August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Certain Defeat

by L - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this side-scrolling fantasy game, fight through 5 branching levels and stop the Queen of Monsters from conquering the Human Kingdom! A dynamic difficulty system will send you to harder or easier levels depending on whether you succeed or are defeated!

That is... unless there's an unexplained software problem that may make victory completely impossible.

CONTROLS:
Explained in the game.

INSPIRATION:
Peripheral inspirations for this game include include Terra Tam, WarioWare, Inc., The Shadowlands Prophesy, Homestuck Act 6 Act 6, and, visually, OFF, Lamezone and La La Land.

This game feels satisfying to have finished developing - the only design hiccup is that the theme kind of slipped from my grasp - it's present on the title screen and level 1, but not really muchwhere else. Oh well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#4Humor4.36
#44Graphics4.14
#70Overall3.76
#90Mood3.55
#163Innovation3.58
#296Fun3.26
#1064Theme2.43

Comments

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39am

It's a bit too easy, despite the name. The controls are great, very intuitive and responsive. I really enjoyed the art, the game has a unique look. It reminds me of sketches you'd see in someone's notebook. Cool stuff, I enjoyed it.

sparkleswirl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

This is the best game. I don't know if I can say much more.

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00am

Lovely art, this had a so fluid gameplay and movement <3

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12am

At first I was super frustrated, but then it dawned on me. I should really read the descriptions before playing XD

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

I can't move. Can't click on anything (not even the CONTROLS button. Something's wrong on my Mac.

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

It appears the web version doesn't work for mac. Can't click anything :/

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34am

It's... too humorous for me.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34am

Really clever "game". Almost too clever; even by the second to last level I was still wondering in the back of my head if I was supposed to do something. Definitely the funniest LD game I've played so far.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34am

Very pretty but...

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

Definitely the most intuitive controls I've seen.

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50am

Wonderful.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:31am

Best of the not-games I've played.

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38am

That was amazing. I enjoyed it like if I were watching a movie. The art was top-notch and the levels of polish you gave it are incredible; every transition, every animation is very detailed.

I now want this to be an actual game. :(

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04am

I can't get it running, either. It says that I have no input source, or something to that effect.

REIN1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01am

Hahaha~The best game I played ever~control error is amazing idea~

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Fun idea, but not that much to do with the theme. Liked the graphics quite a lot!

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35pm

We need Frustration category in LD. Awesome graphics.

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Says I have no input device. Chrome on Win7

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42pm

I love the art.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44pm

genius.

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:45pm

That was... something. o_o I really loved the art in it. :)

Porpentine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11am

AGATHA

rylgh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47am

hilarious the whole way through... even these comments are hilarious...

moonmagic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52am

A++ super gameplay

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:38am

you are genius!!!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

this is the best.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49pm

The comments are almost as funny as the game. Well done?

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:51am

Your art is amazing. Reminds me of old Mac Classic games. Your take on game input is revolutionary.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:45am

Ugh, I really really want to play this, but I'm getting an error about no suitable input device being found. I tried the web and the exe. Do you know what the problem is? :(

cafeine says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51pm

5 stars, obviously. Making the beat of the music vary according to player input was very clever.

Capro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:46am

Awesome! But I can't rate it in many categories: this is not a game.
Sorry :(
Anyway I think I can give 5/5 for humor! :)

canvapps says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:49am

I couldn't play because it doesn't seem to recognize keyboard, but it looks great, especially the big titty demons :D
Great job!

N427 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Love it! Interesting concept of (non) interaction and a cool satire of games not being punishing enough through not being punishing at all.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]