August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

This Game Will Self Destruct in 10 Seconds

by ChronusZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Okay, I deemed the fact that you need to click in the game while the timer is ticking down as game breaking (It's hard to click and move within two seconds to avoid death). The game will now be a black screen until you click on it. I'd like to add a little graphic that tells you to click in the window to start, but I think that would be a little bit overstepping my bounds :)

This is an extremely faced-paced platform/action game. The game also crashes every 10 seconds, saving your data for when you refresh the page. Also, if you ever stop moving, you get sent up to the sky in a beam of light.

Controls:
AD - move;
Space - jump;
J - punch;
Shift - climb (Only works on fluff).

Yes, it is very difficult, and yes, it is possible. If you're having trouble, realize that punching is delayed by 6 frames (1/5th of a second). If you press J right before the enemy starts running at you, you will probably hit him. Even so, the timing is insanely difficult. I've played about 100 fights and I'm now good enough to win about half of them.

Press R to restart the level and T to restart the whole game.
Other controls are described in-game.

I meant to add a menu screen but forgot and ran out of time.

Also, there seems to be a bug that sometimes happens but sometimes doesn't. Occasionally when you go to the next level your co-ordinates won't pass over from the previous level, so the screen will be all black or you'll be inside a wall and can't see or something. If this happens, just press R to reload the level and you'll be all good.

//-------------------Dev Log-------------------

This having been my first game made in Flash, I feel pretty good about what I was able to do. Even though my stress was a bit out of whack and I lost enough sleep (Some out of staying up working, some out of just not being able to sleep because my mind wouldn't stop thinking about what I would add next or how to fix bugs I had gone to sleep whilst existing) to the point where my computer screen looked like one of those images that become 3D if you look at them wall-eyed, I enjoyed myself immensely. I can typically make a game of this scale in about a week (Mind, with a bit more polish), and I'm quite proud having done so well to finish it in the 48 hours.

I built everything about the game around the idea that if you can only play for 10 seconds at a time, the game should feel very fast. From the start I made the movement super fast, the combat super fast, the music super fast, and the animation super fast. Then when I got to the level with the fluff, I wanted to make it so that you had to time things very carefully so that the 10 second time limit became important. I didn't want the level to be super tall, though, so I had to opt to make the climbing very slow. I don't think it fit very well, but it does add another layer of intensity in a way, like standing in the elevator during Silent Hill.

Something I neglected to think of whilst making this was that flash doesn't accept user input until you click on it, so that makes playing the game on the web-player slightly more trying.

I'm very proud of my design of the music. I was having a lot of struggle early on getting music that would fit with the gameplay. I had decided to use a crazy high tempo, but originally I was going to do something 8-bit. Everything I composed sounded abysmal. I don't remember when the idea of rapid percussion came about, but I took inspiration from the sort of Mongolian-esque war drumroll and added to that. The whole song took me only about 20 minutes to make, compared to the hour and a half I spent trying to do other music. The song that plays when you float upwards was pretty much just random triads of major thirds with a Dracula inspired fall at the end.

The graphics I'm sort of half-and-half on. I really like the character design I came up with and I think the tilemap came about quite well (especially the tiles on the final level I'm proud of). The backgrounds are a little bit lame, but you only see them in the first level. The animation is what I really didn't like, but I've never been good at animating. I also realize looking back that I forgot to do a climb animation, which makes me twitch slightly. I would've liked for the shadows to be of higher quality, but there wasn't much I could do without causing crazy lag. I added an option to scale the ray-tracing quality with the flash player quality (it defaults to low), so it looks quite good on high, but it's very laggy.

Sound effects were rushed. I recorded it all with a medium quality microphone, and the walking sound effect sounds pretty bad in my opinion. I love the punch sound, though. I super-imposed a bunch of recordings of my cracking my joints and added one sound of me punching a wooden chair, and it sounds like you snap their neck with every punch. That turned out better than I could've hoped.

