August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

COORDINATE!

by CMaster - Jam Entry

Created by myself and Tulse Luper, right to the wire.

Will explain more when not dog-tired.

Instructions copy and pasted below:


You have the ability to control a group of characters, one at a time, for a period of 10 seconds.
The same 10 seconds.
After running one character through the 10 seconds, you can then select another.
The objectives for each level are given on the left hand side of the screen.
Arrows/pad/WASD for movement (minimum movement one tile)
Fire 1/Ctrl to Interact with a button or similar, or to pick up/put down an item (you cannot use bottons while holding an item)
Fire 2/Alt to use the held item - eg, to swing an axe or use a fire extinguisher.
Mouse to select which character to use - selectable characters will be highlighted in green.

Apologies for any lack of clarity. Lack of sleep is begginning to tell.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#115Theme(Jam)3.48
#152Innovation(Jam)3.30
#341Overall(Jam)3.00
#370Fun(Jam)2.72
#431Humor(Jam)1.82
#520Mood(Jam)2.13
#575Graphics(Jam)2.03

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:04am

Awesome game mine is sort of similar in the fact that you play a bunch of people at least once. You should check it out.

jackw899 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14am

At first I couldn't work out what I was supposed to be doing, and even once I did I thought the game was very difficult! I didn't manage to complete any levels. I think it's just not my kind of game because I don't have the patience! Maybe with a tutorial level I'd be able to get the hang of it.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:34am

I like the concept ! Control more than one people mixed with the 10 seconds theme, good idea !

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:37pm

I didn't get it first either, but this is amazing :) Good idea!

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Good game.
Controls are a bit "wonky" - e.g. characters walking too far sometimes.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:42am

takes a while to get it but it is fun

Spotline says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

Awesome concept ! I love that :D

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

:D fun

Zerot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Nice idea, but very hard.

Mizzinx says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Very cool concept, and decent execution. There were definitely some rough edges, but I can definitely see this concept being at the core of a full fledged puzzle game.

CMaster says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

About all the difficulty comments:
We know, and knew when we uploaded it. A tutorial and some easier (and more varied) levels are definitely candidates for a post-compo version.

About controls and inconsistencies - Yeah, the controls could be better. A slower pace would help with that - in part its to do with the player not knowing when to let go of the key.

I'm really pleased to see lots of people actually enjoying it, despite all of that though!

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:07pm

It difficult to get how it works but it's a good game. Difficult but good and addictive. You're very obsessed to find the solution.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:46am

The concept is excellent and puzzles are challenging, but it seems the timing needs to be perfect to finish one of them.
And as it has been pointed, controls are really sensible.
It remains a fun and interesting game.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:48am

I like the idea, but I think it would have been helpful to start with some more simple levels to get the player used to the game mechanics :)

fferro234 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Tough game. I couldn't get through the first level unfortunately. Plus I felt like my guy was on ice sometimes which made exact movement tough

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]