August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

1007Quest

by Hegemege - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In 1007Quest (or as some people like to call it, LootQuest), you fight evil monsters with whatever gear you come across. The legend says the fiercest of enemies carry EPIC loot, your quest is to go find it!

In combat you take turns with your enemy, one attacking and one defending each turn. Each turn takes 10 seconds. After slaying your enemies, you gain loot from them. You have 10 seconds to evaluate whether you want to keep your new piece of loot or equip it.

Try to find the rarest and highest levels of gear available. The game's launch version doesn't support save games or other means to review character outside the game/after death.


Controls:
Space - Attack
E - Inventory
Others shown

-------------------------------------------------
About this Ludum Dare:
-------------------------------------------------
First of all, sorry for any balance issues with the game. As a true ARPG fan I tried to implemet some cool systems, but didn't really have time to balance the game out. As it stands, some things are just OP, the enemies may be too easy etc. but you're after the loot afterall!

This was my fourth Ludum Dare, third entry (LD23 and LD26 previously). I almost ran out of time, didn't spend quite as much time as with my LD26 entry, but still roughly 31-32 hours working. I streamed my first day of coding, but didn't do it on day 2 due to lack of watchers.

I found the digital and the main game font from fontspace.com, both being freeware. Everything else was made from scratch. All of the game effects are my own voice, edited, obviously. I was planning on doing two or three soundtracks for the game, but totally ran out of time, since coding the combat took the greater part of my second day, roughly twice the time I planned initially.

NOTE:
To answer some of the questions in the comments/wherever
-SDL has some problems with windows, so if you want to record gameplay of the game, FRAPS for example doesn't recognize it properly. Use OBS instead.
-Give the game a few runs, it's a loot based game so you'll most likely not find good gear on your first run.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#166Fun3.47
#255Humor2.83
#264Overall3.38
#352Audio2.91
#371Mood2.97
#406Theme3.32
#549Innovation2.97
#735Graphics2.59

Comments

shs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

I really didn't like how you could miss an attack despite having positioned yourself properly. Other than that the game was amusing.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Really addictive. Though at times(probably because of a bad choice of weapon) it felt eternal.

I say, with better graphics this can be the bomb.

rejome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Interesting game, could be addictive if combat gameplay was a little bit less repetitive. Nice work!

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43pm

So much fun^^ Thanks :)

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Well produced, as well as being fairly ambitious! I like the graphics and the sound that is there. The combat was very monotonous though. I also agree with shs: missing when you already have a system in place to account for accuracy (the player's position) sucks dogface.

I hate loot games p_p

reheated says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Good fun. I like the art style, especially the way the character equipment changes. How do you fight those darn eyeballs?

Hegemege says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Thanks for your nice comments! The combat took the most time to code, I wish I could've made it better. Then again, how diverse combat can you make in 48 hours? (same reason I didn't do any animations, just too little time) :)

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Wow, addictive game. Really great.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Ambitious game for a jam, you did a lot of stuff there!

Myyyvothrr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:56pm

This is a really cool game, well done! I also liked the graphics, except the "base" player character ;)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Very fun little game! I enjoyed it very much! Too bad it wouldnt record for my compilation video :/

kratorspore says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Wow! I found this really fun. A beautifully scoped RPG for 48 hours. Would have been nice to have a better win condition but overall nice work.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:52pm

V3RY N1C3 W0RK! Hahah, no, but seriously; I really enjoyed your game. The sounds were nice, visuals were satisfactory, and the 1007 system was was very good. The combat got a bit dull, but your take on the theme was very good. 8.5/10 Keep it!

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:45pm

The art was so cool, definitely enjoyed your game :)

tryzor says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Simple but addictive gameplay. Nice game!

shard123 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:06am

Really awesome, I would love to see this fleshed out!

skyr says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Realy good game, interesting and innovative gameplay.

Wertle says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice mix of having actionable control while still doing a sort of "turn-based" style. Having a "miss" option when you hit something is pretty confusing, and it may help to throw in some extra feedback on the loot collection screen to help tell at a glance if something is better or worse under time pressure (colored text, arrows, etc). Love the music. Good job!

Hegemege says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Thanks! One of my main goals was to exactly have the pressure of evaluating which item is better. That's why there are some meaningless stats like Chicken Nightmares occasionally.

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Obey or Die !!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]