August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The First Odyssey

by davisan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

08/31 - Post-compo version v3:
Play at http://goo.gl/ysuw4j
- Removed camera zoom
- Changed resolution from 640x360 to 800x480

08/30 - Post-compo version v2:
Play at http://goo.gl/vrc95B
- Faster charge
- Dynamic camera zoom

08/26 - Post-compo version:
Play at http://goo.gl/ZHu2dC
- Faster arrows
- Enemies are more tough.
- Being hit now reduce 20% of your time
- Doors and buttons have different colors

A witch cursed you. If you stand still, you will die in 10 seconds. To live you must kill. Each murder gives you 10 more seconds of life. To break the curse, you must kill the king.

Controls:
Move left/right: A/D
Jump: W
Aim: Mouse
Charge'n'shoot: left mouse button.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#286Audio3.00
#433Humor2.47
#463Graphics3.04
#610Mood2.66
#702Fun2.75
#738Overall2.88
#916Innovation2.46
#1064Theme2.43

Comments

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36am

That is just disgusting, you can just run through the whole game, the bow and arrow took too long to charge, and there was no defining goal other than kill a few people, run, then shoot something a few times

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

A classic, not very fun, but well executed, I didn't have any bug.
I loved the arrows trajectory, the fact that they stay on the target.
And a very beautiful piano track.

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Liked the BGM :)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Not the best thing ever, but I definitely appreciate the effort that you've put into this. Nice idea, and I'm sure with more time this could evolve into something awesome.

davisan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:05pm

@Croze: Thanks! The design could be more elaborated. I have to improve this part.

@plancien: Thanks!
@rzfmzn: Thanks!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Not bad, has some pretty nice moments, but something is... off. Maybe you could make the enemies a bit stronger and faster?

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Nice music, but do the enemies do anything?

kantieno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I thought it was nice, however it became very tedious and boring after a while.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30pm

WHAT THE HELL? Why is everyone on this thread so damn pessimistic??? Fuck you negative Nancies, I thought it was one of the most fun games I've played. I played it for more then 5 min which is actually saying something. I had fun traversing through the terrain. The charge did nothing so I just shot rapid fire, and that was fun. The theme was also kind of irrelevant, but I still enjoyed it! thanks for your efforts OP!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

The way the girl can rotate her arm is just crazy! It's very strange that the arows tend to fly slower than you can run...! :) Also, I didn't really feel those enemies were any threat... other than that, it was nice! ;')

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

WHAT THE HELL? Why is everyone on this thread so damn pessimistic??? Fuck you negative Nancies, I thought it was one of the most fun games I've played. I played it for more then 5 min which is actually saying something. I had fun traversing through the terrain. The charge did nothing so I just shot rapid fire, and that was fun. The theme was also kind of irrelevant, but I still enjoyed it! thanks for your efforts OP!

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

This is pretty fun, I played it for awhile--although it seems the only 10 second element is picking up 10 second time pickups? After awhile I had almost 2 minutes on the clock. I like the arrow trajectories and the maps are tricky!

flod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32pm

i had my lol moment while shooting backward the first time! like this kind of games!

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I liked the art and environments, although the size of the character compared to the game window size makes it hard to get a sense of where you are. I got lost in the castle of countless platforms. I like the ability to shoot in multiple directions, and the triple shot is cool, but the arrows move rather slowly, especially considering that the character can move faster than them. But I can certainly see a lot of work went into this. A good foundation if you plan to build on it. Good use of the theme too.

davisan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38pm

@optimality: Yes. There are two types: one shoot rocks at you, the other try to run into you.

Other: Thanks! The game didn't stop in the gate. You have to press the button in the top (climb the house) to open the door and enter the castle.

davisan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39pm

@TeddyNashor Thanks you!

davisan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

@flarb: Thanks! Also the pickups lasts 10 seconds. and the doors are open for 10 seconds.

davisan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42pm

I'll put a post-compo version with faster arrows and strenger enemies! :D

Schwiggy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

The Web (Mac Only) build seems to work fine on Windows. Also it was brave of you to make and animate a human protagonist for something as short as ludum dare.
I made it to the button that you have to hit with an arrow in the top of the castle but after hitting it I couldn't figure out what opened. It could be improved with more indication of what's happening with the buttons (even a short camera pan over to the opened door) and faster or more powerful arrow charging. Right now optimal combat strategy is just to click rapidly to shoot underpowered arrows.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Had a lot of fun spamming the arrows and jumping around! Not sure it was the intention hehe

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:21am

Very good! Great design and implementation. And long! I could not even reach the end! But I'll make a few more attempts.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41am

@Schwiggy: Thanks! For the animation, it was one of my goals since my last LD. First I drew the upperbody (static) and animated just the feet, once done, all it took was to complete with the legs quickly.

