August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

X-TREEEME Pin the Tail on the Donkey

by Puzzlem00n - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bill was a simple man living a simple life playing simple games like Pin the Tail on the Donkey. Then, one day, after his girlfriend left him, he thought, does everything really HAVE to be so simple? Why can't things be more... X-TREEEME!

So, he rented out private islands, built obstacle courses on them, and then kidnapped you to force you to play them.
------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE 8/27/13: I fixed a crash after the compo was over. It was a tiny fix, as you can see in win.lua here: http://bit.ly/19KzYFl I believe this fix to be within the rules as per the tips on the bottom of this page.
------------------------------------------------------------
Sorry if the music gets annoying, my music editor glitched out at the last minute. I had to make something new fast. Colors inspired/taken from palettes by eletrikmonk on colourlovers.com.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#145Humor3.22
#220Theme3.53
#235Innovation3.45
#508Mood2.79
#606Graphics2.79
#626Audio2.42
#724Overall2.90
#737Fun2.70
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:05am

This game is quite hard

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12am

This game is rather hard, but good job!

Perhaps instead of ten seconds to view the maze at the start, perhaps the spacebar would reveal the map for as long as you hold the key.

You might be able to generate mazes then, and even make the bigger! Great job!

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33am

The game was challenging enough. Nice idea :)

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48am

ARGH THIS IS SO HARD!!!!
Great job though, nice graphics in particular :)
I can safely say that I think that you TAILED IT!

syradinegames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very challenging by testing your memory. The concept with the buzz saw is good, though I had sound off so it was hit or miss. Hard to find donkey on first peak though.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Thanks, everyone. Yes, it is quite hard. You can blame that on me being sadistic or just being bad at designing levels of easy difficulty.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

NOTE TO EVERYONE: Read the ***KNOWN ISSUES*** in the description before sending me bug reports! I KNOOOW. I might see if I can justify fixing under the rules somehow just for the people who don't read it.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Yeah, I agree with everyone - SUPER HARD!!!! But fun! I managed to beat the first level, but when I got the second donkey (or at least I think I did!) it crashed :(

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Yay I did it! very fun! The moment you start seeing phantom mines in the darkness, that is the sign of a true master.

Also I ROFLed when I first heard your voice acting.

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Pretty fun, game broke when I reached the donkey on level 2 though.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57am

Very original idea. I really like the challenge. Cute graphics :)

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00am

Same as above, the game broke when I reached donkey in level 2.
It's pretty awesome though ! Love the concept. The music is simple yet catchy and doesn't get annoying, the graphics are effective, and the fact I needed three peeks at level 2 to get it right makes me want to play the next levels real hard.
Good job !

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Great game, dunno what someone said that the music is catchy, i wanted to blow my brains out after 5 seconds of hearing it (but in the context of the game it is a very good choice).

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I see why everyone seems to complain about the difficulty lol. Definitely challenging, and the difficulty goes up fairly well from one level to the next. Loved the falling sound.

Looks good, runs well when it doesn't crash (and is set up so the crash doesn't ruin the game, since you can pick whatever level you want, which is quite nice), and has a truly captivating backstory that I really wish was in the game (I want to pin the final tail of the game on Bill :P. Nice job.

Including these because the description says you already fixed the crash:
If you fixed the crash in the Windows version, then you need to fix the crash still (I crashed at the end of levels 2, 3, and either 4 or 5).

Also, I got this: http://s24.postimg.org/rkmzwdbqt/Extreme_Pin_the_tail_on_the_donkey_bug.png which personally I thought was extremely helpful, but I get the idea that it's not intentional :P

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Okay, everyone, the crash is actually fixed now. For real this time. I'm really sorry about that.

Also, @SnoringFrog: Yeah, that happened to me once or twice. I think it's a bug in the camera lib.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:27am

nice game but boring after a while. Polish the graphics next time. From a guy who did so much games i would expect more...

alts says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:23am

Like others have said, it's a bit hard. I think it might be made easier by making the camera move faster during the "peek" stage. I felt like I spent too much time trying to find the donkey, before even getting the chance to memorize a path.

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:59am

*start bad joke* You nailed it *end bad jonke* . after polishing it will be an amazing fun puzzle game.

neekobus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:36am

Nice idea. A bit hard, I quit at the level with the bombs.

Maybe you have to find a thing to help the player a bit : a sound when you approach a bomb, or some checkpoint in level, to avoid restarting every time at the begining...

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

For all the people who say it's hard: I agree. But I feel like you're not putting enough effort in to it to think of an obvious way to make it easier on yourself. So think about it.

*AHEM* COUNTING TILES *COUGH.*

Jeremias says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

The first two levels are okay, but then it gets quite hard! Did you thought to let the player move on a square basis. Then pressing 3 times the up key would result in moving 3 squares to the top. This would make it faster to realize the movement memorized and therefore a bit easier, as the smooth movement takes a bit more time.
Nice take on theme anyway!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

@Jeremias: But... the player does move on a square-by-square basis, if you just tap the key instead of holding it. Are people not realizing this?

Zanzlanz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Fun little game man. I liked how the difficulty ramped up at a steady rate, rather than being completely easy/completely difficult. Nice mechanics, and clever idea ;)

Jeremias says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

I meant something else. You already showed the tiles so that would no problem at all. I mean, if I press 3 times very fast the right key, the player does not move 3 tiles to the right (until I make a pause between the presses). If so, the player could realize the memorized things faster. But this is just a very small detail. Sorry, if I sounded ambiguous.

The level with the saws is still difficult for me, as memorizing games are somehow difficult for me at all :D
I mean, the two things are not "problems" or "issues". Just something I perceive while playing. I really tried it a lot. A lot.

d__adee says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:45pm

It's hard and it's all about luck and counting xD
I've managed to tail the donkey on all 6 levels though. Got me playing for more or less an hour to finish everything.

:D

galman says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:48am

Nice game! I like your idea (quite reminds me of mine :) ), as already said, the levels are a bit to hard and the music was too intense for me :P A "I give up" button would be helpful too. All in all, I enjoyed your game :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]