August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SILX

by alvivar - Jam Entry

you are SILX.


INSTRUCTIONS: move with WASD, infinite jump with SPACE, shoot lasers with LEFT CLICK, fly holding RIGHT CLICK. follow the red arrow on the top left corner. you have 3 lives.

IMPORTANT: you can do infinite double jump, so, use this and WASD to stabilize you while shooting in the air.

SHAME ON ME: i did remove the 10 seconds part because there were only a couple hours left and it was too buggy to work fine, so, sorry about that :( <3


game by @alvivar, alvivar.tumblr.com
special thanks to @tzamora

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#108Innovation(Jam)3.44
#129Fun(Jam)3.34
#191Mood(Jam)3.18
#299Audio(Jam)2.80
#311Graphics(Jam)3.19
#322Overall(Jam)3.05
#385Humor(Jam)2.03
#604Theme(Jam)1.43

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59am

Dropbox 404 :(

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10am

:O

sorry about this! i didn't open dropbox to sync the files, my mistake. it should work now.

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17am

This was pretty great, but sadly there's no theme involved, like you said. Solid work, though. :)

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18am

Still 404ing

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:19am

Good game but needs more levels

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23am

@MarekkPie sorry for that, the uploads were still in progress. damn it dropbox. they work now!

LevelUpJordan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:24am

It feels pretty fun! While I was playing I was wondering where the 10 seconds bit was but then I read your post. Bouncing about is great, a few small things:
I'm not a PC gamer but with needing mouse, WASD and space all at once I felt like I needed 3 hands.
Also the shooting areas seem bit far away from eachother

If you could take a look at my game I'd really appreciate it, thanks!

Joror says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Fun and active! The infinite jump was and interesting way of maintaining height. Would have liked there to be more reason to 'land' on the evil black things.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35pm

interesting and fun, except for that music. ouch.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I remember seeing your posts during the development phase and wanting to give the game a try. I really enjoy how it turned out (although the music seems to be a bit much). Incredibly challenging, but definitely an entertaining play.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24pm

@Atmospherium thanks! ...yeah, the music loop was a fast choice during the last hours of the jam.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Really fun! I think you could make a bigger game with this idea.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02am

Interesting game.

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:03am

@ellipticaldoor yeah, thanks. i will.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53am

Awesome particle effects! I was having fun flying around blasting the things but really wish you could take more than one hit before dying.

aschearer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:11am

Not a huge fan of the movement setup.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:13am

Nice music. Art was pretty appealing also, good job!

fdevant says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:16am

Nice controls and idea overall.
Sad you didn't get to make the counter work.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Might have to try this one later, looks pretty sleek and smooth

apaneske says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:13pm

The infinite jump was really well done, and the explosion of the structures looked great.

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

thanks everyone for the feedback!

triplefox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

I can't really play this on my current laptops's trackpad, it acts up when i try to keyboard and mouse at the same time. :(

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:24am

Very cool game ! I liked it a lot!

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:42am

The infinite-double jump mechanic seems like a cool idea, but is unnecessary when you can just hold down RMB and constantly fly. Maybe remove fly altogether?
I really like the look of the character and it's trail :)

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:42am

I liked the infinite jump mechanic so much, I actually didn't realize the 'right click to fly' control existed, haha! I also liked that you had to fly to the different locations in order to defeat the enemy, and that, far away, it would already start to shoot at you. It had that B-Wing feel on the SNES, and felt pretty cool for me as a prelude to the battle with the black things. If it had sound effects and a way to make the flight from enemy to enemy interesting, then this would be gold for me! Oh, and I had to give you no marks for the theme, since you left it out. :( Still, great job! :D

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

Flying around is really fun, great job. Although it's sad how it just degrades to a "circle the enemy ship while shooting at it". But I don't know if it would be a good idea to make a bullet hell game out of this, with complicated bullet patterns you have to dodge.
And it would be cool if the blocks you shot at would get destroyed and stop shooting.

