August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You Have to Dye

by Dialock - 48 Hour Compo Entry

When the guy in grey disappears. Hit [Space] to start followed by the [arrow keys] under the tub with the same color shown at the center of the window.

To enter the sequence you just did hit space again. If you did it right the sheet will be green and the color sequence will disappear. Do it wrong and it will be red, but you can try again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#324Humor2.67
#561Audio2.55
#610Mood2.66
#694Innovation2.78
#828Theme2.85
#962Fun2.38
#1004Graphics2.12
#1022Overall2.52

Comments

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29am

Haha tricky! Instructions were a bit difficult to understand, you might want to rewrite them. Also, try to make it so you don't have to install if that's possible ;)

tamashihoshi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I have to agree to Ciaran54.. It's really hard to know what to do :o

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I didn't really know what was going on, or whether I was doing anything right or wrong. It might be nice to have some sort of feedback when when you are trying to dye a cloth as to whether you have pressed a button correctly or not.

Dialock says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Yeah sorry, since I made it the control scheme of course makes senses to me and is very hard to explain. I'll try to rework the notes so others have an easier time.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53pm

It took me a while to understand how the game works. But on figuring it out, it was pretty fun, but hard. I'm bad at hand eye co-ordination games, haha!
I love the way the text changes in the game over screen. Its a funny and neat touch!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:17am

That ending screen is the best.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Really nice ^_^ my comments are pretty much what everyone else have said so far, so... no comments :)

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:52pm

I couldn't run the game unfortunately. It crashed on running, never even saw the windows. Running on Win7.

Dialock says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:25pm

I updated it so there's no need to install. @Starspell Did you check the folder that says "Install if I Crash _ OpenAl"?

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Wonderful name, and a solid game.

The music drove me nuts though

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:20am

I little hard to follow at first. Entertaining though.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Really cool idea. Very original. Good job!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Whoa original entry! A bit hard to understand what is going on there ;) Anyways good job!

Delca says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I totally failed at this game. Seeing as I sometimes have problems with colors, I must say I expected to. But I had fun nonetheless.
Oh, and I liked the music too!

wbobeirne says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:45pm

I feel like I'm in a David Lynch movie. A+ would be punished by a man in a grey morph suit again.

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Controls a bit hard, but fun overall.

bobleny says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I was unable to play the game. Error: Unable to initialize. I tried installing openAI, but got same result. I am running windows XP home

Dialock says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:40pm

XP is not supported, sorry. Win 7 is great if you can get your hands on it.

4xisblack says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:48am

A striking representation of what hell might be like for colourblind people :P

Has a surprisingly compelling core mechanic! And I like the bizarre nature of the storyworld.

Jedi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:23am

Like 4xisblack said, your game's random colors didn't have enough variance. *Argh* My eyeballs hurt.

Having said that, the game is really, REALLY fun! I made it up to day 9, with 22 worthy sheets and one abhorrent one, and after understanding your difficult but fair controls I feel fairly accomplished - which is rare for an arcade game :)

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:23pm

It gets really hard after lvl 6 or so. Fun concept, the false sound was a bit loud, and the graphics aren't the best part. But it's about the gameplay itself in the end :D

kratorspore says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Sorry but this was too obtuse for me. Very interesting art style though!

Katamori says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:11pm

The scond ugly game that I love :D good concept!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]