August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds in Space

by Loerden - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Whats up?

Heres my Space Shooter "10 Seconds in Space" for the Ludum Dare competition!

I hope you like it!

To install just unzip the downloaded ZIP-File and run it!

Notes:
- If you click on the download link you will be redirected to Google Drive, there just click on File and then Download
to download the game

- You need Microsoft XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914
Before you think "Oh no! I have to install something!", many other developer in the Ludum Dare Competition are also using XNA, also many PC-Games use it, so you do nothing wrong with installing it! And its just a great tool so I like to use for my games. (and then of course .net Framework 4 (http://www.microsoft.com/de-de/download/details.aspx?id=17718), but I think every Windows Gamer/User will have it already!)

- The source was written in Visual Studio 2010

I hope I did no mistakes (English isnt my mother language).

If you got questions, feedback or find a Bug, please tell me:
loerden.s3@gmail.com

I also made a Timelapse:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwnOo58ffDY&feature=youtu.be

Greetings
Felix aka Loerden

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#462Fun3.04
#646Theme3.08
#693Humor2.00
#726Mood2.50
#734Audio2.21
#800Overall2.81
#1043Graphics2.04
#1092Innovation2.08
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Verrazano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

I got a score of 2565 not that good. I had a really hard time moving and shooting at the same time. But otherwise it's a pretty solid space invaders type game where the enemy shoots back. Good job. And thank you for having the option to turn off the music :)

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09am

Trank you :)

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09am

*Thank

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Fun game and interesting concept. It's a bit difficult to hit lone enemies, though.

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Got to 25 before my hand started hurting =D Wanna play some more!

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Thank you both!
If your hands starts hurting you can pause with ESC ;)

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Fun to play, but damn, hitting ctrl 10 times a second hurts !
http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/3373/ft98.jpg

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Nice game, quite easy if you can mash a button fast with left hand while dodging enemy bullets. Got ~13k points, but then my hand started to hurt :)

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49pm

And so I understood why you placed the T button in your game heheh, nice job! :D

Arhimondus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30pm

I got 11095 score points. About 55-60 levels. All game is press CTRL many many times and you win.

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57pm

First of all thank you all for the comments!
@Arhimondus Well I Know that you can do this the first 100 Levels, it's kind of hard to balance the game in the time I had.
It's your choice if you want to have fun or use the bugs :D

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Crap the game crashed while I was playing it! I don't remember what level I was on or if I had maybe pressed something by accident so I can't give you any more information.

Heh the game was pretty simple but solid. Holding down the CTRL button would have been so much nicer.

I like how the title was almost exactly the same as my game too :)

Loerden says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Ohhh thats Bad that its crashed...
I will try to fix it!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Really nice game, got hard over time. great job! I featured it in my LD27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GXNOecUq9c

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:42am

+1 for timelapse :) good practice

Loerden says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Cool :) Thank you both!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]