August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Paper Maze

by Dew - Jam Entry

Important information:

Only tested in google chrome!

If you want to run it from sources you'll need to run it from a webserver because getImageData() is a protected function.

Description:

Paper Maze is a 2D platform game where you are a paper plane and your job is to reach the end point, it has 36 playable levels with increasing dificulty.

Use Mouse to select levels and (w,a,s,d or arrow keys) to move the plane.

Note that random wind is generated every game start so movement may vary(check the background to see the wind direction).

Every level must be completed in less than 10 seconds (unless you use the checkpoints)

The first 6 levels are the tutorial which shows the important features of the game.

You can upload your highscore after completing a level (Use delete key to delete characters from name)

Team Members:

-Dew (Programming)
-Aoyuki (Art)

Made with:

-Raw html5 & javascript

You can download the playlist at http://papermaze.oqstats.net/songlist.txt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#152Humor(Jam)2.95
#176Theme(Jam)3.36
#209Mood(Jam)3.14
#251Fun(Jam)3.02
#288Audio(Jam)2.84
#308Graphics(Jam)3.20
#325Overall(Jam)3.04
#412Innovation(Jam)2.67

Comments

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

Nice.. although pretty random in regards to music. :)
The controls would be better if they were more precise.

Dracae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

Pretty nice, but the controls are iffy,

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

Rated 5/5 on every category based on the fact that this game was made by a madman.

Meep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:09am

Nice aesthetically pleasing game, but it was difficult to control at times. :( Nice work, though!

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13am

Good game. Works well in Chrome . Nice that you took the time for a tutorial. Good level design, decent mechanics. Nice variety of music.

It crashes Firefox v. 23.0.1.

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13am

It found it very difficult to handle, but it looks fine

Dew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16am

People complaining about the controls should know that there is random wind every time you play, this change the acceletarion patter of your plane :P

EggPlant <3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17am

Copyright lawyers are gonna have a field day with this haha. Still, nice little game, and super grats considering it was written in JS/HTML5 from scratch without any middleware. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18am

The music in the first tutorial level made me laugh out loud, well done. Well done.

The controls were iffy, and I couldn't get past He Man for some reason, but it was enjoyable :)

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

A challenging and totally addicting game. I can't believe how much content you made in such a short time. Brilliantly well done. Top marks for theme - my 10 seconds were spent differently on every level.

Death Star music + Pokeball = genius.

Fervir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26am

You spend a lot of the time fighting the controls.
Pretty neat though

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33am

The random movement speed really ruined the game for me, especially when you combine that with the subpar controls - and some levels (like the one with the 5 or 6 slow things you have to just hold right arrow down on to get through) are impossible unless you get lucky with the wind factor. Other than that, it's a pretty simple game but that's offset by the amount of content, and it has a nice leaderboard system. (I'm Purebe, I WANTED ALL THE HIGH SCORES ... until the controls and randomness made me give up :P) Great job overall.

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34am

Nice, great idea with the music.

Hume says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:39am

The high score feature adds a lot. I like the art style.

Giving you any points for music would be putting your competitors at a disadvantage.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:01am

Cool art style. The music was crazy indeed.

...that's a lot of code. One of the first ones I actually checked out- you think it was easier to use the canvas vs webgl?

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Doesn't work for me on web .. firefox , gets up to the full bar of arrows then script error and goes no further

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Indiana Jones level won 5 star humor award by itself. I really had fun on some challenges. Good game.

gmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:52pm

nice game! very hard to me!! =) good job!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:52pm

The random wind direction and speed made the level less precise than desirable

sittaman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Very funny and I liked most of the playlist. The random factor on the speed gives it a tricky feeling. Also thumbs up for the high-score table!

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Different music for each level made me laugh :)

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

really cool game. brought me back to crayon physics mashed up with a bunch of other speed intense games.

I really liked it and the music. games are art and yours is really beautiful.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

Very crazy music! I liked this type of challenge!!

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Both good and bad. The random handling really brought out the masochist in me until I finished it. See, both good and bad.

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Oh and I forgot to mention, the highscores are not truthful based on the fact that movement speed varies each try. A skilled player might not get the chance to compete on their go of the level because the game has handicapped them. Secondly, the end portals hit zones feel too small. Yes I'm nitpicking.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:35am

Not bad. The controls are kind of iffy, and the music is...hit and miss.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:11am

Crazy music! Love the game

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Very nice! I like a lot this kind of challenge but I can't get past the Harlem Shake level. Great work but the levels shouldn't be locked so when someone gets stuck at a level he/she can play the other levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]