August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Deadline

by Orni - Jam Entry

Description:
============
Welcome to 'Dungeon Deadline' !
You have to beat six dungeon levels under severe time pressure to collect enough gold to defeat the final boss!
Can you beat the deadline ?
Find out!

Controls:
=========
WASD or ARROW KEYS to move around
MOUSE1 to attack and use the UI

Credits:
========
'Dungeon Dadline' is a game by Orni & tnk, with graphics by Oryx and music by Landon Podbielski

Orni: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/orni/
tnk: http://flavors.me/tnk
Oryx: http://oryxdesignlab.com/
Landon Podbielski: http://www.wonthelp.info/highres.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#7Fun(Jam)4.04
#14Overall(Jam)3.97
#37Theme(Jam)3.76
#74Audio(Jam)3.59
#148Mood(Jam)3.29
#200Graphics(Jam)3.61
#276Innovation(Jam)3.01
#280Humor(Jam)2.44

Comments

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Awesome!
Feels just like making a Ludum Dare game!

rakyatmiskin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14am

very interesting game.... stuck with boss battle

DrSuperSocks says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33am

This game is awesome! Died on the boss though :( I like the character development, seems pretty well balanced.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04am

Just great game, good job!

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14am

Oh, this is fun! Like everybody else, though, I found the final boss a bit too hard. I think one thing that would help, at least for the "fighter" character, is an autoswing rather than having to mouse at things to fight them.

eckcz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14am

Without the ten seconds level counter it would be a great game. You can develop the game further without the counter. Its fun to play. I loved the gameplay and upgrades.

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:28am

@everyone:
thanks for the feedback and playing my game :D

@Darien:
all classes have an auto-attack, you simply have to hold the mouse button down
in case of the fighter - he hits everything around him (regardless where you point your mouse - he's a badass)

@eckcz:
the idea is to find good routes trough the dungeon under time pressure to gather enough gold to beat the boss

MidCry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56am

NICE AND FAST GAME

namuol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:10am

YESSSS! So much fun. Amazing how much gameplay you can squeeze into 10 seconds!

YopSolo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:19am

damn good, well done !

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:51am

Good one !

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43pm

This is a cool idea! I don't like the time limitation on it though, seems like the game will play better without the restriction on the time. Otherwise, looks and plays awesomely.
Good job

onzephyr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Darn fine game. well designed and well executed. also top down shooter so +1. Feels like it could have a very long life well past Ludum Dare.

Misfit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Awesome idea! Nice art/audio/gameplay.

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Really like this! Very cool idea and very fun. Definitely one my favorites so far. Great job!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Are you an owner of all graphics to this game? Because it looks exactly the same as graphics in Realm of the Mad God in Steam.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Good job! Love the pixel art style

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Can I ask why so many games like this have exactly the same player and projectile graphics I seen 4 now.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Very fun and solid game

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43pm

@Nerlin & Icass:
Just like 'Realm of the Mad God' and several other games, this game is using the 'LoFi Fantasy' graphic set - made by Oryx
You can find it here: http://oryxdesignlab.com/sprites/

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Fun and fast paced, totally got your MadGod style.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Great use of the theme. Would love more levels. :)

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:02pm

After playing for a bit, I'm not sure how I feel about getting kicked out of the level every 10 seconds. I want to explore each level fully. Nice job on everything though. It was pretty fun.

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Awesome frenetic dungeon shooter! Gonna do another try :)

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

really fun!

If you dev it further it would be nice to have a WASD move and arrow key shoot setup like binding of isaac style. I have a touch pad so it was real challenging.

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:14am

I love it! For now, it's my favorite entry.
It could storm this dungeon again and again.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:07pm

This is a beautiful looking game. I find the mouse aiming a little awkward but taking out would mean you would have to fire the direction you face(so you wouldn't be able to strife as easily). Also, I would take out the acceleration so that your character doesn't coast. Your team did a fantastic job! If you guys ever decide to work in Unity feel free to ask me anything.

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:48pm

wow, nice gameplay as usual D:
I love the realm of the mad god-ish pacing of it

aschearer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Really well polished. Not initially clear what the goal was, but I had fun bouncing around in any case. Like the idea of a bumper cars/roguelike mix.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Nice pacing, very fun game! I would have loved to see original graphics to be honest, but I can understand that you prefered to focus on what matters. Nice entry!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Really enjoyed playing this!

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Great fun! The game is fast-paced and the music is fast and catchy.

Zammy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Really cool game! Two suggestions:
- Remove the countdown before the start, or at least give the player option to start earlier and skip the waiting. Otherwise you're forcing him to cool off in a fast-paced game.
- Put somewhere in the levels a special "reward" which may remove the deadline, and give the player access to the whole level. I read some people want to explore everything.

