August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

multiplayer mini games

by jplur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Compete in mini 'games' with your fellow ludum darers.

Server should be up ;)

Post Compo changes:

Bugfixes to keep simulation server running.
A ping button so you can see your latency.
Chat input defocuses after you hit return.

SERVER IS UP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Innovation3.40
#418Overall3.19
#451Fun3.05
#613Audio2.44
#674Theme3.05
#975Graphics2.15
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

Jicken says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

I don't see a link..

jplur says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32am

Wierd, it's not showing the web link, maybe because there is a port number?

http://app.finalpage.io:8075/

Norgg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Awesome! Played this last night just after voting, was a bit confused by the score tracking, but loved the games. The volleyball was great.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:24pm

This looks really entertaining! Pity I was alone.

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Server is up, but I don't see the game itself after the connect screen.

jplur says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Yeah sorry, trying to get it to be stable. The server is staying up now, but if box2D crashes it's messed until I can ssh in and restart the server.

I should probably just let it crash and use node forever to reboot it from the static html server.

Anyway, I added a link to the logs so you can see if it's up or not, and will keep tinkering ;)

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:37am

super fun, very simple, how do you win?!

jplur says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:40am

No goal, just to play around. Also, good news: I'm pretty sure the server is stable, it might crash but it will be back up in seconds.

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

amazing game and very fun :)

blay09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

Playing live with other Ludum Darers? Well, that's pretty awesome. I had quite some fun with my new friends anon and anon :)
The volleyball game is the best. Very nice entry!

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Multiplay minigames are fun

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Well I had a lot of fun, mainly because I wasn't alone I guess :D. (ps : I was O.o)

proc says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Shame I played this alone as I can see it being very good fun in multiplayer. The handling or the player rectangle doesn't feel quite right and the even alone the experience felt laggy. However it has box2d, a good range of mini games for the weekends work, chat, it's certainly feature rich.

siat says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:47am

Fun game! It would be nice to have a chance to recover from falls, a lot of the platforms were too high to get back up on.

Zap says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:00am

I found the controls frustratingly slippery so that by time I managed to move where I wanted to the round was over.
Online multiplayer minigames is a very cool concept- but unfortunately I was by myself so didn't get to experience this as intended.

Keith Evans says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:44pm

link doesn't seem to be working right now.

jplur says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Link is definitely working.

canvapps says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:11am

We have also made a multiplayer game, and we definitively know it's hard to manage. So I really consider it a great feature of this game.
Lovely! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]