August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

tiny terrors

by berkano - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fast-Paced Survival Horror/Resource Management/RTS/I don't know any other good genre keywords.

Protect the gentle people of Traquelqure from the nightly Zombie Invasion (10 whole terrifying seconds).

4 levels. Requires Java. In-game help and tutorial provided, but check out the Play Guide (link above) for a lot more detail! Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#176Audio3.24
#309Mood3.07
#335Innovation3.29
#356Overall3.26
#419Humor2.50
#440Theme3.29
#521Graphics2.94
#708Fun2.74

Comments

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Great looking little rts. However I did find that using 'M' to initiate action is a bit hard. How about the right mouse button for example? "ROGGAN!" When I resized the game window, the mouse control disappeared for some reason. That kinda broke the game.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Really like the sound design on this one. Really nicely put together all round, great little game.

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Man, this is complex. (In a positive way.) Your manual is longer than some entries here.
The graphics are cute.

Linusson says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I felt a bit confused while playing, at least before I read the help. :D Good music. :)

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Wow, this is insanely deep gameplay for 48 hours. Feels like I could sink hours into just getting the hang of this.

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I couldn't seem to get the jar file to run in either the applet or the windows file.

berkano says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:21pm

@Starspell, which version of Windows and Java are you using? (Would be good to know also 32 bit or 64 bit Windows? and 32 or 64bit Java)?

You could try running it from a command window, and if any weird errors come out, please let me know :-)

java -jar berkano-tiny-terrors-ld27.jar

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

Really interesting gameplay, really deep, seems great!

ezolotko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

I was just eating pistachios and drinking beer and looking at the screen...

berkano says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

@ezolotko lol! Yes it does kinda play itself!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Very sweet game. This music... Very good

olafurw says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Sound is great, much props for that.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

Solid four stars, would have given 5 but it's hard to learn at first. Other than that awesome game.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:31pm

graphics & sounds i like it. Hard to understand, but i like the concept. Good job

X-0r says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Great game! Just... wow! I love RTS, and the survival concept... maaaan^^

ZYXer says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Wow, really good game. Cute graphics and quite complex gameplay. Though the controlls really take some getting used to. It would be nice if one could at least move around the map with the arrow keys. But still, nicely done!

Radnen says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Fairly decent game, the controls don't seem to be the standard rts controls, so getting used to the hotkeys took some time. Kinda fun but 10 seconds not enough time to fend off attacks and the gameplay was not that deep, I mean creating more warriors would have been cool.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Wow - this is a pretty cool and complex game. RTS-Horror-Survival - I don't know any other game like that, and if anybody does, he should tell me right away :D

What really hurt my playing experience were the controls. Jumpy scrolling by right-clicking? A keyboard shortcut just for moving? I think I would've enjoyed the game far more if I could:
- Right-click-drag to scroll
- Right click to make a selected unit move
- Ctrl+Click or Left-Click-and-Drag to open a building/command circle (depending on the target)

I only finished the first level because it became to cumbersome for me to control it like that - which is a pity, because apart from that, this looks like a really solid entry!

fdevant says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Solid stuff, the controls were a bit unintuitive but it all makes sense with the guide haha.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]