August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chrono Escape

by Snail_Man - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A platform/puzzle/stealth game about a man and a time machine.
It was made in an estimated 15 hours of work, by Snail_Man.

The game was made in GameMaker8.1, and all the sprites were made in the native graphical editor. The sound was made using SFXR, and Audacity with a microphone. The music was recorded using a double-ended AUX cable, a keyboard, and audacity.

I hope you enjoy playing the game as much as I enjoyed making it :D
Feel free to do with the source what you will. The programming is horrible unoptimized and messy. If you make anything cool with it, send it my way :D

You can find the postmortem here:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/29/chrono-escape-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#51Innovation3.93
#98Overall3.66
#104Theme3.75
#122Mood3.44
#183Fun3.43
#269Audio3.05
#318Graphics3.30
#352Humor2.63

Comments

hbocao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:22am

Wow. Great concept!
PS: Fu**ing guards!

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15am

Very cool game! I agree with hbocao... Fu**ing guards!

sparkleswirl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27am

Great concept/mechanic! It's reminiscent of a few Flash stealth games but the way you combined all the mechanics made it very novel.

hbocao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

I really enjoyed your game. Good luck!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53am

Another game that revolves around light! The graphics look great and its such a fun stealth game.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56am

For a 15 hour job this is a really slick piece of work. Some clever mechanics and really nicely implemented to go with it. Excellent job.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59am

The time paradox was a neat idea, and it was executed well. I had trouble with it because of the key bindings (non-qwerty keyboard), but customization is a bit much to ask in 48 hours I suppose. For what I did play, it was solid. Cohesive graphics, appropriate sounds, actual thought put into the theme. I was a bit worried when I saw the small view area in the screenshot, but it worked pretty well. Good show.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02am

WOW.
Loved it.

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

Very great concept!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18am

I loved the time paradox aspect. Maybe it was my computer lagging, but the timer definitely was more than 10 seconds which seemed odd, but otherwise really cool game.

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36am

@fferro It was probably your computer lagging.
On some levels with lots of entities, the game can drag to a quarter of the FPS cap on my computer. It's a result of me not actually optimizing anything.
@everyone else:
Thanks a bunch for your positive feedback! :3
It's really nice to hear so many good things. It feels like when you're making a game, you either become blind to its flaws, or they get magnified 100x.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39am

So many guards ! Very interesting concept ! Nice game. Ph by the way, the guards are definitively cheating. Headshot all the time, they use aimbot for sure ;)

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11am

The time travel mechanic is very clever, and the platforming is very well put together. I like the gameplay graphics, but the limited field of view made it very obstructing.

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Wow, this is really impressive!
If i had to nitpick something it'd be that your "sphere of sight" is a bit too small, especially when it comes to evading lasers, but amazing job!

tombsar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:04pm

An interesting game concept, and executed very well. I had severe performance problems on my computer, and the game ran at less than half the intended speed (judging by the 10s countdown).
The graphics are nice, and the gameplay mechanics are very clever. I disliked the laser obstacles, as I think they sometimes 'saw' me outside of their detection radius.

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Cool game!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Hey Man, I was the guy who gave you some support when you were having frame rate issues; I am so glad to see that you finished- I do see what you were talking about though. With more than two or three guards on the screen, my framerate would go down below ten. :c But when this game works, it works well. You executed the mechanics perfect! I love the line of sight. Took me a minute to figure out that by moving my mouse I could see more. Keep it up man. Nice work.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Excellent game! And interesting innovation! Thanks for this game!!

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11pm

This was great. Those guards are dicks. Well done.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Wow! This is awesome! Great concept and very good use of the theme! I'd love to see this idea expanded upon into a bigger game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Nice job. I liked the lighting system.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

FREAKING AWESOME!! I love the look of the characters. This was one of my favorite entries so far.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

Brilliant concept! The time travel self duplication is just too epic.
Terrific pixel art style.
Very awesome!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Good initial story :D

Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

The game felt a bit execution-based even after you've already solved the puzzle in your mind, I think that could be improved. The concept was cool.

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Nice game! The walking animation was great!! :D

But a little too heavy for my pc. :(
(I played until the second stage with detectors, then it got too laggy...)

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Gets very difficult to see what's going on out of view, but really good fun and a great concept! Well done!

shard123 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Really impressive! I hope to get this good with Game Maker some day!

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:00pm

very good use of the theme ... fun game

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Really liked the concept. Flashlight visual was very cool. Nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]