August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Attack Force Deca

by PIXEL^3 - Jam Entry

For Ludum Dare 27, we decided to make a boss rush game where you must beat all of the bosses in 10 seconds(a decasecond if you will).
When you are done, be sure to try some of the challenge modes in the options menu if you liked it.

"Rejoice my people for the hour has come for you to fight the bosses of your dreams in a highly compressed time period. It won't be easy, the graphics alone might make you quit, but I assure you that on this day, VICTORY SHALL BE HAD! THE WORLDS, SHALL BE SAVED!"
-AlucardX60, 2013

Please let us know if there are any bugs in it.

Controls:
Left, Right and space to navigate the menus at title screen
Space to shoot
Arrow keys to move around
P to pause
Note: All controls are rebindable in the options menu for those of you who prefer Z to shoot ow WASD to move.

For Windows/Mac users:
-Download the version you need, Everything should be in there.
-We have no way of knowing if the Mac version works, so please tell us if it does or not.

For Debian/Ubuntu users:
-Download the Linux version
-Run quickInstallLove.sh
-You will then be able to run the game

For other Linux users:
-Install Love2D from love2d.org
-Download the Love2D version
-Run AFD.love with Love2D

Credits:
Jellonator- Programming
AlucardX60- Art/Screenshots
EmKay- Music and sound effects
Suyo- Help with naming the game

NOTE: Jello goofed up and submitted it to his account accidentally. This is the official page and Jello's will be removed when he wakes up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#188Humor(Jam)2.82
#200Fun(Jam)3.14
#299Audio(Jam)2.80
#325Overall(Jam)3.04
#344Theme(Jam)2.96
#453Mood(Jam)2.44
#471Innovation(Jam)2.48
#502Graphics(Jam)2.50
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04am

Boss rush mode for the win! :)

metranil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31am

Mac version is working!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28am

Nice music :)

headchant says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39am

It feels like the final boss was the easiest. Fun stuff.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58am

Nice game, very interesting. :)

Steve says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59am

Pretty cool, but *very* difficult! At least for me.

raincole says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02am

Good one. Reminds me Made in Wario

jellonator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:14am

I was going to temporarily change my password for my account, but, y'know, this works too.

jellonator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:15am

I was going to temporarily change my password for my account, but, y'know, this works too.
Don't worry guys, I'm not going to abuse this and rate my own game.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53pm

The composer greatly appreciates the comment on the music, and would like to query the whereabouts of the option menu

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:45pm

I defeated the brain! Cool entry, nice difficulty. The dolphin fight made me laugh. :-)

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18pm

The composer would like to note that the < > surrounding the "Play" on the main menu are actually arrows and should be utilized with the left and right arrow keys

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53am

Awesome! Gotta love the variety in this game: the physics, the art, they all change in each level and that makes it quite a unique game.

I don't seem to have a main menu or an option menu... Windows version. It starts straight to the first level (tank). Is it normal?

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:22am

@LordHellMaX: I just downloaded the windows version and it works for me. Do you get a SFX and a flash before the tank? The closest I got to replicating it was by mashing space while it was starting up.

-AlucardX60

netguy204 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:40am

You certainly made me laugh aloud with this one. Well done. Final boss was hard (I thought). This game reminded me of arguments as a kid. "Who would win if it was flipper vs batman?" Obviously, batman.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:27am

Nice soundtrack, funny enemies :D

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:39am

That was fun. But hard. :D

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:40pm

That was hard, but I love fighting bosses :D

Gazok says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

I feel like someone took all my least favourite moments of video games and made a game from them exlusively. I just never really understood why boss battles were considered an acceptable staple of video games. Not to sound overly negative, this game certainly did what it was meant to and I'm sure if I weren't such a hardass I'd have enjoyed it a lot.

alts says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:00am

I really like the idea of having mechanically distinct play segments like this. I was actually a bit disappointed that the fourth stage was similar to the first (hold down to shoot continuously). I think this would be a good candidate for expansion with some novel shooting mechanics for each stage.

One thing that did confuse me for a while was that the health gauges for you and your enemy appear to be one. Putting the hearts next to the life bar communicates a relationship that doesn't actually exist, and it took me some time to realize what it was that my endurance was measured in.

jujule says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Wow. What a challenge ! But I like brutal shooters. Good entry !

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:33am

Heh beat it all without dying. Fun concept.

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Pretty silly concept, especially how it has all kinds of different game graphics and stuff. That was actually pretty amusing.

Dolphin was hardest because he was all floaty and I had problems dodging the parabolic squares.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:37am

A well-rounded entry, with good variety. Got stuck on that bomber vs turrets one. The boss behind the turrets wouldn't take damage.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:18pm

@BlackBulletIV You have to destroy all of the lasers before you can damage the boss. Sorry we didn't make it more clear.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]