August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Thief Stealer Robberies

by jwolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An Evil Wizard has cast a spell on you that will cause you to explode in just 10 seconds! He'll postpone your doom if you work for him to steal the research of his rival wizards.

Beware, for the abode of a wizard contains many traps, but also plenty of gold that you could pilfer on the side...

Controls: Arrow keys. Use the spacebar to get past some of the menu screens. Would have liked to have implemented mouse / touch input in time, but...

Hints: there are about 3-4 paths to get to the main treasure (in time), although I won't spoil how to get through some of the...obstacles...

Notes: there are a ton of things that I would have liked to have added, in particular random map generation, limited sight, touch input (for mobile), more traps, and so on. I'm a bit too slow to get all that done for a compo, however.

Technical Notes: if you would like to compile from source, you'll need to stick a bunch (five) of gdx-...-.jar files into /libs/. I'm not sure if that really needs to be in the source file (adds 5-6 mb), but you can find the library jar files in the Cross-Platform Jar download. Or grab them from libGDX's nightly files or whatever they're called.

Tools Used: Java, libGDX (lwjgl) for code, MS Paint (!) and GIMP for images, and bfxr and Audacity for sound.

-------

UPDATE:

I wasn't satisfied with the version that I made for the competition, so I kept developing it and have linked a Post-Compo version that's substantially closer to what I had originally intended to make. It's a bit glitchy and generates unwinnable maps on the rare occasion, but I'd still like some feedback on it, if anyone is willing to spend the extra time.

Please try and judge the original compo version first, naturally. It took me something like half a week to develop the random map generator (first attempt at one), which I obviously wouldn't have been able to do in time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#417Humor2.51
#726Theme2.98
#749Audio2.18
#809Mood2.41
#895Innovation2.49
#908Graphics2.29
#987Overall2.57
#1007Fun2.31

Comments

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

This is maddening, but quite hilarious. It's great that you're able to give such a simple game so much character! The ominous buzzing sound is still in my head. :)

shubshub says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37am

I Couldn't figure out much to do Only was able to get 1 Treasure chest was Pretty boring :( Sorry

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Great idea, but it's kinda hard. Sometimes I explode on the first door, well before 10 seconds playing.

jwolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Thank you for the feedback!

Maybe I should add a few more hints. Please ignore these if you'd rather experiment with the game, first:

- contrary to how it may seem, it is possible to get through all of the rooms to the goal, and all but maybe one in time. The 10-second time limit is really tight, though.

- all of the doors are open-able...just don't be in too much of a rush. That's not a bug. ;) I'm kind of wondering if I should have swapped the front and back doors...which might have made the game a bit too difficult, mind you.

- if the end goal is too easy / simplistic, try getting as many of the coins as you can. Except...

- two of the coins will result in certain death, and one other probably won't leave you enough time to get to the goal

jwolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Hint/clarification:

- nope, you can indeed get to the goal through all of the rooms, if you know how. Just had to double-check...

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

I got lost a lot and it was hard to understand that the reason for dying in front of the doors were the traps... I guess some feedback differentiating dying from traps and from time-up would be nice.

TaleLore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:44am

Pretty hard.

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49am

I didn't understand why sometimes I could open a door, and sometimes I would explode when I touched it.

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51am

Wow this game was really difficult. I was considering giving up until i saw the hints in the comments, and then it was a bit easier. Nevertheless, it was still a fun game~ Nice work

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00pm

The game should probably be clearer about why you died, after some trial and error it seems you have to be patient with the doors, but it would be better if, when a door kills you, it would say "you died because you tried to pick the lock too fast... something something... magic security protocols" - or whatever it is exactly that is supposed to be killing you in that situation :P

jwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:33am

Some things I skipped out on due to being short of time (eg: a more explanatory end-game screen) and trying to prioritize other features.

When I made the thing, I figured that the sound effect and the door not opening on the first attempt was enough to suggest to the player that something was wrong. Clearly, that's not enough, and it needs something more.

Thank you, again, for the feedback! It's really helpful.

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:23am

Kind of hard. And having to tap the arrow keys to move was not cool! But nice overall!

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:32am

A timer would actually be nice so I would know how the heck did I die from. It does get irritating to figure out how I died. Still a decent game with some interesting quirks.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:50pm

The main character is a perfect example of minimalism in action.

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:21am

Simple, but nice! I like the character customization :-P

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I couldn't get through the first level, but I think the idea is very cool.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:47pm

I found this game very hard, but a great idea!! I featured it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksgU2Iicu2g

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:39pm

It was OK. Movement could be more pleasant, though, but difficult made game decently fun.

jwolf says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:51am

I wasn't happy with the game and it didn't feel complete without a random-map generator, so I went and created a more complete version if anyone is willing to give it a go and provide (additional) feedback. I'm thinking of pursuing further development with it, and it would be much appreciated.

Please first try and judge the compo version, however. The post-compo version has substantial new features that I simply would not have been able to complete in time for the competition.

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:07am

Wow, that was more difficult than expected. Not bad, but some more hints (even if they were just slight visual or audio hints) would have been nice. Wouldn't want to have to sit through a pile of tutorials to learn all the traps, but they seemed oddly picky so I think something would have been useful.

hbocao says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:56am

The dying sound was a pain. :( I liked the idea but it was kinda hard to figure it out how to do it.

tryzor says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:56pm

I couldn't figure out when I explode. Seems sometimes random to me. But interesting idea ;)

foumart says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Hah, I laughted alot with the select your character :D thought the submission version is kind of frustrating (noticed the different color of the gates while looking at the screenshot, not ingame). The quicksands are also odd.. I died alot there.. are there any invisible traps?

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Neat little adventure game. I really liked the quicksand effect. I seemed to randomly die at times. Not sure if there was a 10 second time limit or something. If so, it would have been nice to have a countdown timer.

jwolf says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Yeah...I really need to add more visual cues. There are some audio cues for the doors and the timer, but they're rather subtle and non-obvious.

jwolf says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:56am

None of the traps are invisible, by the way. That's probably just the 10-second timeout, which I'll have to make more obvious/discernible somehow.

Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:57am

Funny game! xD great job, very hard some times!

manofdoom says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:04am

Good concept, but really needs more feedback on your actions, particularly cause of death.

Tanser says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:35am

Maybe you should have added a timer.. I think I die before the 10 seconds have passed :( And the controls.. it might be better if you could hold a key down and move in that direction, and maybe not to move tile by tile only :) It would be great if there was a cause of death. All in all i like it, nice idea :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:28am

The traps are a bit unclear/random, and the controls feel very rough (I'd have preferred to hold down the arrow keys). If the movement were smoother and it had more levels I feel it'd be an interesting game.

schnerble says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Quite a nice idea... the post-compo version helped a lot, though, as I'd almost given up on the original thinking it was buggy, because of the dying when opening the doors. I understand now, and maybe the whole slow-down-the-player-a-bit thing could work well - but without a countdown it's really hard not to just plain rush everything. That may be just me being impatient though :)

Sheep says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:02am

It was bit of a confusing game. Felt like I needed way more time. The variation in such a small game is pretty cool though, like the mud and the spiderweb.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]