August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Question of Time & Death

by CuberToy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Software used :
Photoshop, Spriter, Audacity, MusicStudio, Construct2

Instructions :
You must earn timer to reset the countdown, by killing demons with one character (Death). But that's not all ! You have to control another one to collect these timer (wisely).

Use the arrow to move death and Space to attack.

At the same time, use A and D to move the girl

EDIT
About the story behind this :
It may seems weird because one screen is missing (didn't have time) but normally, the girl would like to complete her journey before dying, and Death agree to help her get time to do so.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#175Graphics3.62
#310Innovation3.32
#333Mood3.04
#342Theme3.38
#497Overall3.11
#518Audio2.62
#558Humor2.23
#788Fun2.66

Comments

CTATZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36am

Cool ideas! And love the art.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37am

original idea!

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

Not a fan of using wasd and arrows at the same time, still 26 deaths!

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

I need to freshen up on my multitasking ability, very well put together.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

Thanks for the feedbacks !
Tork : That's quite a nice score imho.
Rabbits : Yeah, quite honestly, I'm not that good either (is that wrong ? :p)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24am

Amazing visuals (smooth animations too) :D ... Great game.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48am

Very nice ! Cool ideas and cool art :D

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

I killed 65 demons ! Excellent idea, nice realisation, satisfying to play and great take on the theme. What got me killed tho is that I created 2 timers very close so I had to take both at the same time, breaking my game flow. Great entry !

Vectorious says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:52am

Well done. I like the multitasking, although it was a bit awkward in practice. Pretty fun, though!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20am

ART + CONCEPT = EPIC :D GREAT JOB!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:22am

Neat idea. Neat art. I might be too stupid to do 2 things at once :) Nice job!

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33am

The mood and Theme are very cool. I really like the style of the art as well. I wondering what your overall idea for this is... if say you had a story part to it. Very Nice work.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:57am

Again, thank you all !

asc3nsion : I invite you to see my posts to see the trouble I had with this LD (almost gave up). But yeah, here the idea was that the girl is "too young to die", and death agree to help her to gain time (and make her die the latest possible). It's not totally clear in the result, but that was kind of the idea.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07am

Wow, it's a very unique idea to control 2 characters at the same time! Don't think I've seen this before anywhere.
I did't really understand why the two are working together.. but it works on screen.
The art and style are terrific, great job!

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

Really fun! Loved the dissonance between the controls on the top and bottom.

ananasblau says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Looks really nice, most games forget to add particle effects.
But why would Death kill demons to reset someone's 10 second timer? That part is a bit fuzzy.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Yeah, I try to explain few comments above that I did't get time to add the story screen :/ I added the "story" in the description. Thanks for playing and comment.

Toshiro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40pm

I really liked the idea of the gameplay ! And your art is beautiful. Goo work ! :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08pm

I like the idea of controlling 2 characters, even if I'm very bad at it :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:41am

Cool implementation. It's funny because I almost did something similar, but couldn't figure out how it would work. Seems like you managed to do it just fine ;) I liked that you managed to put a little story there. Nice entry!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:31am

Cute little game, I love the idea of it and it looks nice! I featured it in a Ludum Dare 27 compilation video, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-HQ96z_y-M

megashroom says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:00am

Pretty fun!
The graphics were absolutely gorgeous, but the wasd + arrows combo was highly stressful. Still fun though!

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:53am

I like the it when games get you to manage two things at once. Really plays with your brain. Awesome intro too.

blay09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I liked the graphics and the multitasking it required.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

funny games. good job

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Pretty art style, love the story, nice gameplay

Orni says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:44pm

great idea, the graphical style is amazing as well
liked it, I'm looking forward to your next games
well done :)

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Strange theme where death aids a girl by killing demon to help gain time. Split screen controlling two characters is a neat idea. Good Work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]