@Venturelli: Thanks! hehe.
@Rodrigo Robles: Thanks!

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Pretty fun, quickly found though that the most efficient way to use the arrows was by spraying the whole environment with 'em. Nice piano music, and the level was really large for something that was made in 48 hours. Good work!

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49pm

I liked the badass way she could fire behind her without looking! Needs polish but there is a cool concept at heart here - having to kill regularly to keep alive.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Fun and challenging! I didn't want to shoo the enemies... too cute.

Tiago says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:08pm

haha, love the way she can backfire! needs a lot more polishing, but it was quite fun overall! nice job!

Gabriel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Really liked it! The arrows trajectory thing and getting stuck to stuff is really fun and add a toy factor to the mere act of interacting with the game, which is something I always appreciate. I liked the main mechanics as well, although I felt the time limit is a little too opressive considering you have to mode around a lot to understand which button unlocks which door. Still had my fun, congrats buddy!

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:05pm

The mechanics all work ok, but I found the pacing a bit slow. Charging arrows is a good idea, but a bit slow and you almost always have to charge. Would have been nice to make the regular shots go a decent range and charged go even further / do more damage.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:24pm

The camera is a bit too close, too bad it makes the game very hard.

woodecker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Nice story. Fun game :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Nice job, i really like the big, chunky character graphics.

skullbonejp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:22am

It was kind of easy to just run off and kill the enemies. And it was painful to find the door buttons after some points. I think if the killing and movement were more fun the game would be much better. It gets boring at some point.

The art is really good and the piano track is great!

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Liked the game, really challenged you to play longer to see the ending (although it was a bit of an anti-climax, I must admit, at least in the compo version).

btw, Croze, you're disgusting too mate.

davisan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Thanks for the feedback guys! I really appreciate.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

Not much challenge there, seeing that the enemies doesn't really do much to stop you. Also, you can just fire arrows rapidly to kill anything pretty much instantly. The art was nice, but the music started getting annoying. There's a lot of room for improvements, but it's a nice effort so far.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

The intro screen and music was definitely very epic, very well done.
Personally I would implement the same concept but with smaller sprites for a neater look. Large sprites when not done perfectly can really hurt the overall look.
Certain sound effects, like the jump sound, can be rather unnecessary if it doesn't actually sound like a jump, and especially since it covers up the great background music.
It's still a pretty cool entry! Great work!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

I take the "Not the best thing ever" back. I feel this deserves attention. I really like it, I'm just not good at it :D - just reduce charge time!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

good job

davisan says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

Thank you very much!

syawqy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:00am

pretty decent entry, but i find the movement a bit slippery
because i find it hard jumping between platform to climb the castle

Livsk says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Good Job, nice graphics and sounds. Gameplay is good. Good luck!

awppy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Couldn't figure out what to do once partway into the castle. Saw a button I could hit with an arrow firing up through a tunnel, but it didn't seem to do anything, or I couldn't find the companion button.

davisan says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:22pm

@awppy: For reference, try the post-compo version, it solves this problem.

fgielow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Nice graphics and well made for a 48 hours entry. But you really should look the level design.

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:32am

I wish the arrows had some mechanic to not be spammed... maybe a cooldown, or arrows costing you time or something, kinda easy to just spam arrows at enemies.

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:55am

I like this very much

And don't mind the pessimistic commenters.

I mean, sometimes they forget you have like, 2 days and a half to make the games.

I'm sure that if you put more effort into this, you can make a hell of a game out of this :)

rodrigomotta says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Cool, man. Congrats.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Ahaha, the shot2.gif was definitely me sometimes. I really like how the arrows just stick where they are, that looked especially fun with the shielded enemies. Oh, and I like the title screen - well drawn! The ingame graphics look good too, but you should work on your animations - especially because the protagonist is so detailed, it looks strange that she always stares into the void in the same way.

The gameplay itself wasn't very challenging, but I liked the level layout and hey, that was big. More interesting enemies would've given the game a lot.

Good job on the music!

PS: I can't get over how unfriendly the comment from Croze is. Not the criticism (critisism is always fine), but the tone is extremely awful. Kudos to you for answering so nicely!

davisan says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]