August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Catch them all! (In ten seconds)

by Yaru - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yep, the graphics aren't good and it's a bit buggy... but it's better than nothing!
Touch all the enemies before the countdown reaches zero. The position of the enemies and the character changes randomly when you enter in a level.
WASD to move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#328Theme3.39
#609Fun2.86
#742Humor1.95
#753Audio2.16
#781Mood2.45
#814Overall2.79
#979Graphics2.14
#1109Innovation2.04

Comments

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

I really like how you put the timer in the background and made it blurry. It doesn't get in the way of your focus on your character while at the same time giving me the feeling of impending doom!

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43am

it is cool game but you need to put sound and better graphics
btw what are those thing you need to kill ?

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:51am

I saw this posted on twitter sometime during the competition. glad to see it live and running! I also like the timer in the background and wish i did that to my game! ... very smart also the audio is not bad, just one of the sound files makes my headphones clip a bit.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55am

Fun and challenging. The sound and particle effect when you catch one of the guys is really satisfying.

Yaru says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55am

"btw what are those thing you need to kill ?"
Interactive enemies, they can be what you want! Maybe they are evil aliens from a dimension where everything is a black rectangle, or harmless creatures and you're the evil thing. All is in your imagination!
(...yes, I need to learn how to draw. Urgently)
Also, a lot of thanks to everybody who is playing! :D

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02am

That was fun, good placement of the timer.

The only bug I saw was in 1 level where a handful of enemies powered off the screen.

This is cool

Pebsie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52am

So simple. SO FUN.
I literally couldn't stop playing for 10 minutes straight.
Nice work! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17am

I got em all ;) Nice game ! It was fun to catch those "things" ;)

Zekyon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:19am

The game was a fun challenge, but it have a few bugs, one of these is that the enemies respawn (or moves really fast) on different areas of the level while you play, I don't know if it is deliberate or not, but it makes the game be almost impossible.
But well, leaving the bugs to the side, is a good game for kill time, hard and quick to play :).

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Hooray, I won!
It's cool how you basically inverted the usual premise of avoiding all the enemies. Also the balancing seemed pretty fair - despite the bugs (I once spawned in a wall and the enemy bahaviour was partly a little strange) and randomness of it all. After a few tries I kept collecting them all just in time. Well done!

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Nice short little game! Implemented the theme well, not very innovative though, and a shame that it's just for windows. Overall pretty good, well done!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Nice game concept. The timer as background is a cool idea. I must say that as the positions of you and the enemies are random the difficulty of the levels are also random (though they tend to be practically unbeatable.) Perhaps less enemies? Or a less random placement?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]