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

@klianc09 yeah, i totally agree. i did not have enough time to experiment with the enemies design or bullets patterns.

orunbot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Great game, super clean look, has that "shadow of the colossus" feel.

xel says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:51am

Solid work and fun to play! Loved the music too

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:58am

confusing game. i dont get how the 10 second theme fits in

Zathalos says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

I like the simplistic graphics and particle effects. I think if you added more enemy types and weapon types, it would be even better. Good job.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:41am

Good one, had fun playing. Found changing mouse position quickly for shooting and flying a bit difficult at first, but got used to it. And great gfx!
Could've used some theme implementation though.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Great and very addictive gameplay, couldve done without the music though

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

good job

Unept says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Same as my comment on kong: "LOVE this. Love the controls, the gameplay, the haunting emptiness. I agree that it is a bit difficult, but man, great job. Add a storyline and work on refining the gameplay and i would play the crap out of it." I had so much fun trying it out that I didn't realize there wasn't a clear tie in to the theme, but great idea anyway.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:00am

Very interesting concept. A little hard but I like it.

Pol says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I like the music a lot, even though it gets repetitive after a while.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:36pm

I like this game a lot.
The infinite double jump gives so much freedom and the feeling of flying around those missiles is just awesome.
The white background is maybe a bit eye-aggressive when ones play to much but it depends from people I guess.
I love the music, simple but highly efficient.
Ok I go back to play, I have to destroy this third citadel.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:55pm

This was freaking AWESOME. Very very smooth and nice movement, and good overall flow of the game (except for the lack of checkpoints, which made it too hard to complete for me).
It felt so good to fly around those "planets" and just bombard them. The graphics had a very clean and polished look to them, and I loved the way the planets turned to color when defeated.
In my book, not following the theme at all subtracts at least one star from every category though (giving you a 4 star rating in some of them ;). But you definitely have some design skill, I'll look forward to maybe seeing your next LD-game, hopefully WITH the theme this time :)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Okay, nevermind, I went back and completed it 8D

Few extra comments: as someone else noted, it very much centers around circling the "planet", but I'm sure you could have figured something else out with a little more experimenting.
Also, I think if you spent just a little more time polishing this, it could become something very special, even by non-LD-standards. It just *feels* so good.

alvivar says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:00am

i'll create a complete game from this.

thanks to everyone for the feedback. making this prototype was an awesome experience and part of this experience are all the good and bad comments.

<3

darkshadow says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Love the controls for this and all the whizzing bullets. perhaps at more of a reason to walk around normally I'm thinking black square block bullets or the turrets have a minimum range, so that if a player can weave between the bullets and land on the tower they have a safe few moments to blow up the nearest turret. The shape of the tower can be fixed so that the player has to fly out again (back into danger) to get to another turret.

It's got great potential to mix bullet hell with a platformer!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:13am

Really awesome game!! To bad you had to take out the 10 second theme. However the game is pretty, nicely done, fun to play... really good! I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

Codexus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Confusing at first then suddenly very hard. I think there was some potential but as it is it's really fulfilled.

Antidote says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Really nice entry :) Love the flying/infinite double jump mechanic, gets really fun to fly around/dodge/shoot those things. Was kinda lost at first, maybe a small message on the beginning telling you that you have to shoot down all the colored squares would help people figure out what they have to do faster ^^

Made a video while playing talking about what I was thinking
http://www.twitch.tv/danielsnd/c/2882617

I hit upload to youtube but apparently takes a long time for twitch to transfer it to youtube... So if you're reading this in the future and twitch has deleted the video, you can check:
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqqAeLLp33Ki1dRAPCiTEtg/videos

alvivar says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:55am

@Jupites_Hadley, @Antidote thanks for the let's play guys :D that's a first for me (achievement complete!)

Larzan says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Interesting idea, great design.

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Nice game.
Once I got a hang of the flying mechanic it became way easier and much more fun.

alvivar says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:21pm

:D

mortus says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:32am

Fun game, but hard too!

I think introduction of terminal velocity could be a very good idea for this game, because if you fall too far down it would be very long time until you can reach the top again. Auto-fire jumping by holding space would be a good feature too IMO.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]