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:21pm

@zammy:
oh my god - that last suggestion of yours is amazing. I should have put 3 or 4 different "deadline-unlock" spawnpoint per level (chosen at random at level generation) so that you couldn't simply memorize the locations at each level - at least not as easily.
that would've been so great ... I wish I would have thought of that
(the countdown disable option is a nice idea as well)

I might contact you during the next LD to playtest a prototype of mine and get some suggestions ;)

Anachron says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Really good! It would be nice to have an option to adjust the counter, or to have different difficulty levels with different amounts of time.

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Very cool game, couldn't stop playing until I beat the deadline dragon! ;-) A bit too easy though, but that's a good thing.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:58am

Very nice game, I really like the graphics style and audio.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:28am

Fantastic game, love the music reminds me a bit of Golden Axe, the controls and movement was smooth the graphics were nice and the pacing was great too! Good job!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:41am

This is a fun top-down-shooter game, it's nicely presented. Controls are good. I thought the game didn't have much difficulty because you seem to finish each level anyhow. But it looks like the main objective is to prepare yourself to beat the boss in 10 seconds. Nice concept! I don't know if I can get 999 coins for upgrades though :P

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:18am

I really liked the game, but i was a little sad that i only had 10 seconds in each room. I wanted to kill all the monsters and explore all the rooms :) Then i got my ass kicked by the boss and died soooo hard!

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Really cool game. It's a shame the rooms are so big and you only have 10 seconds to explore them.

Zammy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

@Orni:
I'm glad you liked the suggestion. Will you do a post-jam version with updates?

And yes of course, I'll be happy if I can help you with feedback on your games, so please do contact me.
We may exchange contacts now if you wish?
How may one contact another trough this website anyway? Private messages or something?

gamepopper says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Really creative use of the 10 second theme! Not to mention a fairly decent Realm of the Mad God style shooter!

the.vaber says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Amazing game! The progression system is great, feels very rewarding. The swordsman controls were perhaps a bit unintuitive at first, but the mage plays great :) Good job!

ncannasse says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Great game but somehow does not play nice with the theme.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Top marks for fun!!
If you develop it without the timer, it could be more forgiving

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Very nice!
I really like how you have three different characters, and how you can upgrade them :)

Thought the knight was a little underpowered compared to the archer and mage.

Great job!

CuberToy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Really enjoyed it overall. Cool concept of fast progression. I find it very frustrating to play only 10 second as I want to explore more (but that's not a downside). Very nice game !

BNeutral says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:58am

I win! Didn't even notice you could play as any of the characters until I read it in a comment.

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:31am

Very well polished and fun! Always a pleasure to see Oryx's graphics (though some new sprites based on them would be even more sweet). I liked the music a lot, very inspiring and action-oriented.

The goals were very well defined and the game looks balanced, even though I couldn't beat the boss at the end. =(

Overall, good game! =D

foumart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Awesome game! Just tried all characters and beat the boss only with the mage. It will be nice to be able to spawn in passed levels (with harder enemies ofcourse)

Sestren says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:33am

This was a lot of fun to play. The music was awesome, and the pace was frantic. Loved it!

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:34am

Nice. Took me until my 2nd playthrough to really get the hang of it and be able to explore the levels a bit more, then beat the boss. Graphics/sounds nice and the game felt nicely polished. No real complaints but it would perhaps have been nice to see some time powerups or something that allows a bit more exploration of your levels as I felt that I never got to see all the work you put into them! Overall, nice work :)

VAGABOND says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:56pm

one of my favs to play so far in this jam!

voidstar69 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Lovely graphical style and music. I love the look of the dungeons so much that it is almost disappointing when the level soon ends.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Very nice music, furious action. Congrats

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:33am

Super cool, I think you could expand on this after ludum dare and you'd have a really cool game.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:36am

wizard is good, I enjoyed this game. nice retro feel

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Nice work. Great sounds, nice graphics. I am an avid player of ROTMG, so to see Oryx's graphics (I know they are free and open and everything, it's just a bit weird.) and be like OMIGOSH SKULL SHRINE WHAAAATT, but kill it in a few hits was nice. Great music too. The levels felt solid and well built. Keep it up! 8/10.

bitowl says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:07pm

This was so much fun. I'm still excited :O Need to kill dat bozZ...

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:43am

Great game! I finally beat it on my third try . Lots of great little touches, like having the three different classes (which I didn't realize when I first started the game) and making the time limit actually be a little longer than 10 seconds. Very fun and fast-paced.

If you work on this game a little more in the future, it would be nice to see different kinds of items and things to pick up in the dungeon.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]