August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fastboy

by Misfit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fastboy is a retro game for unexpanded Commodore VIC-20 (3583 bytes free).

You have 10 seconds, and you need to collect at least one diamond before the next level.

Read more : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commodore_VIC-20

Tested : VICE 2.2 and real VIC-20 (PAL)

Download VICE emulator : http://www.viceteam.org/

UPDATED: Few tips..
If you use VICE, xvic.exe is a VIC-20 emulator. Configure joystick and open my D64 disc image.
LOAD"*",8,1 command loads a program if emulator does not run it automatically.
RUN command starts the game (if emulator does not start it automatically)
First you see start screen. Push joystick fire button (or space)
wait.. it loads...
Push joystick fire button to start the game.
Thanks!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#36Overall3.92
#101Mood3.52
#127Audio3.38
#152Humor3.19
#201Theme3.56
#205Graphics3.55
#207Innovation3.50
#271Fun3.29

Comments

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

I really want to play this but I can't :(

PoV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

You rock!

BleuLlama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05am

This is so freaking awesome. Well worth the time to download VICE and get that running. It feels like a classic Vic game. Megacheers! :D

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Whoooa nice challenge to do a game on commodore ! You have my votes :D

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Didn't play it but it looks awesome and extra kudos for making something for an old commodore

Jools64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Took a little time to setup but it was worth it.
This is incredibly cool, very nice fitting graphics and classic sounds. It was a little too simple on the game-play front but considering the platform, hugely impressive.

andreyin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I tried downloading Vice 2.2 and I went to "File -> Autostart Disk/Tape image" and picked ld27.d64 but after the "run" command it says ready.. am I doing something wrong? I'm sorry, I've never played anything on C64 before.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23pm

I didn't managed to play it. I downloaded Vice (2.4) then ran `xvic vic20_fastboy_ld27.zip' (I'm using ArchLinux, in case it matters).
I can see the first screen and hear the music. When I press space, the text "loading" is displayed, and then is replaced by "press fire" after a few seconds, but then nothing happens if I press space again (or any other key).

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Oh my god! I am to old to get my hands on the VIC-20. The C=64 was already affordable when I was young, and all of my friends had one, so I have never seen the VIC-20 computer in action.
Thank you for creating this game. It is a quality like one of my first games on the C=64. But I think this game is more about the retro feeling.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32pm

I got a tip of changing the joystick controls in the settings menu and it worked.

Misfit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Few tips.. VICE has several emulators and vic-emulator is xvic.exe. Do not open C64 emulator. (See last screenshot which has VIC screen). And game needs joystick. Remember configure joystick buttons.

..and remember VIC was a "father" of C64. It has only 3.5k RAM memory for games and no real bitmap graphics. :D

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

@Misfit: Thanks, it worked.
Nice little game :-)

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Awesome

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Very cool of you to do that. The game itself is neither here nor there, but good job.

Load "*" ,8,1

Loading
Ready.
Run

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Can't get it going on my computer, it has an integrated num pad which is a real hassle. Props for making a game on the Commodore though!

superfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:24am

I played with your game, and you deserve 5 stars.

madk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Awesome! The game is cool and that it's for the Commodore just makes it that much cooler.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Gots to get a VIC-20!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Haha this has some serious style!

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:34am

Amazing work! Kicking it old school :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:08pm

You made an awesome game for a VIC-20!
Scrolling background is a real gem.
Next time code a game in ASM: it's more oldschool! ;)

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Nice! Maybe next time I should go for C64 ;)

Download VICE, start xvic and drag the .d64 image onto it. Configure a joystick (Numpad and RCtrl is fine).

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:01am

This looks like fun. I can run your game through vice 2.3 on Linux, the music plays and pressing fire start Loading. Pressing fire the second time does nothing, sadly. There are no error messages in output. Yes I am using xvic with 2583 bytes free :] Anyone has a tip I can follow to get playing?

Misfit says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:34am

Hi kbmonkey!
I tested it with vice 2.4 (OSX) and 2.2 and real VIC and it works ok. Remember that fire button is joystick fire button (no space). Check your joystick configuration. (space starts loading when music plays but it need joystick button before game)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Bold platform-choice!

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Oh boy, this is just very cool. This inspires me to make a game for a TI calculator for some reason.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:55am

NO FREAKING WAY.

Took me a minute to figure out VICE's key mapping.
(Settings -> Joystick -> Select Keyset A -> make sure to map keyset a to arrow keys or something. The middle spot maps to the joystick button)

Difficulty ramps up quickly. Load times on this mac book pro are pretty quick tho.

/Tip of the hat

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:21am

This game is awesome, you managed to make a vic game and make it awesome. It really feels like a vic game, it feels like a classic old game really well made.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:20am

A commodore-game? AMazing

udo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Okay, I got the VC20 emulator running inside a VirtualBox Windows instance now, but I got no joystick. Is there any way you could just add keybindings?

Misfit says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:59am

@udo
Windows VICE version : Settings -> Joystick settings...
opens a window which provides joystick key configuration

Entity2D says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Awesome VIC-20 game!

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:18am

This is insane! I couldn't get it working (booo) but it's a killer idea.

myachin says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:24am

RESPECT!!!

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Hell yes!
This game is awesome. Hats off to you, man!

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:35am

Man, and I thought I was retro growing up with a '64. VIC-20, that's pretty hardcore :p. Awesome stuff, really enjoyed it, and an impressive piece of work for 48 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]