August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SUPER ULTRA REALISTIC BOMB DEFUSAL SIMULATOR: SEASON PASS GOTY DLC EDITION

by tony.pe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi this is a game that tries to address David Cage's argument that more polygons in games equates to more emotions in games.

This is a game where you clip wires and defuse bombs and save the world/universe/megaverse/ultraverse. You will have three seconds to memorize the randomly generated order in which you must clip wires. After that, you have seven seconds to click on each wire in that order to defuse the bomb.

If you win, congrats you get to do it over and over again forever. If you lose, congrats you go back to the main menu and can try again.

It is very intense and gritty and realistic and is on par with a scene from Breaking Bad where Walt Jr. is eating breakfast.

The theme for this Ludum Dare was TEN SECONDS, so while you are looking and wondering how this game applies to the theme I WILL TELL YOU how the theme of TEN SECONDS applies here:

1) How long does each round take (memorizing the order/defusing the bomb)? TEN SECONDS
2) How long did it take me to make each art asset? TEN SECONDS
3) How long did it take me to record each sound effect with my voice? TEN SECONDS
4) How long did it take me to record the obviously unique and catchy dubstep track at the main menu? TEN SECONDS
5) How long does it take you, the player, to experience everything this game has to offer? TEN SECONDS
6) How long did it take you to read all of these numbered points? Maybe TEN SECONDS, but maybe not, but for the sake of argument I will say TEN SECONDS.

I hope this game changes your life, thanks

I'm on Twitter if you're into that, @tonyperriello

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#10Humor4.13
#45Theme3.95
#70Audio3.59
#282Fun3.28
#395Mood2.94
#483Overall3.13
#778Innovation2.68
#846Graphics2.40

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Love the sound effect ;)

robbe says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:59pm

That is indeed super realistic! I could not do it :(

netgrind says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Wow that was amazing. I loved the dubstep at the start XD. It would be sweet if the game got harder as I only failed when my trackpad was being a butt. I really enjoyed playing this.

Hexicube says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:20pm

GOTY edition worth the 10 invisi-pounds, would play for 10 seconds again, 10/10.

Love the explosion, lost intentionally the second time. XD

Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Yet more proof I should not pursue a career in bomb disposal. Those sure are some sexy polygons... I hope version 2 is in the pipes!

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

Thanks all!

@netgrind: I actually tinkered with bringing the memorize order part down from three seconds to one after a few attempts, but man that was brutal

gigitrix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58am

I LOVE the voice acting.

Does the GOTY DLC Edition come with the soundtrack?

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

Yes with commentary for each wub and what was going through my head at the time I sung said wub

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20am

Seeing the squiggly lines and hearing the voice tickled me! If you continue to develop this, have you considered starting with fewer wires and gradually introducing more colors to train memory?

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

@ethankennerly: Yeah! That was an idea I had. I just didn't implement due to time constraints. Thanks for checking it out.

I also have ideas for more sounds/music...

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Haha love the humor. Remember to add source as you haven't included it yet!

NMcCoy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Quality! <3

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

So I guess "always cut the red one" doesn't really work in a super realistic bomb difusal situation xD
Game was very very fun to play!!

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58pm

omfg the first time I didn't read the manual, it was just a fucking awesome situation improvising everything. I think you could get rid of the instructions.

and of course awesome sound and art (i mean it)

PS : we're "defusing-bomb-game-entry" bros now

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Very simple but fun and humours, the art's spot on for the mood of the game.

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Source posted! This was made in Stencyl, so you should just be able to import the .stencyl file and take a look through there.

ravine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I like the use of a memory game to meet the theme. It got a bit repetitive, but I like that you gave a humorous reason for the player to keep playing.

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25pm

This is pretty hilarious, especially the sound effects. And I've got to say, this has to be the most realistic bomb defusing simulation that I've played in the last 10 seconds ;)

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Interesting presentation. I'm surprised it's so effective.

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

BOOM!
Epic
"5) How long does it take you, the player, to experience everything this game has to offer? TEN SECONDS"
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA XD

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

This was really quite enjoyable. Went for several rounds. I fully expected to have some trickery like writing color words in the wrong color. I would have laughed. Well, more than I did from the base game anyway.

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

The realism is just astounding.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Hahah! Great little humorous game. :)

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Never experienced a bomb diffusing game that reallistic... Impressive ! Seriously though, love the idea of making everything in ten second (and I beleive you on that), and the sounds are amazing.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Got a nice laugh out of this one :D I think for a little game it's really well-designed: seven wires would've been too much/five too few and the distance between them made it a good challenge every time :)

Lustdante says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27am

blah blah blah blah... beep... beep... phew!

Always respect the sfx made with human voice. Very humorous!

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17am

You got the maximum stars for audio and fun, cause I couldn't concentrate to diffuse the bomb, because of your funny voice acting :D

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:57am

Oh my god that was glorius.
The sound effects kept making me forget the pattern :y

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:24am

Completely awesome, I may apply for a job with the bomb squad, I might put screenshots of me playing this in my application.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:41am

Haha, sooo addictive, loved it. Love the primitive grafix and sound effects, nice!

Tegu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24am

Oww, turned out that I'm very poor in memorizing anything. :O Could most of the time only remember the first three or so colors so I kept failing. Managed to pass it twice though.
Anyhow, the execution is hilarious. :D

Sink says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:41am

Haha really charming and fun! I loved the sound effects, they added a lot to the experience, good job!

Photon says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:16am

This made me laugh... quite a bit. Good effort... or lack thereof. :P

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:44pm

hahahahahaha
man! it's a simple game but I had to end it in order to keep rating games! humour... a big 5
Great game :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Ha, the sound-effects are great! :D

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:45am

Great job on the sounds, and the other stuff.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:37am

XD epic soundtrack is epic
I just can't get enough of this!

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Super ultra great sound FXs and doodle art! Love it.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:10am

It's reeeeally laggy for me...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]