August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Robotica

by recursor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Background

It's 2110 and robots have come along way for the good of humanity, but some have evolved into criminals. As head detective at the precinct, your job is to pick wanted robots out of a lineup. But wait! You have 10 seconds to catch the offenders before they defeat the federal lockout code routines and change their appearance.

Instructions

-Look at the wanted card at the start of each level and click on it when you are ready to see the lineup.
-Once the card is displayed, the countdown timer begins, so don't spend too long memorizing it.
-Note the bottom of the card as it will tell you how many of that robot must be found.
-When you click on the wrong robot, it is counted as a miss and you can retry the level.
-The total time you spend along with the number of misses is shown along the bottom of the screen.
-Try to get as far as possible using the smallest amount of time with no misses.
-When the countdown timer reaches 3 seconds, a bell will sound every second until 0
-You can stop your game and continue it at the level you left it. Your misses and time spent will also be restored
-Pressing 'M' will toggle the music
-Difficulty starts out easy but gets more challenging as you progress (it starts getting really fun around level 30 or so)


Post your best scores (level, time spent, and misses) in the comments below!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#71Fun3.67
#123Audio3.40
#174Overall3.51
#201Theme3.56
#203Humor3.02
#440Mood2.87
#458Innovation3.10
#664Graphics2.71

Comments

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26am

love this game

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41am

Neat game. After about level 20 all the faces started looking the same, and it seemed more like luck if I picked the right one.
Time Spent: 157.25
Level 23
Misses 9

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

I got to lvl 19! Really great idea. Graphic is maybe little simple but otherwise I love it!

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08pm

nice work!
would have been great if I didn't have to click the 'yes' button all the time ;) (maybe a keyboard shortcut? or larger buttons)

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08pm

reminds me of the kids game memory. Cool game :)

ezolotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Fun to play

3ndo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Great game, really well presented.

lekochen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33pm

time 952.78, level 36, misses 100
eye bleeding

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

@lekochen: awesome!

The4thCircle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39pm

This was great fun. I like how the robots get more and more similar as it goes on, and the layered image style is really cool.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Best audio so far! Cool game, thanks! :)

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:07pm

The Audio really fits the style of this. I hope you are the one who recorded that bass, because I really enjoyed it. Made it to level 21 and had a lot of fun.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Nice face generator and the music is waow, funky !
I went till level 30 then I stopped too much grey for me ;)
Really great game.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Wow, this is a really neat idea for a game. It's very simple, but extremely fun! Nice music, too.

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48pm

@Split82: Yes that was me. Thanks for the compliment :)

Esenti says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

@recursor really nice bass playing, indeed ;)

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44pm

A fun little game. Quite confusing on later levels. :D

I liked how I, as the player, got to choose how to split the time between looking at the face and then locating it. :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Had some good fun playing this. Great concept and realization. Good job!

cappelnord says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:49am

surprisingly fun and addicting :)

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50am

Fun little game, I really liked the bass music. The 3d spins when you pick a face is cool. Though the game is incredibly simple I did find it to be a bit addicting for a while. Good job! The faces were pretty funny to look at too and the way the eyes moved helped liven things up.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:51am

Really nice game mechanic and ramps the difficulty up steadily. By the time the faces were all grey, it started getting stressful! Nicely done.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:55am

nice game. keep the good work. :-)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I really like the way the faces were made

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Addictive !

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Really nice novel idea for a game! Quite addictive.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:43pm

The web player doesn't work on linux, please release a linux binary!

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:52am

@josefnpat: Ok. I just uploaded a Linux build. I'm not at my Linux machine at the moment so I haven't tested it yet, but I will first thing tomorrow.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:34am

Nice stuff. Love the music.

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:58am

fantastic! takes a while to pick up, but man does it pick up.

Monoquartz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:38am

Ahah remind me Mario Party on NDS! Simple but addictive game. I love the animation when you spot a robot.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:59pm

good job

josefnpat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:48pm

@recursor thanks, linux build works great!

Fantastic game! I love how by reducing it to similar pairs, it gets harder and harder! nice job.

Codexus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Very original game, the difficulty is well paced and everything is animated. Good job!

jujule says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Good music and funny robots. What a good combination. I really enjoyed the game. So did my girlfriend.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:34am

I love the presentation in this game. So awesome to see so many variations on the faces. The animation is great, adds to the personality.

I thought the game was gonna be easy until they start to all look the same. :D

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Cool I really like the random face generation and the way the game eventually does get a little bit difficult.

Ithildin says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Cool idea! I like the variety of faces (oh, and music was nice as well) . From level 20 on I began having trouble recognizing robots, I suppose I should get some sleep today -_-U

Congratulations!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:50am

lv 29!
Great concept! It's a shame that the game got less interesting once all the faces are grey and black. It was a lot more fun to play while there were a greater varieties of faces, even though it was easy at that point.
It would be great if there was a different way of increasing difficulty without creating monotony in gameplay.
Great job!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Fun

Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Brilliant fun. I really enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]