August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TSHIF

by rustybroomhandle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi, just 10 levels in this one.

Each level has rows of tiles. Some rows can be shifted, and you have to arrange them so that the little robot can get to the other side.

I might expand this into a proper game - remove the silly 10 second thing and instead make it a bit more real-time, and add more block types, like deflectors, spikes (yay) etc.

Also needs some kind of checkpointing so you don't have to start from level 1 every time. ;)

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#433Theme3.30
#439Innovation3.13
#596Overall3.02
#655Fun2.80
#661Graphics2.72
#750Humor1.94
#849Audio1.84
#896Mood2.26

Comments

Big Dave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

Good fun. Glad to see people doing this style of thing where you have 10 seconds to set something up and then watch it play out. One of the better examples of that I've encountered so far.

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37am

First off, kudos for the graphics! I really like the style you're going for! You've made a really great game overall, and my only complaint is that the robot is a little slow, but otherwise, it's fantastic! :)

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08am

Its very fun game, nowadays there isn't many prouctions in that style. I really like set up and watch it play out.

lambomang says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11am

Is there a way to select which level you want to play? Or do you have to start again from level 1 every time you die?

Choupom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17am

Really like this kind of game, good work!

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:20am

I like the way you used the theme, really ingenious. I agree the robot is a bit slow and the sound was weird but a solid entry nonetheless.

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:21am

Neat game. I agree that this could easily be expanded into a really good game without the ten-second limitation and with a sort of level select. Maybe add levels that do a dogleg at the middle, and the robot starts walking towards that new direction. Possibilities are endless.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23am

@Terrabyte - yeah, any faster and he doesn't fall through the holes. I'll fix that at some point.

@lambomang - Currently you have to start again from 1. Pain in the ass I know - I'll eventually add some kind of checkpoint system or level selection.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:24am

Yeah, I agree - some sort of checkpointing would be a very good thing. And it felt like the difficulty curve was a little shallow - it took a while to get onto the harder levels. But then the later ones do require much more rapid thought to meet the Ten Seconds requirement, so I can actually see why you've done it this way... Either way, good game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28am

@Morgawr "and the sound was weird" - that's me making funny noises into the microphone. My LD compo games haven't had any sound previously so I was determined to get *some* sound in this one even if it was a bit, um, odd. :D

kantieno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31am

It was a nice, simple game, however the robot was a bit slow and made the fact that there was no checkpoint system a bit more tedious. But overall I thought it was nice and the sounds the robot made helped set the mood a little.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44am

As Terrabyte said, the robot could move a bit faster. Other than that, congrats! The game is really fun, it would be interesting to see it expanded.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18am

Solid game. Really liked your take on the theme. :) I wish the character would move a bit faster after the time ends. Gets a bit tedious after a few tries.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:08pm

The game is kinda easy. The time limit adds a bit of difficulty, but really it just discouraged me to start all over again after failing at level 6. The weird noises make for a very creepy mood! Overall pretty nice really!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Once you will get what it is about it is getting easier to master ;) Nice idea!

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

This thing should've been faster, you know it's a lite game,and the gameplay itself is quick while waiting the robot to perform or the game over screen are INCREDIBLY SLOW...
I think if it was faster you'd get from everyone at least one extra star on each category.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54am

Good puzzle concept I think =)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Buuh I am 'Failsausage!'. This was fun.
For me this may be a cool game when I have some lives like it was in the good old days of C=64.
The funny sound and time display with lots of digits are also cool ideas

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Bah. Really wanted a go on this. Linux version won't work for me :(

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:02am

@motty Just tested it on my laptop (intel chip) running Mint (15 I think) 64 bit and it worked fine - in what way is it not working for you? Can't troubleshoot without more info :)

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Otherwise very nice puzzle game, but robot walking through obstacles could go a little faster.

Miltage says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:28am

Cool puzzle game, but like others have mentioned, having to start over from level 1 is kak. Haha.

Taiters says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:39pm

I thought this game was pretty awesome, well done! The only thing I didn't like was the lack of a retry option, and having to play through earlier levels again if you die.

graytest says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Like the concept and the graphics. Would be good if one didn't have to restart from beginning when failing a level (especially because the robot moves soooo slow). Overall: Good game!

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Not bad, but annoying having to restart the whole game each time

alts says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:02am

Really enjoyed this. Other people have mentioned checkpointing, but one thing that I noticed is that we only ever see this robot character from behind. How much more difficult is play if the robot moved in such a way that we saw its face? Things might sometimes be obscured, but that problem already exists now.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:25am

alts - yeah I was the first one to mention the checkpointing actually. :P See the original blog text at the top. And funny you should mention the robot turning, I just added that last night. I'm continuing work on it to make it into a complete game. Adding block types, some powerups, ways to manipulate the timer, etc. :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:09pm

nice game -- i wish there was a restart button -- good job

Katamori says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:23pm

A bit slow, and graphics suffers from me, but a solid entry overall!

KristinnEs says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:05pm

The game is fine :)
I would have liked to be able to restart the same level if I fail instead of the whole game.

Sebby says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:53am

Nice game, I like the graphics and audio! I wish the puzzles were more complex though, I found myself the putting things in order and then watching. Then I messed up somewhere along the line and had to start again, haha x-x But yeah, I think the 10 seconds thing makes this game suffer a bit and you could make something great out of it with some tweaks :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]