August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Descent Alpha

by myachin - Jam Entry

Arrows - Move
Z - Shoot

-----------------

Descent Alpha

Space descent Alpha is destroying alien bases. You have 10 seconds to place and arm the bomb, 10 seconds to return in spaceship and 10 seconds to leave the atmosphere of a planet.

Purple stars shocks you and push you back.
Lasergun deactivate and kills all stars near the beam.
Laser shot = key Z.

Jumps depends on previous speed of character, so jumps is quite unpredictable. Jumps can be very high. You can obtain skills, if you'll play this game longer))

-----------------

Its my first platformer) Sorry for unbalanced gameplay. I planned to submit this in solo, but i spent first day on writing my own engine, very bugfull and ugly. Later I found Nape...)

-----------------

Used tools:

FlashDevelop
Nape AS3
ModPlugTracker
GIMP 2.8
Graphics Gale
mp3Loop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#141Mood(Jam)3.33
#146Fun(Jam)3.29
#187Audio(Jam)3.16
#191Graphics(Jam)3.64
#203Theme(Jam)3.31
#230Overall(Jam)3.24
#262Humor(Jam)2.50
#396Innovation(Jam)2.71

Comments

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44am

Interesting game, A little too difficult after the 3 first planets though :(

jackw899 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

Fun game! Pretty difficult past level 2. I like the art style and it incorporates the theme very well!

soulrot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54am

An in my opinion frustrating 'game'. In the sidescroller part of the game you can only complete the last 2 planets if you have a lot of luck, because as far as I could tell there is no way to aim your weapon. The controls in that part of the game also feel unresponsive, which adds to the frustration (when I press 'jump', I would like to actually jump! No run into those annoying purple stars).

The audio and visuals are OK-ish. I don't like the art style but at least there IS an art style.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:41am

The difficulty spike was a bit steep. The graphics were impressive and the gameplay was fast paced and fun. Good job overall, not that I got very far

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43am

Pretty fun game, even though the difficulty increased a lot on the second planet.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46am

Quite nice. Reminded me of the old Sega Genesis/Megadrive games. It gets a bit frustrating quick with the unresponsive controls and the lack of checkpoints between segments. But it made me feel nostalgic so good job :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:02am

Damn, this game is frustrating. There's no discernible strategy past the 2-3 first levels, it just turns into run, shoot and hope for the best... well at least it did for me :P Eventually I beat the game though. The space part was nice. It was difficult enough to keep you focused, without being too frustrating.

I really loved the graphics, it sold me right away.
All in all I liked the game, but the last few levels were way too difficult in my opinion.

bisk8s says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Well Done! Amazing Game!

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35pm

nice game, like the idea good work

Venturelli says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37pm

After the first 3 planets the part where you need to plant the bomb gets too random. Could be an amazing little game if the "blast aliens" part was a little more polished. But really cool overall, love your graphic style!

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Nice gameplay ! had some troubles with the purple ennemies blocking me XD The retro gaming like sounds good too ! Good job !

LemonTree says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Cool game! But too hard for me. I can't finish level #3.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I dig the style.

syawqy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:22am

i like your drawing

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:00am

I love the art style and when everything starts to tremble! I was a bit frustrated trying to control the character through the terrain.

canvapps says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:04am

Great game, I was just missing a weapon which could shoot the way down while jumping.
I loved this game though!

Exergy says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:59am

Hard game. Really good one!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:03am

great work with the artstyle but to difficult.

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:55am

Very Earthworm jim-ish. A+ on the graphics!

The controls were a bit wonky, I found I got stuck on some of the collision. Which led me to many a death.

Over all really cool

Alink says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:17am

The jump is a bit weird and the enemies too annoying, but I I loved the idea and art style.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Good concept, platforming was waaay too unstable though i'm afraid, and put a large dampener on what was otherwise an enjoyable game :)

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:44pm

cool!
but to hard for me ) maybe, if you expand the time limit it will be more useful)
mood***** )

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Very nice retro style to the graphics and music! The camera shake as you're escaping is great. It does get difficult though, and the stunning mechanic is frustrating.

Good idea to extend the gameplay beyond 10 seconds without straying from the theme, by including multiple sections.

antonijn says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Good game, a bit short though! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]