August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Self Destruct

by gritfish - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get out. You've got 10 seconds before the blast doors close.

Z to run
X to jump

I guess my aim this time round was to make a game that had a really fast reset time if you failed, similar to Super Meat Boy, so that a tricky 10 second time limit per level wouldn't be quite so punishing.

The game shouldn't take more than a couple of minutes to complete, and it's definitely doable in under 60 seconds.

(no sound)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#328Theme3.39
#480Graphics3.00
#666Fun2.79
#683Humor2.03
#800Mood2.43
#814Overall2.79
#923Audio1.50
#1051Innovation2.19

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:37pm

don't fully like the jump but it is nice

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

The wall jumping feature slowed me down a bit, but it's manageable. Nice work!

Big Dave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32am

Like others have said the controls were a bit iffy but that just took a bit of getting used to. Once I had it down I really enjoyed playing and made it all the way through in a couple of minutes.

Obviously rounding the game out with some sound would have put it over the top but I like what you accomplished in the time you had.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12am

Nice one! I like the art-style and the multi-threaded level-design. Reminds me of Sonic :)

Octopuns says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Nice work. Smooth movement but can get annoying getting stuck to walls.

Holofire says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Great game. I love the way it puts you back on the same level that you died on and not restarting the whole thing. Art is great. Controls could do with improving. Great Job!

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:13pm

I like it. One of my personal faves so far.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

I like the art :). Nice work :).

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10am

Pretty good! Shame about the lack of sound/music, and the controls could be much more tighter. Did I discover a bug/secret btw? At some point I walked back through the entrance and it took me to what I assume was the next stage? I couldn't reproduce it after that. Great job!

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Nice look and good use of the theme. Controls were very floaty, and the wall slide was a bit sticky (as in, too easy to get stuck to a wall)

Magdev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:18am

Cool, putting timer monitors everywhere instead of an on-screen counter was a nice touch.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:29am

Interesting game, though the movements felt really floating, which made it seem like I had a lot less control, which is important in a timed race of sorts. The game looked nice and the concept was nice and simple though, followed the theme well.

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:26am

The controls aren't really smooth...
It takes too long to go from a direction to the other.
The wall jump is really trick. It throws the player far away (or the levels are too narrow).
Also, try making the running animation a littler faster. It's too much like walking, by now.
And lastly, jump is to floaty... gravity should be stronger...

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:40am

The jump is quite frustrating indeed, but nice game overall.

domrein says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:54am

The jump felt a little floaty and it took a second to figure out how the wall jump worked, but I liked it. I think some audio and visual cues to add to the urgency would have done a lot for the game. Good job over all though!

mamoniem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:55am

i keep stucking with walls. Is there sound ?!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:51am

very pretty and atmospheric. The game dynamic. Graphics interesting and original.

jglrxavpok says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:26am

The controls are a bit difficult to use but still a nice game!
Good job!

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:30am

Nice work, though the wall jump is a little frustrating.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:38am

Nice game so far, it is missing out on those vitals sounds which would round the game off really well and make me feel more into the game.

Check out sfxr if you haven't heard of it yet. It's really handy for game jams.

As it is, it's pretty nice, with a decent difficulty curve and solid level design

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I like how you restart immediately when you fail. I also really like your background.

Misfit says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Nice work. Wall jumping could be easier I think.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:40pm

The difficulty of the levels escalate pretty fast! Other than that the controls are sweet and I can pretty much say I had fun, so thanks!

koverted says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Other than the wall jumping it's good. Liked the fact there were multiple exits.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Not overly keen on the jump and wall jump, but thought the graphics looked nice and the levels felt fairly balanced. Nice work here :)

Taiters says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Cool game, took me a while to get the hang of the wall jump, but after that it was fine.

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Controls are a bit weird but I liked the multiple routes you can take.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Like others have said, the jumping could definitely use some tine tuning. Otherwise, a nice little platformer.

flarb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Why would I ever not want to run? After all--I've got TEN SECONDS TO SELF DESTRUCT!!! :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Is it awkward that the hardest level is closer to the beginning? xD

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

I really liked this game! It was fun to play, though I felt like sometimes it was only luck that I go to the end of the game. I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

Cool, great visuals!

gritfish says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

It's pretty clear the jumping mechanic is pretty buggy, and too hard to get the hang of. What's super nice though is that the things that I've never attempted before (character animations, super-fast reset, and the animated background objects) seem to be the things people like about this.

The bug holofire found is most likely due to the way I detected a win - if the player leaves the rectangle that contains the level, they win - so if you leave by the way you entered, you also win. In rushing to get the game done I may have forgotten to close a few entry holes.. :S

Thanks for playing, everyone!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Liked the monitors to tell you the countdown. I think I would have enjoyed it more without the wall jumps? I was pretty bad at them and it led to me failing a lot. Solid entry for 48hrs. Good job!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I love the graphics, but the gameplay doesn't feel good - jumping feels weird. I like how you display the seconds left every now and then on some displays instead of adding a UI :)

myachin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Jumping is hard for me..) Nice game.

Mizzinx says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:54am

Like others, I found the wall jumping kinda awkward and difficult to get used to.

I also felt like the urgency of the "10 second" aspect clashed with your level design; some levels had really tricky tight spaces which, whilst upping the challenge of the game in a good way, ended up making the experience feel more frustrating and less smooth than it could have been.
Of course, that could just be because I suck at these games.

Other than those few points, it felt like a solid game. Nicely done.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:47pm

The mechanics, and especially the running (which felt pretty great actually) could have worked if you had designed the levels differently, I think. Less maze-design, more distance and dodging perhaps. And since the wall-jump doesn't work very well, you should have maybe scrapped it completely - in favor of a double-juimp perhaps?

Nice sprite and game over animations!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:49pm

The mechanics, and especially the running (which felt pretty great actually) could have worked if you had designed the levels differently, I think. Less maze-design, more distance and dodging perhaps. And since the wall-jump doesn't work very well, you should have maybe scrapped it completely - in favor of a double-juimp perhaps?

Nice sprite and game over animations! And you did get the quick restart right!

Pixzule says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:18am

For my YouTube series, I decided to cover this game. Thought maybe the dev might be interested and in the case he isn't then maybe another one of you sorry sa-- I mean wonderful people might?

http://youtu.be/IazgDydS6bI

Boneloaf says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Frantic game, liked screen transitions.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]