August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chrono Switch

by dlan - Jam Entry

This is a game where you have to switch between two character to reach the end of each levels. Each character have to complete an action in 10 seconds to help the other character.

Keys : left and right arrow keys to move, up to jump. Ctrl to switch character, space to attack

Made with Bess.


(Post Jam updates)
- Change the flash framerate to get better performance on some configuration
- Add restart option on game over

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#55Innovation(Jam)3.67
#164Graphics(Jam)3.73
#186Mood(Jam)3.20
#220Overall(Jam)3.27
#236Humor(Jam)2.63
#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#262Theme(Jam)3.16
#396Audio(Jam)2.48

Comments

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02am

That was hectic ;) I love this idea of switching between the overworld and underworld characters! It's a little to fast for me, but I'll keep trying! When I reach Game Over though I need to reload the page to try again. Is that a bug?

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Hey, I really like this concept!

dlan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:23pm

glad you liked the idea, it implementation has been a roller coaster :) About the replay option in the game over screen, we didn't manage to add it in time. maybe I will add it in a post jam version.

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:33am

I couldn't figure out how to cut the rope! I like the concept though. Playing the skeleton upside down was a good choice.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Nice concept. Good job. It' will be an other game, but have you think to make a two player version?

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Very interesting concept and execution! :)

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:44pm

A very interesting concept and great use of graphics. I liked seeing the two world's side by side. The game seemed pretty slow moving though, either it was lagging on my computer or the jump and movement controls are very slow. Also I found there was some dodgy collision detection going on with some of the platforms, the rope and the button. A more in depth tutorial would have been nice too.

Overall I really liked the idea and the world, the characters are great. Just wished the experience had tighter controls.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Great idea but I had trouble playing it =/ i switched to skeleton but it looked like he was just stuck on spikes

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:36pm

The idea is really interesting but I don't think the Y axis inversion was necessary here. The respawning bat too is really frustrating and is more annoying than fun.
Nice job guys :)

Spotline says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

I'm so much in love with your graphic style :D

Diventurer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Interesting concept, but it was way too hard for me. Also, a reset button would be nice. It's not convenient to have to refresh the site every time you die.

dlan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Thanks for playing it, guys! I have uploaded an updated version with a restart option on game over.

@Starspell It's possible the game lagging on some configuration, I haven't made extensive optimization. the last version should be a little better performance wise.

@iterative deepening Having a two player version could be fun :) It would probably change the gameplay a bit, since one character depend on the other to move, but that something to try out.

bess1982 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

thanks guys ! i'm glad you like our concept and graphics ;)

Gremlin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Like the idea. Wish the characters were a bit more robust so that I felt like I could make more progress, particularly with the skeleton. The controls weren't quite as solid as they could be, the feel was a bit off.

odeckers says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Very cool use of the theme, good concept!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:05am

But this was fun and cool idea about time too.
Nice pixel work!

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I really liked the game! The y-inversion for skeleton was slightly annoying and there were some flaws, like when character would lose horizontal momentum in midair or fall from chain if timer hits zero, but the art & sound are really nice and I love the core idea.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Really like the concept and mechanics. I think if the controls were better it would improve the game feel immensely.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]