August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TickType

by shockedfrog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

INSTRUCTIONS: (or just watch the in-game tutorial)

Press space before the green line touches the white line (every 10 seconds). The earlier you press, the more health you lose. The game is over if you lose all your health, or if you don't press space in time.

Random letters are displayed above the white line - type them to regain health.

Typing letters and accurately pressing space will score points and increase your level - at higher levels you lose more health when you press space early, so you need to be more accurate with timing and try to regain health quicker. The more health you have, the more points you get, so skilled players can reach later levels faster.

The game has two difficulty settings: In Easy mode, you can always see the green line. In Hard mode the line is only visible for one second, after which you have to count the seconds yourself.

ABOUT THE GAME/DEVELOPMENT:

This has been a pretty fun LD for me - I decided to try using AS3 and Flixel to make a Flash game for the first time and it's been wonderfully easy to use. This is my first serious compo entry for 3 years, it's good to be back. :)

This game isn't going to win any prizes for graphics or sound, but my main focus with this game has been the gameplay balance. I didn't quite finish that though and so the game becomes pretty much impossible above level 13 - if you get that far, you can consider the game completed. :) Make sure to try both Easy and Hard modes - they're pretty much completely different kinds of game - and share your scores in the comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#136Innovation3.65
#319Theme3.41
#688Overall2.94
#823Audio1.94
#863Fun2.54
#941Mood2.17
#963Humor1.39
#1004Graphics2.12

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:37am

945 Points. :D

Using Google Chrome on Mac (latest stable release) and the game is on the upper-left corner with tons of white (or should I say blue) space. Not sure if it's intentional, but it's a tad bit off for playing a game.

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50am

Yeah, the game is designed to be small, but the page was just put up in a last minute rush. :) I'll put up a better page for it later.

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41am

Slightly better page up for now :)

My own scores so far: Easy: 1244, Hard: 563. Hard mode is a great example of one of those games that someone can make but still be terrible at. :)

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45am

Pretty solid. Innovation was the best part of it, never played anything quite like this.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49am

I like it, it's quite fun but I always forgot the space hehehe.

Quite innovative, and nice way to apply the theme!

Alink says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Fun innovative typing game. Hard mode is hard, but I will try again after playing many other LD games and thus having a fine grasp of what 10 seconds is.

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Really interesting idea, it was harder than I thought to type those letters, it might just be that I suck at typing, or that I'm only good at typing words with muscle memory. Cool idea :D

Nizan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Never seen anything quite like it. Refreshing. Nice work. :)

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Great work! Fun and challenging. The theme is conveyed very well.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02am

Wow, trance inducing! A nice simple concept, and definitely takes a lot of concentration to do well at...

lekochen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:04am

Like it! Scored 1022 points.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:48am

Really cool, interesting idea especially in hard mode where the player's perception of time is tested. Got a little too hard during the later levels but it was still enjoyable. Nice one!

Drachlen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:14am

I really like the idea, and the take on the theme. If you wanted to grow this into something bigger with more mechanics appearing as you go along, I can definitely see some great potential for it. Great execution!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:16am

965 Points haha. I've never actually seen this kind of game before and it was actually really addictive to my suprise :0. Good stuff man!

nixeldev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:20pm

I havent played a game like this at all before, I enjoyed it :)

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:48pm

1032 points on easy.
Nice little typing game.

HD408 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Quite original gameplay, stands out in the whole LD.

Hard mode is really hard here!

alts says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:12am

This is a really interesting game. I haven't actually seen very many timing games yet.

I do think that a score should be visible while playing. Without it it's hard to determine what the best course of action is. Is it always better to type, for example, or should I only type as much as I need to heal? A visible score would help give some feedback to the player. I also don't know if this was just my machine or not, but the timing felt off. I'd press and release the space key with about a half to a quarter second left, and it'd tell me I lost. Perhaps some issue with frame rates?

shockedfrog says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Thanks for the detailed feedback :) Level progress is based purely on score - 100 points equals one level - so the blue experience bar is also a score indicator of sorts. I felt it was better not to display a complete numeric score during the game as the constantly changing numbers on screen could be distracting, especially in hard mode.

Generally it's always better to type as long as you don't miss space as a result of trying too hard. :) You score more points for typing depending on how much health you have left, with the maximum bonus being when you already have full health.

Which losing message did it display? If it said you ran out of health, then that's expected - half a second is quite a long time in this game, in fact, by level 8, pressing half a second too early would result in death even if you had a full health bar. If, however, the game over message said that you missed the 10 second mark despite pressing space before it, then there might be a bug somewhere.

Antidote says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:40pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pW6rmIQu2l8 - My first impressions of the game ^^

shockedfrog says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Thanks for that :) The tutorial was a little bit rushed and could have been a bit clearer in places, though I'm glad I at least put a basic tutorial in or nobody would understand how to play at all.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]