August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ardor

by permanente1600 - Jam Entry

In an ancient time the world faced near destruction. One of the new Gods tasked his priest to complete a mystic ritual before the worlds eminent destruction. The priest was granted the ability to stop time using the God's enchanted flame. The rest was left to fate.


This game was completed in just over two days by a three person team.

-Jonathan (www.jonathanstagnaro.com) on art using photoshop and illustrator.

-James (www.jamesillustration.com) on code using Unity and Monodevelop.

-Dave (dave@presentcreative.com) on sound using Ableton Live, East West Quantum Leap Libraries.

The three of us work together at PresentCreative, a game studio based in San Francisco. We all love games and the art that goes into them, so we tried to bring that love into the amazing challenge that is Ludum Dare! Enjoy the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.75
#21Audio(Jam)3.92
#26Mood(Jam)3.96
#100Overall(Jam)3.54
#255Theme(Jam)3.17
#332Innovation(Jam)2.88
#333Fun(Jam)2.83
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Really nice art, guys!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

enjoyed playing this. Took me a second to figure out I needed to 'X' the tutorial, since the character moves and gets the flame click option even with it open. Ran out of time so didn't do all the murals, hope it ramps up the difficulty a bit in the end.

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Outstanding gfx! , I have reached the third lights-panel but the first blue light is not responding to my clicks. Please fix it so I can finish the game! :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33pm

^^juaxix. Thanks for the heads up, i know whats happening. When you try to click that blue light the click is actually being picked up by the character sprite. I'll do a quick reposition of the lights so that doesnt happen.

grozamorei says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:12pm

nice art and style, guys.

check your tilesheet animation code though, I got a bug just trying to press some direction buttons at a very fast pace.

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Awesome art and sound ambiance. The gameplay felt a bit simplistic, but I liked the fact that you had to figure it out most for yourself. I loved the conclusion of the game :)

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Impressive art! The game looks really polished, other than some minor problems at times clicking on the lights.

Brilliant game, good job! ;D

Capro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Very well made. Art and sounds are awesome.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:10pm

The glowing orbs look cool in the dark and while you're running past with a torch. The wall/pillars have a nice effect in general too.

michail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:58pm

The gameplay itself isn't very innovative, but the art style is amazing.

Valandre says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:24am

Impressive graphic

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:50am

Love the art style :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:44pm

The art and sound are fantastic. The gameplay was more tedious than fun and the final puzzle was ramped up way too hard, considering the previous few.

loxo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I love the awesome art! It's fun to play and fits the theme very well. I noticed a glitch in the character drawing, when the direction is changed quickly.

skiesgamingtv says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Love the graphics ! Audio is nice too. I'll definitely follow you guys from now on. Wish you luck for the next projects :)
Here is a gameplay video I made :
http://youtu.be/JaLDKraoDXY

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]