August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Prism

by LiamJPeters - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Prism is an infinite "Runner" game. Survive as long as you can, collecting coloured balls to increase your time, white balls to increase points. Use your mouse (or finger on android) to move the array of lights up and down.

This is my first LD completion. I have entered others, but have always been a bit too ambitious and either given up or run out of time. I aimed for simple and complete!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#202Overall3.46
#204Innovation3.51
#242Audio3.11
#288Graphics3.35
#290Fun3.27
#528Mood2.76
#566Theme3.17
#693Humor2.00

Comments

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Wow, I really liked the colour matching, which I felt was pretty intuitive.
It was definitely simple and complete :)

Octopuns says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:14pm

This is nice. Love the colour scheme and the idea. Intuitive and interesting. Would work nicely as an endless runner without a timelimit (maybe obstacles).

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Hi, yeah I thought of having it start with you as just White light and then there be prisms (name makes sense now) that split you into different colours and join you back up. But again, I was really going for finishing ;-P.
Future idea though!

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Nice, a complete and finished game, fun too play, although it becomes a bit repetitive fast.
But well done, like it!
Good thing that you went for finishing the game, i got too ambitious and so mine is still too rough...

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Nice and simple game. Good entry

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Really hard game but cool idea, and perfectly executed.

Xera says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Really great game, I have to say. Little complaint about the color balls, they are too washed out to quickly recognise their color. Otherwise, great Entry!

Vectorious says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Great game! Very difficult yet intuitive. My high score was 91! :)

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Original idea!

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Nice splashscreen intro :) Found it a bit hard to control and react fast enough at first, but it got better with time. The game seems to crash a few seconds after you press Restart.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:42am

Fun runner concept. Good graphics.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:44am

Great and challenging little game. I like it! :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29am

Wow, impressive work! I had trouble differentiating yellow/orange orbs, and the game was reaaaaaally fast for my tired self :D Does feel very polished though, from the intro to the gameplay itself. Very well done, would love to see this expanded into a full(er) fledged game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:23am

You also made a build for Android? Cool!

kratorspore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Really nice mechanic! Fun to play with simple but attractive graphics. Great stuff.

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Very nice minimal graphic style, good idea, too! Good job! :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Oh wow, this is really good! Hardcore, but fun! I think it would feel great on mobile.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Nice, clean look and I like the soundtrack. :)

ezolotko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Really self explanatory, great idea. Only it seems to me that the theme is constraining the game - I would like to play this as an endless game. Looking forward to smartphone release!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:56am

Nice idea. Gameplay is maybe too fast (but what did I expected from speed of light in vacuum?... :-). Game also crash after restart without any stack trace or exception.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

This was pretty fun, and shout out to a fellow libGDX developer!

It might have been easier if you used a grid approach where each color takes up a row and you can move them by rows instead of free-form like it is now. That also would have probably been easier to program!

But I liked this a lot, so great job.

Sheep says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:08am

That's a really cool concept. But damn this game is hard. Really fun though, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]