August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Timespunkers

by BNeutral - Jam Entry

Timespunkers: Spunkter Boo's Deliriously Biznasty Boogalloo of Carnage
A fantastic summer blockbusterventure featuring all-american beloved hero Spunkster Boo as he transcends the space and time continuum to find his long lost father but to also learn an important life lesson about truth and love. Are you spunkster enough to SAVE AMERICA?

FAQ: Yes, you can defeat the knight. Yes you can dodge the worm. Yes there actually are invulnerability frames, but they only last half a second. No, there's no end, you play for the score.

Most of the art creation was recorded here, on August 24: http://www.livestream.com/JaqueLouieDavid?t=214187
The artist is currently (as of 28/Aug/2013) looking for freelance work or employment, you can contact him at: vietnamishguy(AT)gmail.com

Edit: Fixed some bugs and adjusted difficulty

Edit2: The game OST is now available for download, for free: http://plumegeist.bandcamp.com/album/timespunkers-original-soundtrack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#8Graphics(Jam)4.68
#62Overall(Jam)3.73
#66Audio(Jam)3.63
#79Fun(Jam)3.52
#84Theme(Jam)3.58
#124Mood(Jam)3.38
#160Humor(Jam)2.93
#276Innovation(Jam)3.01

Comments

Omnus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Great art - very surprising it was all made in 72 hours. Controls were a little weird at first, and I instantly died a couple of times. Cool concept with the glitching between worlds.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:45pm

The color choices are very nice and each area has a very distinct look and feel. The break room was funny and for a second I thought I was in trouble. It is a little unclear if you can win or not, but I understand you haven't but a description yet. One issue with the art is that the platforms blended with the background. Really nice job overall.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27am

Really nice job. You did a great job with the graphics, and the game is addictive (letting the player change the room at the cost of some life was a nice idea). I never survived to the giant worm, but anyway, I had fun.

REIN1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49am

Nice art~

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45am

The sheer amount of art in this game is mind boggling...great job!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40am

Excellent graphics!!

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:55am

super fun, amazing graphics, good effort for 72 hours. I don't think there was enough contrast in what was a platform and the background. Good job.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08am

Jaw-dropping quality AND quantity of artwork in this one for a 72-hour job, and a solid game to go with it. Nicely done.

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Great job, really enjoyed the artwork! Amazing how much art was done in 72 hours! Sometimes I felt the character didn't stand out enough / could have been slightly larger, but everything else felt spot on for a 72 hours game!

Capro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06pm

This game looks great.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

Whoa, you sure you did this in 72h? Incredible amount of art, good music, tight gameplay, fun concept. Great game!

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:17am

Gaaaah the sandworm keeps eating me! Amazing how many scenes there are. I lol'd at the break room. Awesome game!

FireZenk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Really nice art! and a lot of levels for only 72h, great!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Nice one... great style... hard to handle the A,s and D Key in the correct way... but after a few moments of training... Enjoyed it.

wine says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

Enjoyed it!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

Insane artwork. Very hectic gameplay, was great!

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:17am

Great art, but a hard game :)

acro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Incredibly good! The graphics are AMAZING (Was that a Dune level? Were those CHIBI FREMEN?!) So much variety, all looking great. The break room is fantastic, as well. And the controls felt really tight. great job!

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:44pm

I really like the set of scenarios! And the classical arcade details are lovely :D
ohhh how I miss these days hahahahha
definitively a great one

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Quite plain gameplay coated in a sugary presentation.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:43am

Incredible art, great concept and the gimmick kept me from getting bored pretty effectively. Great job! Game is pretty adictive!

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:20am

Great concept (boss battles everywhere) and the art is stuning. The controls seems a bit stiff, if you could make it a bit more smooth the game will be even more fun, but this a ludum, so it's understandable.

Only two things:
-The stage with the giant worm is a bit too hard, one touch and you are death :(
-Sometimes the player appear in the same location that some enemies, it's frustrating because it's not the player's fault. The player need to appear in a safe platform (at least, for a second).

I hope you continue with the game a bit more, it have potential.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:22pm

wow nice art looks really great! enjoyed it a lot!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Some of the best artwork I've seen! Absolutely gorgeus. The overall gameplay did get a bit repetitive fast.

Antidote says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Very nice graphics :) Interesting gameplay too, good job!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:42am

funny game. good job

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Damn! The graphics are SO amazing. Sprite designs, especially the enemies, are incredible.

5/5 for fun, theme, music and graphics. This ought to win!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:50pm

good game

Ithildin says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:09am

Amazing art, I loved the colourful levels. Also, the teleporting mechanic was really fitting. Great entry! :)

radmars says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:56am

Great game! Love the music & graphics, though it could use to be blown up 2x or so.

GreyShock says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:25pm

A bit difficult for me, but really cool!

zlowrance says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Amazing art, very fun!

Jhelle says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:23am

Lovely music and graphics. Great use of colors, it's so amazing to look at. Great job

gravyhands says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:11am

Incredibly gorgeous, amazing backgrounds and characters.
Not a huge fan of the controls, and the physics felt a bit off.
Really cool world-switching idea too.

loxo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Great game, I love the art! The game looks complete and very polished.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:38pm

awesome art! and that break room is just an amazing idea! had a problem with the weird controls at first, or maybe the whole way, but i figured i could just fire at all times and focus on the jumping and with that it worked fine. and sometimes it's hard to tell were the platforms are, so i thought at first that there was no way to get past that knight. otherwise, fun and polished game.

Nehmulos says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Glorious flying toasters.

Jeremias says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:40pm

The audio and the graphics are really great. The concept respectively the take on the theme is nice. Getting hit directly after a screen swap is a bit frustrating, especially with this stupid sandworm :D my highest score was a bad 800.

Towanime says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:31pm

This is a very polished entry in all aspects, congratulations!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Thanks for your comment in Lost in the Darkness! Yeah, finding your first friend needs a bit of awareness or deduction - that's actually by design.

Pretty cool graphics! The gameplay is solid, but I think giving the player a few seconds to adjust to his new situation (or dropping him in a safezone) would've made the game feel more fair. Endless games need more sense of progression, such as power-ups or even better upgrades, or it gets repetitive pretty fast - but until then, I still had fun!

(I like the rest room, haha.)

jerombd says ...
Oct 8, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Amazing artworks O_o
The gameplay is ok, the character design is very great! I'd love to see more rooms!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]