August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Weapon Cooldown

by Oana - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Weapon Cooldown is a bullet hell game where your weapons overheat every 10 seconds, and therefore you begin shooting a new weapon every time!

The current version contains one level consisting of several waves and a boss fight.

Use the mouse or a joystick to move. Press ESC or P to pause/release cursor.

Please give me your thoughts about the game. Any feedback is greatly appreciated! :)

Note: source requires 2D Toolkit to compile. Everything else should be in there.

Video: http://youtu.be/tsatV12oyKA

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#529Theme3.21
#751Graphics2.58
#812Fun2.63
#906Overall2.68
#917Mood2.22
#965Humor1.38
#998Audio1.00
#1027Innovation2.23

Comments

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31am

Those normal enemies really remind me of the Scarlet Witch's headgear. And hey, you made an actual game and that's better than I did. Good work.

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:16am

Thanks. I actually had never seen the Scarlet Witch, but googling it, you are right! Heh.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Good, just needs this : https://github.com/zeh/usfxr

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Oh god, so good.

One of the most fun games I've played. I like your 10 seconds time implementation. The only bad thing is at first it's a bit boring and slow (but gets much better later!).

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

@unitycoder: Thanks! I'll give it a try.

@autlos: Thank you. Yeah, it does start very slow... I should have added more enemy variety and making it overall more bullet helly.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

I like the concept (reminds me a bit of super crate box) but I wish there was more bullet pattern or maybe even different kind of weapons.. Also the waves are pretty boring. The boss was fun though.

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Was ok! Couldn't get past first boss - I became immune to laser damage and he didn't seem to go down either :(

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

My game is almost like it. Great minds think alike. :)
I did not get time to add a boss so it is an endless shooter.

Beerman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Looks good and plays pretty well. It badly needs some sound effects and some sense that your shots are having an effect on the enemy though. The 10 second weapon switch was a pretty cool idea.

Oana says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Thanks for the feedback, particularly about what features are lacking (so I can add them later). Keep it coming :)

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:50am

i love not having to do anything but shoot constantly in games, that said.. you should have made more stuff EXPLODE when it died

blay09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:56am

I liked the 10 second weapon switch, but overall the game seems a bit short and monotonous. I would have liked more variation with the enemies, pickups (health boost, damage boost, ..) and a moving background (it didn't have that cool "flying through space"-feeling).

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:05pm

I've seen some other games where they add more enemies after 10 seconds but it wasn't a bad shoot 'em up game.

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Starts off a bit slow (over 10s before first enemy) and could use some more enemy variety but well done on finishing a game! Also I noticed that I became invincible after I died the first time and didn't take any damage when colliding with enemies throughout.

tigerj says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Pretty fun shooter. good work.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:20pm

I like it! Sound would have helped having a better feedback. Use sfxr next time! :)
Nice implementation of the theme too!

Mekuri says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Nice game. I liked the graphics style. Sounds could definitely improve the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]