August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sausage Gobbler

by Entity2D - Jam Entry

You can't stop eating sausages! You have made the "super sausage" your main purpose in life. If you spend over 10 seconds not eating sausages, you will have a panic attack!

-Arrow keys to move and climb ladders
-Space to jump / fall from ladders
-Collecting sausages temporarily stops the timer, and give you a points bonus
-finishing a level will give you a time bonus. Finish quickly for bigger points.
-You don't have to collect all the sausages in a level, just reach the top.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#89Humor(Jam)3.34
#165Fun(Jam)3.25
#231Theme(Jam)3.23
#264Audio(Jam)2.93
#269Overall(Jam)3.16
#290Mood(Jam)2.91
#369Graphics(Jam)2.95
#539Innovation(Jam)2.28

Comments

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Good Job, I really like the way the levels transition between each other. I failed about 5 times on the first level thinking I needed to pick up each sausage. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

i quite enjoyed it man.. reminds me of the days .. i wish i could start from the last screen i was on tho.. but only because im rubbish :)

tacograveyard says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19pm

reminded me of lode runner, a classic. at first i thought i needed to collect all of the sausages to progress. game got much easier once i realized that i only needed to make it to the top

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Bees jacked my gobbler right as I entered a new level! Come on!

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35pm

5* for just the name. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Classic! Brutally hard. Catchy tune. I too did not realize that you didn't need to get all the sausages. Still: hard! Nice work.

Jacic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Fun but difficult!

h_double says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:56am

Seriously good 1980 vibes (except for the font aliasing ;-D) This is hard but fun. Nice presentation.

TehLulzinator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46am

Like pretty much everyone here, I thought the goal was to eat all the sausages. Got THIS close to the giant sausage, but that damned bee every time!

cjordan1683 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46am

I LOVE THIS! I played it over and over and over. Great game. :)

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28am

Was pretty fun, really simplistic and easy to grasp. The difficulty seemed a little unfair at times but it was still enjoyable. Port to mobile please.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Had a small problem with jumping but i eat my self up some levels^^ Now I need a sausage! Cool game :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice! Really hard, but fun. Those dorritos are tough!

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:27pm

That was hilarious. The transitions are really nice, but I wish there were more levels and a checkpoint system. Instructions in the game are usually a good idea as well :)
Good game nonetheless :)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Could have used some better in game instructions but otherwise nice

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:30pm

pretty good game.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Will video post review soon.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:49pm

14669! Sweet retro oldschool look with oldschool difficulty to match it. I thought this was very solid entry. Funny idea of sausages, nice job!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:53am

Live video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2830831

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Sausage gobbler could mean something else. Nice entry

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Good classic vibe :) Hard as hell, though!

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Love this idea, playing was fun too!

Vaughn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:48am

Hmmm, it seems my last comment didn't go through?

Anyways, I watched a playthrough of this on N0_Named_Guy's stream and had to give it a go after. Very challenging, but very rewarding on beating it, like more retro, arcadey still games. Some pretty decent production value here too. Great work!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

Fun little game, reminded me of Ice Climber for the NES. :)
I initially thought I had to collect all the sausages and lost quite a few times! I like the level progression, but at one level, a bee stings us as soon as the level starts. You should consider changing that.

nixeldev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Very tricky, great retro single screen game :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:09am

Like the retro vibe and music. The jump physics need work for it to be fun (best jump to land time? about .7 seconds. Do that and it will instantly feel better). Nice effort.

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:17am

hahahaha sausage game! Quite fun and challenging!

crueltear says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Not bad. Sadly, after losing you must play all levels again.
As said before, retro graphics and music, but still looks good.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Nice arcadey game.

KunoNoOni says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Totally brought me back to the 80's! Very well done. Loved the transition between levels.

motty says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:55am

Cute. Old school hard. Liked it. Could not beat that third level.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:18am

Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]