August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TenToDead

by householdutensils - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get the blue box to the grey box in under ten seconds.

Left and Right arrow keys to move left and right
Space to jump.

Red things mean death.

Also you can jump on walls.

Edit: I've removed the link to the Mac and Linux versions because of an issue with loading the level files that would require a code change to resolve. Apologies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#331Fun3.21
#459Theme3.28
#471Overall3.14
#906Mood2.24
#947Graphics2.21
#1086Innovation2.10

Comments

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51am

Yo, got an error trying to run your game :

Aug 26, 2013 10:50:53 AM com.rootsecks.tentodead.MapLoader loadFromFile
INFO: Loading level from file: levels\0.level
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.rootsecks.tentodead.World.addAssets(World.java:391)
at com.rootsecks.tentodead.World.initalize(World.java:84)
at com.rootsecks.tentodead.World.<init>(World.java:63)
at com.rootsecks.tentodead.PlayState.create(PlayState.java:16)
at org.flixel.FlxGame.switchState(Unknown Source)
at org.flixel.FlxGame.step(Unknown Source)
at org.flixel.FlxGame.render(Unknown Source)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:214)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:112)

I'm running on a mac, btw.

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Felt like I was playing Super Meat Boy!

No errors on Windows.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09am

I've gone ahead and removed the link to the mac version since I don't have a mac handy to see if I can replicate and resolve your error, Impmaster :( Apologies.

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30am

Looks to me like you just need to change a backslash to a forward slash somewhere in your code. Mac and Linux use a / as a path separator instead of a \.

FakeHair says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37am

Pretty fun game, very similar to Super Meat Boy. Not sure if the level I made it to is actually beatable. It was the one right after you start on the top right instead of the bottom left. Gave it about 20 tries and gave up.

Ninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52am

This game is rather difficult, but it goes with the theme. I eventually rage quit haha. The screen shake was starting to get to me. Nice work!

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:08am

The controls really kept me from enjoying this game as much as I would if they were less slippery. Also the type of obstacles and the overall movement felt too much like it was trying to be Super Meat Boy. However, for a game made in 48 hours it's impressive. I think if you simply go in and tighten the screws a bit and give the game a little more of its own identity, you'll have something that's a lot of fun to play.

hungyg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50am

Very fun game! It was quite hard to beat, the tutorial levels were a nice touch at the beginning. One thing that was hurting my eye (as a programmer) was that the particles were coming from the corners of the emitters instead of the center, but that was fine once the (kind of pleasant) frustration took over. And yes, nice Super Meat Boy style game. :) Good job!

Gyncoca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Good job, but level with lot of lava lag a lot on my computuer. :)

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Game wouldn't even open.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Very interesting puzzle game. Loved the "lava" visual. Nice well thought out puzzles. Good Job!

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:14pm

The control is really the only thing that kept it from five star fun for me. I enjoy games like this, but they shouldn't be floaty. You should be able to stop on a dime.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

remind me of super meat boy :D, I felt the jump was a bit too much floaty though.

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:18am

This game reminds me a lot of Super Meat Boy, which is a good thing! Some levels are very challenging, but that's what makes this kind of game appealing to me!
The simplistic graphics always please me, I'm yet to make a pack of mini-games using only colored squares! =D

Marcellus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:27am

very nice game, made me want to beat it and I did it ! (WIN !) great job you did here even with the super meat ball influences.

Sheep says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:16am

Simple but neat. It's kinda a basic platformer game, but executed well.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:04pm

As others have said, definite Super Meat Boy vibe. Good work. Difficulty curve a little much for me :D

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:18am

Really solid. I think the time limit does add to what is a fairly established genre of platformer. One thing that would have been nice is a short pause between the time you spawn and the time the game actually starts - less than a second, even - to give you time to release whatever key you were holding when you died and not mess up your next run.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]