August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Stolen Seconds

by Jogy34 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Post-Compo version is the same thing but it has the character's movement fixed

The planet of Deith has gotten 10 seconds physically stolen from it. You are just a space traveled that saved the planet from having more than 10 seconds drained from it's time line but now you have to go through the solar system to retrieve the 10 seconds that were scattered across the planets.

Controlls:
W - Jump
A - Move Left
D - Move Right
Esc - go back to the world select screen

Each world has 6 levels in it however not all of them necessarally contain any of the stolen time. To get the time you have to touch the time alter that is at the end of the level. All of the levels are randomly generated with a structure based terrain generator. To go into a planet you simply click on it and you are then taken into the planet's map which has the 6 different regions. You click on the one that you want to go to. If you haven't completed the region it will highlight when you mouse over it.

Sorry for not having any sounds. I am using a different (and a lot worse) laptop than I have been using. This one using ubuntu and is a lot slower. When I was trying to add in sounds less than an hour before the end of the compotetion, I wasn't able to get it to work.

I used my own game engin/framework that I had released to the public (with a post on LD) beforehand which you can find here: https://bitbucket.org/Jogy34/xerngameengine/src

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#848Humor1.75
#988Audio1.20
#1047Theme2.47
#1058Mood1.73
#1145Innovation1.90
#1155Graphics1.67
#1166Overall2.00
#1170Fun1.74

Comments

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34am

I got stuck in the bottom of the terrain on the first level :(

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

The player moves extremely fast on my computer and the player was stuck in the terrain as well.

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Movement is a bit wonky. I like the Tardis-like character. Good job on using your own framework.

Jogy34 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25pm

I don't know about the getting stuck in the terrain problems but that is probably be because I'm handling the level sides in a strange way that doesn't work all that well but it was low on my priority scale to fix.

The player moving extremely fast is due to my computer running deafeningly slow, so the player moved really slow and I never actually got a chance to test it out on a computer that runs at normal speeds.

I felt like making a doctor who reference and I'm terrible at creating character art/animation.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:04am

I had the same problem as everyone else - the player moves far too fast. Congrats on implementing random levels though!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:00am

Sounds like a great game concept. I like the idea of dividing the levels into planets/regions. But I have the same problem with the too fast player.

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

good concept - the controls are odd but you'll get there.

epaik says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:56am

I have the same problem with the player moving too fast.

I actually had this same issue when I created my first game in Java. I recommend using the Timer class to run your main game loop to fix the issue.

Jogy34 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

The problem with the player moving too fast came from that I was using my backup laptop, because my good one broke, which is extremely slow so I couldn't actually adjust the speed of the player very well as the speed that goes extremely fast on your computer still went incredibly slowly on mine. My new laptop just came in so I was able to fix that and put it up as the post-compo version. I am planning on using a time system for entity movement in the future where it would be a ratio between their speed dictates how far they should move during a certain time interval which would be calculated every tick instead of my current system of making them move a certain number of pixels every tick.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:22am

Am I playing a tardis? :D

loxo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:15am

I like the concept very much! No time pressure is good :) Apart from the fast moving character, there seem to be problems with the collision detection. I would like to see more variety for the levels, they look too similar at the moment.

tryzor says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Interesting game, but the collision detection seems a bit buggy. You should change the color of the text. Yellow on a white background is hard to read.

Katamori says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Wooooow that control is freakin' fast!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I find the platforming to be quite difficult, though I like being able to select which planets and levels to play!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]