August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nelson

by MunkeeBacon - Jam Entry

Made for the Ludum Dare, Nelson is the perfect blend of action and adventure. Your character : Nelson, is the head repair man for Timeco time machines. On one of his routine checkups of Timeco's newest product: The Handheld, he notices something just isn't right, so naturally, he investigates. He is immediately thrown into a random time in human history. With the help of his trusty blaster, Nelson will have to fight his way back from own time period. Have fun, and happy blasting!


We are planning on updating this game quite a bit! You can check up on that here: http://sockmunkee.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Audio(Jam)3.57
#131Theme(Jam)3.46
#227Overall(Jam)3.25
#231Humor(Jam)2.67
#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#277Mood(Jam)2.96
#341Graphics(Jam)3.07
#487Innovation(Jam)2.43
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Massive music. I loop it, even if I don't understand the game.

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Ok, just understand the controls, the counter and music are really fabulous. But the game sucks for commercial thing.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

It would be great if you could aim with mouse and have a variety of weapons.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

@SpiralCodeStudio I am planning on having newer weapons that you can unlock with each level in the new update:D

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Really fun

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Had nice music and was a nice little top-down shooter. I think instead of having 4 buttons to shoot in 4 directions, it might feel better to only shoot forwards and have a button to strafe/keep facing a direction as you move. Good work, though. :)

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:07pm

What a lovely game for something developed in just 48 hours.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59pm

OH MY GOD KILLER PENGUINS!!!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

The music is great, and I like that "build-up" sound which plays in the last two seconds.

As for gameplay, let's just say it's WAY too hard to kill an enemy when starting off. It takes nearly the whole 10 seconds to do so, and there's not just a few enemies, there's 10-15 of them.

Also, I know it's probably the itch.io site, but having to go through a pay what you want system for a Ludum Dare game leaves a bad taste. I recommend just linking directly to the zip files.

skarab says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Oh, sincerely I apologize for my first comments, didn't see thats coming from itch.io, but yes the free download is a bit hard to see.
Greets for your nice game.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Pretty engaging and enjoyable, but gets very difficult at Wave 9+. I think I only got to Wave 11. Controls were responsive and functional. I think there's a bug with the level not getting reset on death - or at least the meter graphic? Not sure.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52pm

@Vaughn yea the bug is that the bar doesn't scale properly, so it looks like you have gotten no xp, but if you look closely at the numbers over the bar, you have some.


And it is not supposed to reset your level, it saves it even when you quit the game:D

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09pm

I like the level rotation!

cardboard says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:37am

The graphics are pretty awesome. All of the different time periods/locations were varied which kept the game interesting for awhile. The only thing I would have liked to see was some sort of change to the character/weapon/bullet as I leveled up. Otherwise everything is sort of the same the whole game. The music fit the game very well and was fun to listen to. Looking forward to the post-comp version!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:58am

Nice work and good idea!

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Really fun and interesting! Music and graphics made it really fun! The game would sometimes hit major lag spikes though, and I with the upgrades from leveling up were more substantial. Other than those small complaints, good game!

Travis Irby says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:13am

I had a blast playing this! Nice job :)

Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Nicely polished stuff. I really love the audio!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]