August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Urf Defender

by Verrazano - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aliens have begun invading Urf. The governments of Urf have tasked you with defending her. However the deadline for building the ship is 10 seconds from now! So you and your team of crack engineers, open up some crates in the back of the factory and slap together a space ship.

--

Pilot your ship by using the w,a,s,d keys. Aim using the mouse and fire your lazers by clicking! Have fun.

--

Online scoreboard coming as part of the post-mortem edition. For now just post your high score in your comment. ;)

--

Linux port should be up in the next 24 hours or so.

--

P.S. the cannons in game fire potatoes :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Audio3.48
#172Fun3.46
#219Humor2.96
#257Innovation3.40
#318Overall3.31
#356Graphics3.24
#544Mood2.74
#677Theme3.04
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

Amazing game! I had a blast! The heavy metal guitar going into the shooting part was a very sweet touch! Made me feel like I was going to destroy something :) I think gameplay-wise you accomplished alot in a short time!

agumaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

the music is amazing, and the hand made graphics are cool. Really like the fact of customize the wave, and shooting enemies is really fun. But, poor theme representation. Nice game

Filth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14am

Very cool idea. Reminds me of a board game called Galaxy Trucker. The controls were not immediately obvious to me and could have been included in the help section.

Verrazano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

Yea actually some of the idea was based on Galaxy Trucker. I play that game a lot, it's very fun.

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06am

I loved the elevator music that switches to grungy guitar, a good mix.

Fun game in which I seemed to build the most retarded ships.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Very cool audio, rated highly. :)

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Awesome!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Really liked that ship building portion.

joelrobichaud says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:39am

I really like the 10 seconds ship building mecanic! My first few ships were really horrible and it was damn fun playing them.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:38pm

HA! Urf was doomed the first time I played. My ship was so out of balance, I couldn't even kill one enemy.

But I get better and better. The soundtrack was so awesome. Country metal shredding after some jazzy muzak! Ha!

Top marks for fun!!

otresnjak says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nice! Love the hand-drawn look.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:33pm

REally great graphics, great game overall! I featured it in my Ludum dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp9ky-3J3J4

X-0r says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice graphics. The hand-drawn style looks great!
I also like the implementation of the theme. Better to have 10 secs to build the ship and fight infinite waves of baddies than having time forever, and only 10 secs to actually *use* the ship.

Btw, too bad that the sun won't actually burn the ship or recharge energy or something ^^

whiteravens says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:48am

Pretty fun to play. Still lots of good room for growth in future iterations :)

And next time, please make your game closeable anytime. I don't know why the X button of the window was removed there.

Verrazano says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:19am

It's because I have had trouble with that in the past, it is closeable at anytime by pressing escape.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]