August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds Are An Eternity

by Larzan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You know how they always say time is relative and nobody believes it?

Here is the proove, travel through the galaxy in only 10 seconds, slow time down with the help of gravity, fly through wormholes to gain time.

On the planet use the arrow keys to move around,
In space turn the ship with left+right arrow keys and thrust with space or arrow-key up.

The science of it is a hundred percent something, ask Stevie, or better even Uncle Albert :)

I had big hopes and bigger plans, but in the end i'd have needed twice as much time as i had. Will probably make a after LD version too...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#193Theme3.58
#295Innovation3.34
#652Humor2.07
#712Mood2.52
#712Graphics2.63
#864Overall2.73
#929Fun2.44
#948Audio1.39

Comments

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:30am

As we are always told, time is relative, influenced, among other things, by gravity.

Never believed it?

Now you have prove!

The game shows you the world from the perspective of an external beholder, observing your actions.

You start as Cornel Snoopster on your home planet and have exactly 10 seconds to get to the carroty planet in the top right corner.
Unfortunately your ship is too slow, but alas, as gravity slows time relatively to the eye of our beholder, you can get close to planets and collect Wormholes that can be found close to the surface to make up for lost time.

The closer you are to the surface of a planet, the slower time ticks relatively to our omnisciont beholder (you).

Try to make it to the carroty planet without running out of time.

p.s.: the project was too ambitious, although i have more grafix implemented, there was no time to get them in the game. My geometry when placing the objects on the planet is seriously f**** flawed i mean. But my brain is just not able to handle it anymore, need sleep...
The space scene was supposed to scroll over a few screens and make it bigger, works, but still flawed, so couldn't get it in either.
Also the collision detection had to be removed for the planets, so pretty moot to fly around there.
All in all it was a great experience, wish i had more time to implement all that i planned.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:45pm

When the rocket touches a green planet it gets stuck there and cannot move any further (and the clock stops).
Also, never reached the surface of a planet. Is there a particular planet I should visit? (the orange one, perphaps? could never reached it though!)

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Fun game. :) On my first try I got stuck on a planet at the border — of the universe, is suppose :P —; every time I left the atmosphere and tried to get a way in space I was brought back to planet view. ^^

Anyway: liked the gameplay, switching between the two views, and loved the seemingly always partying houses. :D

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

I thought the instructions were a bit confusing, bulletpoints would have been clearer. But I did enjoy it, and got to the carroty planet ;) I think perhaps with some gravity, and some sort of colour-chart to figure out wormhole concentration, then it would be more enjoyable ;)

demiurgo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Really nice idea!
Would love to see it continued.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Reached the carroty planets! Very nice use of relativistic ;)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

A few small bugs, but a good idea, well done

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Congrats on entering & good luck with the post-compo version.

Taylor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I like the idea, though I didn't really understand how to play.

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I think this has a lot of potential, I love the time dilation mechanic. Some really great music could build up a very dense sense of atmosphere.

immanuela says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I haven't seen ths idea before yet, I like it! Good stuff.

InfN555 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Nice concept for the game, although a little short! A proper ending would be nice when you get to the carrot planet.

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56pm

I see all the flaws Larzan points out but what I also see is a game that fits the theme and is somewhat educational. The graphics are fun and with a bit of tidying up that could be a nice introduction to relativity.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Interesting concept, was pretty tough though, especially since the random generation normally causes you to not be able to get to any planets before the end. By the time I actually took off from the first planet there was normally only 4 seconds left and the turning is floaty (makes sense in space) so only a close planet directly in a straight line from the rocket starting point really is plausible to get to. Even then I could never get more than 2 seconds on the timer by hitting the wormhole things for more time, even when being super close to the planet's surface, they simply didn't spawn enough for me to collect enough, I feel like I would have had to play for up to 5 minutes on a planet before having enough time to get to the next one. Either way, the concept is pretty cool. I feel like if the acceleration on the rocket was just a little bit better I would have been able to enjoy it a lot more. And the concept is pretty awesome.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Hi Beardbotnik, i hear you, i assume you have an older computer? I noticed this myself, because as didn't use a game framework, only a grafics framework, it is lacking a good timing mechanism and i am simply using the framerate. So depending on your framerate the ship is moving slower or faster (bad game design), making the thing effectively unplayable on older computer. I am planning to do a post-LD version, where i would use a game engine, or add a timing framework.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Love the idea of different scale of time.
Some bugs (rotating buildings).
I think you need... more time ... to polish everything up, and add some "dynamics" to the mechanics.

