August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Tunnels

by Thinkofdeath - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The aim of the game is to get to the exit within 10 seconds. Select the path you want to take then press the green button to follow the path.

There is only 5 levels because I ran out of time. (I missed the first day).

All the graphics in the game are procedurally generated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#440Theme3.29
#470Innovation3.08
#851Graphics2.39
#1011Overall2.54
#1027Fun2.26
#1037Mood1.87
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

gigitrix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

Would be cooler with a draggable interface (rather than mashing different squares to go in straight lines) and obviously more levels, but the concept is very cool.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02am

I like it! (Mainly because this is very similar to my original idea for my entry.) Might be a bit too simple though. The interface works well!

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02am

What would be better, i think, is if player needed to have exactly 10 seconds, when going into blue square to win. And build the levels off of that, so you need to plan your movement more precisely, then when the goal is just getting to the exit.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Forgot to rate! Lol. :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11am

I really like the way you used the theme here. And the rounds where there are multiple balls, really makes it interesting. I would've loved to be able to use the keyboard to plan the route though, or maybe be able to "drag" the route, since it gets quite tedious having to click all the time.
A few times I accidentally used undo too many times, which resulted in the ball(s) being removed, and I was unable to continue.
The concept is awesome. A bit of polish, and some more levels, and you have a nice puzzle game going here!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15am

A really innovative idea with loads of potential. If you'd only have changed that ugly green rectangle into something that likes looks like a button then the graphics would have been nice!

I agree with the other commenter about the draggable interface. If you make the tiles that slow you down look more like things that will slow you down that would be good (like sand or water). Also the time next the circle should tick up as it goes along rather than just staying the same. And if you reach the exit you should haven't to wait for the timer to finish.

I'm sure you know all this anyway. Good for one days work.

Thinkofdeath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Thanks for all the feedback so far

Nitrodeus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Nice game, good idea !
a lot of clicking :)

misson20000 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I think it's pretty fun but the interface could've used a bit more work

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Nice idea, shame you didn't get to add more levels.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:32am

pretty fun concept I would like to go back and undo moves and also use WASD to move around. maybe spacebar to run the game. I'm not big on mice.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

I like the idea, it could work really well with some tweaking.

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Wow, I really like the idea of planning the whole level and timing everything perfectly. Slow gameplay, but very fun. One minor complaint is, that the numbers are sometimes hard to read. Also I encountered a bug in the level where you have three characters for the first time. I pressed 'U' too often and that caused all my characters to disappear.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I think that using only the keyboard would be better, but this is a solid entry! Congrats!

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice idea, but I wish I could have tapped a key to set the circles' paths faster instead of clicking over and over

porglezomp says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Nice game, but I would have liked a better input scheme. Either using the keyboard for the directions, or clicking and dragging. I also wish that it would keep your path inbetween failures.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]