August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Ball!

by mort96 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ever wondered how it'd be to be able to turn back the time 10 seconds? I sure have. Turns out it's a quite pleasant experience, at least if you're a ball.

How to play:
A and D to move left and right, W to jump. Hold space to rewind time up to 10 seconds.

After almost 48 hours, lots of spaghetti, frustration and fun, my game is finally ready!

I've written the game in JavaScript. Only 3rd party library used is JSon, which is used in exactly one line of code, as a lazy way to copy objecs.

The music is made in Garage Band, where I basically slapped a few Apple Loops together into something which sounds nice.

Art is made of spaghetti code using Canvas to render.


EDIT: added a post compo version, where I may keep working on it. So far, tightened up the controls a bit. (still judge me based on the compo one though :P)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#323Audio2.95
#347Overall3.27
#404Fun3.10
#458Innovation3.10
#566Mood2.71
#700Theme3.00
#853Humor1.74
#1068Graphics1.98

Comments

Reevezy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01am

I love the time reversal!

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

Very cool! How did you implement the rewind mechanic?

TheThirdOne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04am

Great game

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

Your game made me oo and ah at the rewind thing. This is a nice take on the endless runner thing. At first I wanted you to be able to rewind out of death, but then I realized that the game would not be a game then - so it's like a reaction game but also gives some forgiveness. Very cool! Polish this up and stick it on Kongregate!

oxysoft says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Very interesting game. I found that the best strategy is to just old on the jump key and as soon as you notice you're about to take a dip in the lava, rewind and delay your next jump slightly so you can make the jump. It would of been interesting to have a rewind timer go down when you use it and make it go back up as you progress. Have it go back up slower so you can just rewind forever.

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15am

Though it took a while to grasp the possibilities of the time warp, the game was really fun once I got it.
Zooming along levels and probing and jumping was quite enjoyable.

janndavid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47pm

That's a good simple game, you should make it available on mobile devices soon! I like the rewind option, makes you "unscrew" yourself, thumbs up from me!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Still a better narrative than Braid.

Nice work.

choqaae says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44pm

A good simple game. I think it would have been better if the music didn't restart every time you die, but just keep playing.

apaneske says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Neat! Really like how you used the 10 second theme. Had some trouble getting the jumps to be timed correctly. Enjoyed trying to get better and beat my own high score :)

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10pm

impressive, but very difficult to play.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Very cool.
I kept having long stretches of land and then I would start to think maybe there won't be any-
*LAVA DEATH*

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Nice twist on the endless runner formula.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Wish the jump responded better

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26pm

29330 - I feel ok about that :) Considering how many times I had to play to figure out how early I had to jump. I think if the controls were more spot-on when I tried to jump it would have been a bit better.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44pm

There's a great sense of speed here, although I sadly lack the skill to react quickly enough to avoid falling into the stuff before I can reverse time. A cool concept and the random level generation is a good thing, so you can't beat it by memorising.

And of course, thanks for watching the stream. I'm surprised you found the time to make an entry and watch mine being made.

bnhw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

The ball movement and rewind felt very satisfying, but I only wish the jump was a little more forgiving.

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Fun concept. I really liked the time reversal, it would be pretty cool if I could use that more, but often I died faster than I realized. Still had a good time. Thanks!

berkano says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Great music and a cool concept, nice job!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

I love fast-paced runners like this. Frustrating, but kept me playing! Music was charming.

zzForrest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Really cool, if only it was slightly more functional, cuz most jumps were impossible, the friction was too low and boy did your character speed any which way he wanted.

manuq says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Excellent! Goes to favourites :) I never needed the whole 10 seconds through, with two or three it was ok.

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:27pm

I loved the reverse mechanic, such a great idea :D

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:24pm

It takes too long to jump, so often it doesn't jump even though I pressed W before the red part.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]