August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Railway Rage

by Komradus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Railway Rage!

You play as a magical star like creature, and you're mad at the local railway company, don't ask why.

Every 10 seconds, a train will go by, and every 10 seconds, you will want to destroy it.

Fire your missiles at the passing trains, but watch out for those little dudes standing on top of said trains, they have deadly hard hat missiles which will mess your day up, unless you deploy some shields, then you'll be fine.

Every train car destroyed awards you ammo and points, every person and missile shot down also awards you points.

Watch out, you only have 10 health points to get the highest score you can possibly get, good luck!

Developed in Unity Free, using:
- Paint.net and Inkscape for graphics
- Sunvox and BFXR for audio

There's a bug with the sound muting, while it works in the editor, once built, the game refuses to silence the world, I'll get to that soon.

Yeah, I'll put more effort into the GUI next time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#231Fun3.35
#282Humor2.77
#318Graphics3.30
#383Overall3.23
#408Audio2.79
#536Mood2.75
#822Theme2.86
#867Innovation2.53

Comments

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

Cool art style, the sound could get a little annoying after a while, but overall it was really fun. The gameplay set up was pretty well done too.

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52am

this was really entertaining. it was fun seeing a traincard spinning around uncontrollable after taking an indirect hit. I love the absurd concept

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23am

I really enjoyed playing this. The concept was unique and the simple visual style worked well.

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Really interesting. I liked the graphics. A bit too fast-paced during battle phases and too slow-paced between trains, starting out. Quite fun though.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Looks awesome, i like the graphics

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Web link is returning: "This web page is not available"

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Good Game :) well done and good luck

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Pretty cool, missile noise is really annoying though XD

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Looks great and the music is good. A little too easy though, I gave up at 3015 points with most of my health still. Really good overall though.

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:24pm

The missile noise is annoying, it feels very very easy but I think you did a good job on applying the whole 10 seconds thing as time and as health.

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33pm

got 5825!
I don't really know if the game got any harder the further you got. It seems a little easy, but boy did it feel good to spam those trains :D
Had me entertained!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Well done. I enjoyed the physics of it along with the blood splashes. The music was good, the sound got a bit irritating for me.

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Good stuff all around! Not much of a challenge... but fun!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Like the right click shild idea :D Styles is minimalistic cool!!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Hello! I am making a sort of compilation of all the games I can. Your game is featured in this video! http://youtu.be/jImRVKjejj4

DavidBittner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Cool game, pretty difficult too.

goyal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:29pm

its fun to play. missile sound is little weird :)

avh4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52am

Nice (and very smooth) physics effects with the train cars bumping into each other and the particles.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Really fun to play!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:35pm

A simple but fun game! The physics of the train crash and the people flying make it that much more entertaining. I like the art style too. Could maybe do with some more mechanics, but its good for what it is.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Wooh 5125pts.
The work on gfx is really nice.
the gameplay has some great action and fun.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I liked that bullet flying sound, even though it got a little annoying at the end. Wasn't immediately aware that I had an ammo limitation and didn't like that explosion sound.
Overall, pretty cool. Liked the controls/concept.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]