August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The adventures of 10 seconds

by ippa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

2013-08-29:
Now works good with IE too! Safari works, but FPS sucks.
Made hint even clearer.

The adventures of 10 seconds - action and mystery!
Play with Chrome or FireFox!

Stuck? Here's a hint: http://ippa.se/webgames/the_adventures_of_10_seconds/hint.txt

Move: ARROW-keys
Action: SPACE
Made with: http://jawsjs.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

st33d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11am

Um. Spent about 5 minutes in the Hall of Dance, unable to get anywhere. Well done for being cryptic, but yeah, kinda ruined it. Oh well.

ippa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45am

st33d: how would you dance with only the arrow-keys?.. you can solve it :). Also, hint-URL added.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

+1 for st33d comment - it don't make no sense (the .txt file only makes things more confusing)... and I'm an excellent dancer. Pity, because I want to play more - how did you do the pixel-perfect collision detection?

ippa says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

@mrspeaker: The hint is now a clear instruction on how to solve it.

ippa says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

@mrspeaker: I hope you're "Oh, why didn't I think of that" when you read the hint! ;)

Pixel perfect collision is made possible with the HTML5 canvas, but I use www.jawsjs.com to interact with it.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Ok, this feedback might sound very negative - but I'm only putting saying it because I think this game could be so great...

First, I absolutely love the pixel art, the controls, and the first two levels. Very polished, very nice game. But after that it's wayyyyy too cryptic!

Seriously - go get a couple of people (and someone's mom) to play it in front of you and DON'T give them any hints: Don't say ANY words. There's no way they will run-back-and-forward for ten seconds... that doesn't make any sense. Why is running back and forward for ten seconds a dance? After you told me to "run fast back and forward" for ten seconds I didn't go "Oh, why didn't I think of that", I went "wtf, are you serious?!". Even then it took me 30 seconds of random key mashing to get it to work.

If you want to do the dance thing, then you need to give feedback that I am dancing... some kind of "dance-o-meter" over my head or something - and show the blocking pole jiggle a little bit to show I am progressing. Maybe with some disco music ;)

Next, make them try the level with the three planks covering the holes with the spikes coming down. I have no clue what you could want me to do now... "dance" on each plank for 3.3333 seconds each? Jump up and down for 10 seconds? Mash all the keys in a circle? There's no logic to it, so it's not a puzzle - it's just frustrating. I don't want to waste time trying to solve it, because I know the dance level was so random that I don't feel like I am achieving anything by getting through it - it just feels random.

IN CONCLUSION

The first 2 levels of this game were so awesome and I really wanted to play more! The graphics and sound are so cool and the game controls really nice. But the difficulty ramps up too fast. Don't try to be too clever - the cryptic dancing levels and logic-less planks are no good - get rid of them! And then let me know, because I WANT TO PLAY MORE!

ippa says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

@mrspeaker: Hm.. I might have overestimated how tricky the puzzles could be for ppl to solve/enjoy them. Point taken.

In my head there's only one logical way to dance in a game where you have very limited abilities to move. I tested it on one friend and he solved it, but I should have been tested more :).

The planks... In real life, how would you break a plank? Applying pressure to it? How would you best do that with the limited controls. Also it might not break on the first try. But I guess I could have indicated it took damage.. cause I bet you tried jumping on it.

With 20+ games to play the patience for bit harder puzzles is probably very low.

I agree it's too hard (obviously with 2 ppl stuck so far), but I don't agree there's No logic to the puzzles, there is :). Thanks for the kind ending-words, I spent a lot of time fine tuning the controls/pixel-terrain-physics :)

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:05pm

I really like the art style and the feel of the game, but I have to agree with the others - getting some clearer feedback on the puzzles and some tweaking would really be beneficial. Other than that, it was really enjoyable and I think you should keep developing this.

meszka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Pretty neat. The art is nice, especially the little details like vines. I also like the music, very atmospheric. Thanks for making Jaws btw :)

jplur says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Nice platformer and fun graphics, maybe could of used more puzzles, or maybe non linearity for how you move through them. The Indiana Jones level is top notch!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I came back and played this game again. It's really good! I think you should work on it more - add some more levels like the first level... add some feedback for the jumping-on-planks (like see them splitting)... it's really cool.

onzephyr says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Great game. pixel perfect collision very cool. beat it but I did have to use the hint link, really liked it, any plans on adding more post compo?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]