August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gone in 10 seconds: a trio of mini games

by Skully - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is a collection of 3 mini games I made that are based on the 10 second theme.
In the first game, you have to guess when 10 seconds have passed.
In the second game, you have to collect gems before they disappear after 10 seconds
In the third game, you have to open the correct door within 10 seconds

Post Ludum Dare:
I have continued to work on the games to improve them closer to what I initially envisioned.
The main changes are:
- the main menu gives you an indication of how well you are doing based on your score
- the skydiving has rotation in it
- the rocket game's spawning has been altered
- the rocket game doesn't penalise for not getting all 10 gems
- the rocket game's scoring has been fixed so it, as all games, aims for a max of 10000
- the toilet game rooms have been restructured into a grid
- the toilets now give an indication of where the toilet is, similar to minesweeper

I may work on it further to add audio and better art, but it depends on when I have more spare time

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#466Humor2.40
#847Theme2.83
#890Fun2.50
#923Audio1.50
#951Mood2.16
#994Innovation2.30
#1016Graphics2.10
#1068Overall2.43

Comments

1y1e says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13am

Get some fresh air: At first I didn't have a clue what to do, the fact that I was told to use arrow keys in the menu but then used WASD in the mingames was a bit confusing, but I was happy to sit and watch the cute little Santa do his thing :) If you were aiming for a ski-free art style you nailed it :)

Ooo, shiny: A fine little helicopter clone with suitable amount control lag. I suspect making the ceiling kill you would the minigame too difficult relative to the others, so that seems reasonable to me. Some feedback that I lost and why would be useful, as it's hard to tell if it's a bug or not.

Let loose: Yup, that's some toilet humour. Probably fits the theme the best out of the three though, and I like that you added the difficulty options.

My combined score: 33988

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Thanks for the feedback :)
the "ooo, shiney" game was made in 3 hours because the game I wanted to make wasn't working and I was fast running out of time. There was a bug where if you stayed on the start screen too long the player would fall through the bottom and thus end the game. I've since fixed that. Though you also need to get all 10 gems to complete this level but I suppose that makes it a little too challenging vs the other games. Nice score btw :)

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I'm getting a 404 for the windows download.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50pm

^ Me too

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50pm

The game was so good, if you improove the graphics a little bit this could be very succesfull!

eeezal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08pm

It's a bit boring and the graphics are not really good.

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10pm

interesting take, kind of fun :)

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

The title of this page says 60 seconds, but the game correctly says 10 seconds..
After that, i liked the first minigame, very nice Santa sprite.

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Yeah there were a lot of mistakes in the text, I did read over everything I put but I was running on 5 hours sleep during the 48 hours haha

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08pm

The third one was my favorite, the guy barely made it in time

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26pm

It's nice that you decided to make three games instead of one. They're all pretty fun, entirely different in their gameplay, and all very related to the theme in different ways. And they all function without problems! :)

Let Loose was a bit too much luck-based if you ask me, however. Luck in a timed video game? Bummer. At least it was pretty funny (not to mention nasty...).

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Had to check this out because it shares a name with my entry! We must have been watching the same films.

Anyway, three nice little minigames. I feel you missed a trick by not tying them together somehow but they were all enjoyable in their own right.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Instructions could have been a little been clearer.

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48am

Good job making 3 little games instead of 1!

The 1st and 2nd are my favorite, as I had a hard time controlling the 2nd game.

Score:31959

You also commented on my game about it not working for you because of your laptop. I just uploaded a new build that probably resolves your issue if you want to check it out.

Skully says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18am

The 2nd was your favourite because you had a hard time controlling it? haha

And I'm afraid it doesn't even tell me off for having a naff gfx card, it just instantly comes up with a unresponsive error box :( I have a decent PC but I'm not home atm, will try it at a later date :)

ezolotko says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Great menus and the skydiving game

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Nice! Could do with some audio!

"Ah toilet humour. Mere comedy in other countries, but in England, the basis for a whole CULTURE!"

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:38am

3 for the price of 1!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:08am

good job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]