All in all, I made something I'm fairly proud of, and that's all that matters in the end, right?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#473Humor2.39
#618Graphics2.78
#622Audio2.43
#695Theme3.02
#830Innovation2.60
#896Mood2.26
#1079Overall2.41
#1092Fun2.08

Comments

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

Wouldn't open for me, Console gives a "failed to load resource" error.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57am

Do you run an adblocker? The game doesn't play any ads, but I've heard that adblockers can cause that problem with certain flash games. Try running the game in another browser or with extensions disabled.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Wow that's difficult!!! Really unique idea though haha I'm not a fan of difficult games but this is really cool :D

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Gives a blank page for me. :/

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27pm

I just get a blank page too. When I right click it says "Movie not loaded..."

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Just a blank page for me, using Chrome

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Cool game. Everything worked good on Opera 12.16.

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

So frenetic and difficult. Good game!

I don't like that shadows at the begining.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

The game wouldn't load for me in Chrome. :(

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I only get beamed up, the guy starts of standing for a second or so. "Other controls are described in-game. ", cant really see that and aswd or arrows are not working=/

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Sadly i just see a white page and nothing happens :( I turned off ad-blocker too. I have Comodo Dragon Version 26.0.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:07am

Had to play several times until I figured out that I should click inside the window to allow the controls to work. Maybe a simple workaround is to have a title screen asking the player to press something to start playing?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:11am

Okay, with the update i finally managed to play the game :) My overall impression: It's so freaking hard!! :D

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:30am

There is a lot of good tech in here :)
It frozen inside the first room...I would like to play more

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57pm

If I made this game now, I would've had the game paused until the player clicks in the window. When making this, though, I forgot that that's something Flash does, so I didn't think to add something like that :(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Don't work in chrome (osx)

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

It should work in Chrome regardless of OS. Do you get an error, or just a white screen, or what? Do you have Flash Player installed?

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Nice idea. But after a while refreshing gets a little bit annoying. ;)

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20pm

The fact that the game "crashes" is a little frustrating, but it is an interesting idea.

Spotline says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

This game is soooooooo frustrating @_@ Nice concept and levels though :)

fferro234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Interesting idea. Very tough though.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

The game start is problematic, since you have to click on the content area AND THEN start to play the game immediately with the keyboard. I think you should either insert a longer delay there (or a "play!" button), or maybe make HTML page focus on the flash element automatically (should be possible with JavaScript). If you could find a way to fix this, the game will be awesome!

On the whole, I liked the idea and also most of the execution. The sound effects are good and the music conveys the urgency pretty well. I like how the browser's reload button was incorporated into the game play. Good job! :)

berkano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Without a doubt one of the most creative and frantic LD entries I've ever played - a real challenge - will keep coming back to this one! Nice work! The crash/state saving mechanic is wicked.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Is auto-focusing on the element a thing you can do? I'll look into that (Changes concerning the webpage but not touching the gameplay are acceptable, right?)

Catmoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Although it seemed to crash very frequently I did enjoy what I managed to play of the game. Punching those enemies is pretty hard!

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:46am

Nice dynamic shadows!

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:19am

such a cool concept! would have loved for the game to automatically gain focus on each refresh. I bet your site is getting a lot of hits :D

Jod says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Liked this one. Good music and sounds. And yes, it is incredibly hard. The second dude is an ass! He likes to punch me out of the castle-thing so he and his buddy can gang up on me :).

Ken Ichi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:38pm

That's Pretty hard ;p~

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

This was pretty fun! Difficult, but fun.

dudsen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Hard Stuff, punched myself through a wall into a pit :D

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:19pm

good job

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Cool concept. The tempo of the music instills the need to rush. very well done!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:50pm

I really like the 10 seconds crashing (probably wouldn't if I played a long time), but the insta-murder guys ruin it for me.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:40pm

They aren't insta-murder, you can kill them. It's just like Hotline Miami, the combat is exceedingly quick but you can still win fights.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:09am

I have no idea what's going on! :P
Has quite a few bugs, but would've been better with a simple start/restart screen.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:06am

XD you're not kidding about the self destructing part!

zlowrance says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Good job ;D

GFM says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:45pm

The sfx when hitting/being hit was just awesome! xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]