August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hand Drawn Hero

by Ritzblues783 - Jam Entry

Team HDH presents: Hand Drawn Hero!

Controls:
WASD or arrows to move/jump
Spacebar to shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#206Overall(Jam)3.30
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#241Graphics(Jam)3.46
#244Fun(Jam)3.04
#245Theme(Jam)3.19
#302Mood(Jam)2.88
#309Humor(Jam)2.35
#531Innovation(Jam)2.30
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Not bad, I liked the hand drawn aesthetic, especially the taped together backgrounds, that was very cool! The controls were a bit floaty though, and on the spaceship level it was kind of tough to see the enemy bullets on that background. Also not the most original use of the "10 seconds" theme ;)

Man that boss is hard!! Tried like 20 times, couldn't get him enough within the time limit! Hahaha

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Oh hey also, try to avoid installers next time! Everyone hates installers :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03am

I was able (after much irritation) to beat it all. :)
You have to shoot the boss in the eye. It was a pain, to say the least!

Thank you team HDH!

~The "Hand Drawn Hero" artist~

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Damn it installlllerrrr

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55pm

HAND DRAWN SLIMEHORROR

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Liked the art style and I think the concept would be cool if you were to add more levels with different goals, sort of like a warioware platformer. Took me a bit to figure out the boss.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Loved the hand drawn graphics. It will probably need a little more tweaking on the controls and collisions, but overall a good game

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00pm

I really tried my best with the last boss but eventually rage quit took over, but in a good way! :) Was fun and challenging!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Sadly, wasn't able to run this (possibly because I'm running Windows XP?). Looks great though - well done Ritzblues783!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Finished in 30 death....then in 14 death, pretty hard boss!

rpmoura says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Fun, but too hard for me. :(

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

This game is great! Its really really nicely drawn and its fun to play!! I loved it! I featured it in my compilation video of Ludum dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out http://youtu.be/PSym67k7zBg

Yell0w says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Very fun game. Awesome graphic style!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:18pm

As hard as nice :) Very good job!

Reyn says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:07am

Died 72 times before I killed the boss, unfortunately he killed me too, fortunately I still won :P I agree with the bullets on the back ground. Nicely done.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:48pm

VERY creative and really hard. gg :)

Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:59pm

I had 26 deaths. Did I die much? Hehe =D

The gameplay was simple, but a bit slippery in the first level. I liked the style of the visuals! Very great art!

For a "quick-made" game, I liked it! =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]