Curious to see a more finished version !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34am

Cool concept! I liked this game. The way you transition from the world map to the plants is really smooth, and the tie-in to relativity helps. Also the circular levels and gyrating buildings really tripped me out, haha. You mentioned having bigger plans, totally feel you there man. My entry's concept was a mix between a farming sim and a item collection / enemy dodging game. Saturday rolled around and I realized I bit way more off than I could chew, so did the best with what I had. I'd love to see your game expanded!

Headless Hobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06pm

I liked the idea where they switch between time, when you are on the planet and out of it. But i could never finish

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Cool concept! It would be nice to see it developed a bit further, the time scaling mechanic was really interesting.

Nice job :)

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Played the web version.

Concept is great and there's definitely a highly playable game in there but it's still a bit too buggy to be fun yet imo.

Main problem is the time it takes to get to the nearest planet in the space view. This isn't always possible, and even when it is you get very little time left on the planet. Also with 'leave planet' bound to the up arrow, it's easy to leave the planet before you want to - maybe bind this to another key? Also the spaceship didn't always restart on return to the spaceview. After a few goes I never did manage to make it to more than one planet.

Having said which, I think this is only a little bit of gameplay-tweaking and debugging away from something really quite fun.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Thanks Motty :) yes, the gameplay definately is still very buggy. After working so much on it i had serious problems with my math ;) I definately plan to fix that in a Post-Compo version.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I liked the movement of the building on the planets surface.
Nice interpretation of the theme and inclusion in the gameplay.

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:36pm

It's a bit difficult, but very interesting. Usually, by the time my ship starts moving, I'm at 7 seconds.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Very good, creative concept. Could use a bit more variety and some audio, but we all know the time was tight. Great work, could become even better if worked on.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17pm

good job

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Both your windows link and web link are the same

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Super solid entry! Unique use of the theme too :)

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43pm

really nice use of the theme here, an interesting mix of side scrolling and top down gameplay that has worked well together, especially for you story/theme, good game grats

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I liked this game, it was pretty cool, specially for how crunched you sounded at the end. Good job :) I featured it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:11am

Thanks Hadley, saw it, although i guess you did not see that the whole point was the fact that you save time on the planet because the time there passes way slower than when you are flying in space, relatively that is. Anyhow, thanks for the mentioning :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:55am

I has some trouble when stuck in a planet and nothing happens, but when it works it is quite funny and good idea!

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:15am

Love the concept! Like, a lot. I played the web version and it's a little rough (it's a jam, can't hold it against you) but it has so much potential.

Good work!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:55am

I like the idea, hope you expand upon it!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Really like the idea, but the instructions should have been a bit clearer, it was quite confusing at first what i had to do.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:59pm

I like the separation of stages with different gameplay.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Great idea. Simple.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:24am

I love the idea, but I didn't really get how it was implemented in the game. Visualising the speed of time in some way other than a timer would be nice.
Nice art style, I love how the planets are full of orange skyscrapers! :)

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:58am

I really like the art style. I hope you do make more progress on it later on. It was pretty cool

jay griffin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:48am

Very clever implementation of the theme, makes for an original, interesting game. You should definitely do more with this one.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

Very good concept around space-time continuum / wormhole and all that stuff.
I found it need some polish because in some cases you can't reach the final planet because of other planet nearby you get stuck between a planet and the wall.
Adding some more game mecanism in the planet view could be great (like you have to avoid buildings).
Need some audio also.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

I like it! Especially what you did with the theme. Poorly done, this could have been seen as a way of "cheating" your way out of the constraint but using relativity is actually a very clever idea.
Too bad the game is pretty short and quite easy to beat. Regardless, I like thi entry! :)

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:37am

Very interesting idea!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:02am

I really like the concept but the game need to be more challenging on the earth surface. Good job.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Interesting concept,but I think the game froze when I tried to go in 1 of the smaller planets.

zanval says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:14pm

I got stuck when colliding with planets on spaceview two times, having to press f5.

I absolutely love the idea, but collecting wormholes on the plats is a very boring task to be honest.
I just stick to the ground and wait for wormholes. Then collect them and go down as far as I can again.

Linusson says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:45am

Nice idea, I like that you have two different views. :) Maybe a bit too easy as I finished it on my second try. :)

foumart says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Yeah, time rewinding by messing with gravity and speed is great :)

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:34am

Good work.

manuq says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:25pm

I like this entry very much. It has a nice explanation too. Maybe I could have played without it, but it adds context. I like the two modes too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]