August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A medieval story... in 10 seconds.

by Markavian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game of top trumps, with a twist. Using 10 different characters build your way to fame and fortune. Aim to become king of the land, or the wise one, or both. Wheel and deal with the other characters to boost your points, or be penalized for your inequality.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#141Theme3.68
#225Innovation3.47
#242Graphics3.47
#251Humor2.85
#435Overall3.17
#516Fun2.97
#553Mood2.73

Comments

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48am

I think I'm about to have a heart attack. That was way too close.

Moochoomon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:12am

This is a pretty good game! I enjoyed it, and loved the split second decisions you had to make.

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:45am

Cheers! Glad you liked it :)

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

nice idea, felt like the decisions you would take on a game like oregon trail, but 10 seconds is too short! :p

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

Cool idea! I like it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23am

This is neat. Nice work!

DaleP says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40am

Great idea, maybe a little too rushed but it was fun to see how the split-second decisions turned out. Minor nitpick: the story at the end started in third person but then switched to second person which made it sound a little awkward.

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15am

My bad writing, sorry about that DaleP :)

@Omar_q8 - not heard of that game before, but sounds interesting. I'm happy with how the game turned out, I think I'd be happy making a longer version where the player had longer to make their decisions and there was more to play for.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Oregon_Trail_(video_game)

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53am

I guess I'm a slow reader--I didn't have enough time :)

I'd like to see something like more visual feedback about what happened after each choice. Nice job working within the theme, though. And great graphics! Plus I really liked the distribution of the 10 character choices.

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21am

@avh4 - agreed lack of feedback is a flaw. Two ideas I had was to have icons that flash up showing + or - Land/Gold/Followers, or to have a popup at the end of each turn explaining the result. Because I was short on time I went for the minimum-complete path and dumped all the story at the end. That means you have to make all your options before you find out what actually happened, which is a big disconnect. Cheers for the comments :)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28am

Interesting concept, and good art, but... I feel like it was too much to cram into 10 seconds. I like the stories at the end.

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29am

The idea is good and the art works well, but it went too fast for me to figure out what just happened!

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Wow that is hard. Good game though on the whole! I really enjoying playing it, but I also agree that 10 seconds is too short for this type of game! -James

pbdiode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Very interesting concept!

It was very hard for me to parse the action I wanted to take quickly, though.

Great graphics! Only wish there was a little audio to go with it, even if it were just sounds on button clicks and the timer ending!

Overall, really good job!

thetheodor98 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Nice game! I loved the graphic, really nice art! I also thinks that 10 seconds it to short, you should have made it that you get 10 seconds per choice. Always a great ending after each game. Great variation to be able to choose between many different characters, which makes the game re playable.

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Cool idea with a hard time limit. Because of the different characters i played it several times and of course i wanted to read their ending stories (which are a nice idea).

Liked playing it!

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:49am

The idea to create a story based on your choices is really good, but 10 seconds is too little time. Anyway game is really well-done! :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:49pm

At first I was frustrated how short a time I had to make decisions, but I quite like how it was the story at the end that really lets you know what happened, and hints for the future if you want to get more followers or gold. Too intense for me though :)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:25pm

I was streaming when I played your game: http://www.twitch.tv/crowbeak/c/2837135

Markavian says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:08pm

@Crowbeak, oh cool, cheers for the review. Was fun watching you play, thanks! :)

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:19pm

It's an interesting concept but the time limit is too short. You have only an half-second to take a decision. Maybe you could improve a bit the game. It could become something really good.

shard123 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Really liked the idea! Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]