August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Insert Token(s) to Continue

by Sestren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A lot of people have fond memories of playing at their favorite arcade as a kid. However, there was one "mini-game" that every arcade offered that was always the most challenging: exchanging your dollar bills for tokens and returning to your game before the continue timer expired.

You play as a kid at an old-school arcade, and your only goal is to beat your three favorite games and then head out for ice cream. But, you could never beat any of them without running out of quarters, and your mom won't let you get more tokens unless you actually need them. Therefore, it's up to you to hoof it as fast as you can between the token machine and your game if you're going to continue and eventually win.

Controls: WASD to look left and right, and move forward and backward. Q and E to strafe left and right, J switches to another bill in your pocket. K flips the bill over to the other side. SHIFT lets you run faster.

Thoughts: I feel I definitely bit off more than I could chew here. Everything is very rough around the edges, and only a very small portion of the functionality, imagery and sound that I had planned for got implemented. I'm particularly disappointed that I didn't get any sound added in. I had planned all sorts of little sound effects, but I left myself too little time to make them, and what I tried to come up with sounded terrible and wasn't worth including. Despite these drawbacks, I hope you still enjoy my entry. Thanks for playing!

Hint: If you get stuck after beating the first machine, don't forget that there's another, larger room of the arcade off to the right of the token machine. You'll beat the final two games in there.

Post-Compo Version: I'll be updating this regularly over the next few days and after the competition, as well, until I'm satisfied with it. I may even eventually add sound!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#203Humor3.02
#256Theme3.49
#272Graphics3.38
#369Innovation3.23
#593Mood2.68
#688Overall2.94
#830Fun2.60
#984Audio1.23

Comments

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24am

I really like what you did with the theme, clever idea. The game looks very nice, everything is simple and clear. I dig the outlines on the hand.

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27am

Funny concept, I've been there, asking my parents for coins to play Pac Man !
Graphics are retro.
But game is too hard (for me).

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

Though I didn't grow up playing arcade games, I found this game to induce nostalgia. It was fun, and captured the theme well.
Running from machine to machine was pretty difficult too.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24pm

got a hundred and one bugs, couldn't play it!

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Hehehe Nice.

Hitonagashi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26pm

It was a bit tricky at times, I got locked once or twice with the "K" to flip it on the screen.

Theme however is a great idea, and I liked the retro look of the graphics.

Geroro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28pm

really clever and fun, I didn't read the description when I first started and once I figured out what I had to do I had a good chuckle, it brings me right back to the arcade, great job! :D

Entity2D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Very interesting game concept. It could've been better with some more polish, though.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Interesting take on the theme, love the cell shaded feel of the game. Rated highly. :)

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

If you ever add anything to this, I recommend the end screen asking you to "Insert Coins to Continue"

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I couldn't really get this to work. The gameplay is very confusing and it's unclear as to what I'm supposed to do after I run out of coins, as flipping the money doesn't seem to do anything.

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17pm

these damn arcade machines! take my moneeeeey! game a bit confusing though ...

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Great idea, and nice graphics too. Must admit I found it quite difficult

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Really love the concept of this game. Wondered what was going on to begin with then twigged it and went 'oh no!' *runs for more tokens* Great job :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:14am

silly! liked it! haha..

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

I love the take on the theme! It's very unique!

It would be nice if you could start the game with the keyboard, since the game doesn't use the mouse.

Nice work!

Orni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

great concept and use of the theme
solid game, well done :)

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:50pm

felt like duke nukem at "the ladies".

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:36pm

I love the idea and graphics, but the controls made it hard do proceed very far for me :)

d__adee says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:47pm

For some reason, I can only make it to 2 rounds (every time I play), the 3rd time doesn't accept my money. haha!

The machine is hard to operate, it feels like I always need to face the coin slot and keep pressing K to make it work (but most of the time, does not).
:P

Sestren says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:25pm

I didn't have time to properly allow for all the token machines to work at once, so for anyone that's playing and feels stuck after the second round, at that point you have to move to the other room and use the machine there. I apologize for the terrible interface here. If I make a Post-Compo version, that will definitely get fixed.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:08am

Nice, charming take on the theme :) I found the game to be incredibly hard, but I think I am just too used to mouselook. Not a bad effort for the 48 hours overall, but can see where more time would have really helped you.

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Really nicely done. I like how the concept of the arcade games coincides with the retro art style. Really stresses you out too, but in a GOOD way. Well done nice game.

crashbanito says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:03pm

A really interesting entry that would be perfect with some sound. A bunch of beeps and boops would really complete the arcade atmosphere. Either way, good hectic fun.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:41am

Very nice 3D in flash; is that from scratch or is there a framework?

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:41pm

I know that feel bro! The game reminded me of similar happenings when i played on arcades :) loved it.. although in reality it was much easier to do this

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:17am

This was basically my childhood. Loved it. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

everblind says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:06am

nice!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:15am

Cool idea and very nice graphics.

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Love the visuals, really cool!

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Whoa... A raycaster in Flixel? That is super awesome. The game is original and challenging, too. Great work overall, my only complaint is the refreshing to restart. Did you use static variables a lot or something?

Sestren says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:17am

Actually, I don't think I used that many. But I was pressed for time and my restart code still had a game-breaking bug in it, so I scrapped wasting time trying to fix it and just put in the refresh screen message as an ugly workaround.

RARoadkill says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:23am

Love the game, fun concept. Miss the days of tokens. Controls were a bit awkward at times

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:07am

Oh man, I didn't realize back then, how quickly you actually spent these tokens, and how much money was converted to these^^

I never really lost a game due to the continue thing up to now, but I extremely can remember the struggle to wait for a cool game to be *not* occupied =)

For all those, who didn't beat the game so far: try pressing <Shift> while running and insert the coin to the right, pick up the token on the left of the dispenser. I was technically banging the head (and fists) against the machine, without realizing the token needed to be picked up first :D

infernet89 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Woha, 3d? With Flash? In 48 hour? Well done!
Also, i really liked the underling idea of this game, very original! I felt a little uncomfortable with controls to change/flip money, so it was a little hard to me.

DWallin says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:54am

A cool idea. it could have used a bit more of a ramp up period to give players time to become comfortable with the controls and mechanics. Also having to repeat the same actions every time you restart made replayability take a big hit.

Capro says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:15am

Weird interesting game. I like it. :)

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:31am

Nice concept! Feels quite nostalgic.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]