am

Good looks great but winning seemed a bit random.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I think the gameplay is too simple, and makes the game a bit short (some extra moves would be good). But nice work on the rest!

Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:21am

love the art

AlexFili says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:44am

Very nice collaborative effort. Could be great if this was made into an arcade style game with a difficulty that increases after each victory. Great style, good music and sounds. Overall a fantastic idea (Brilliant game title too).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]