August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Day Magic Died

by Endurion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The magic apocalypse happened. A magic rift is tearing the world apart in ten seconds. The only way to avoid this
is to get to the magic source and repair it. But you've only got 10 seconds...


Added a post compo update: Hopefully smaller hitboxes, shadows and adjusted sound volume.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#282Overall3.35
#314Fun3.24
#346Humor2.64
#369Graphics3.21
#387Mood2.95
#426Audio2.76
#497Theme3.24
#612Innovation2.88

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Very good, will come back to rate it when it's possible !

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24am

Well done.

Verrazano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28am

I was having fun playing it until I got to the arrows :\ the arrows were really frustrating I felt like the hit box was really big on them. Other wise the game plays fine. And its pretty alright. However the sound was really loud. :< please add in an option for the sound.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30am

Pressing E in the main menu gives instant win condition? XD If anyone else is playing: that's not actually the main game! Haven't seen this POV used much before.

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

That was quite good, however, note that on the title screen, when 'd' is pressed, the win screen is shown.
Jumping over arrows was quite challenging for me.

teddy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02am

haha NICE. The hitboxes for those arrows though... damn that level! XD fun though

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14am

Fun game :D
Arrows part was really hard :X

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47am

Really nice game :) The perspective and graphics are really impressive well done. Also it's really fun and is really challenging. Thank you!

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53am

Very much enjoyed the death music and sound effect, very immediate and authoritative. Wished for death many times while on arrow level.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04am

Nice game! The graphic style is original, and it's pretty fun to play. The only negative thing is the hitbox, it's really hard to avoid arrows and flames because you don't really see their exact position with the perspective. Maybe you should have added shadows on the ground to make it easier...

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

Sorry about the instant win, I forgot to remove D as the test for the done screen :)

Yeah, those hit boxes are annoying. Unfortunately that perspective is pretty bad for 2d images.

eckcz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51am

I really like the camera angle. It can be pain sometimes but i liked.

Xera says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Those damn fire walls... The hitbox really seems a bit bigger than it should be. Otherwise really nice entry!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18am

After this game i can easily say that i dodge arrows better than any ninja in the world. Yea, the final level was a bit too random. I felt like you could have at least put some pattern on those arrows.
One more thing; if you can, please make shadow beneath the player. In 3d games like this one shadow helps a lot when you're jumping around. It points at your real position.
All in all, a very good game. Kept me playing till the end.

SbstnC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26am

It's cool ! (Damn you arrows)!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:11pm

The boulders level can be made easy by jumping on a fence and jumping over the boulders. And is it even possible to beat the fire level? I always run out of time right before I hit the end, even though I never wait or pause for the fire things to move.

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43pm

That last level is frustrating D: it can be pretty cheap if a crystal spawns next to an arrow spawner :(
Good job though, I like the visuals, though as others said, shadow/circles would help a lot.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35pm

The arrows are too hard compared to the levels up to there, therefore I can only rate the beginning of the game.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Great art style. In a future version, you should consider a skybox or some other kind of background. My only really big problem was the huge hitboxes of the arrows.

0xc0dec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

The arrows...

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Nice work!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I like the mood there. Well done!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Wow, that perspective! That was epic! Well done :D

gamepopper says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I liked the 3D world design, collision is a bit iffy though, and the sound effects are too loud.

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:19pm

That was cute. I like your style and what you did with it in such a short time. Good job.

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

@madk: The fire level is a tight one, you need to run by the fire right from the start, pick the crystal in the back. Run to the bottom right, pick those two crystals. Then inside, fetch they key, and run to the door/exit.
The fires should be out of your way all of the time.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

I love the flat 3D graphics! Got to the part with the rotating fire walls :)

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:44am

fun game .. but the f#!king arrow man

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:44am

fun game .. but the f#!king arrows man

manabreak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

Cute! The colliders were pretty large, so in some levels it was a bit tough to get through. Good job anyway. :)

Jeremias says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Interesting visual style and funny gameplay. Unfortunately, I didn't solved all the levels. The level with the three flame rows, the three diamonds and the red door is really hard given the time needed to complete it. Additional, the hitboxes of my character is a bit too large. Anyway, good job!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Not bad, I liked the visual mixup of 2D and 3D.

however the collision areas were very large, and especially with arrows it was very hard to see where they are, so it was incredibly easy to hit them and mess up.

Otherwise it was pretty solid.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

The camera perspective and blending of 2d and 3d was strangely enjoyable. Nicely laid out levels too, some of them required precision.

Tegu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Phew, finished the game! As it's been said, the hitboxes feel a bit too big. It makes jumping over arrows and dodging flames/mines very difficult. The perspective is very nice otherwise, but would indeed need a shadow. Also the boulder part can be passed by going to the right side in the beginning and letting them go past you. Not sure if it should be that way as it's a bit too easy. The fence tactic sounds a bit better so that could be let as is.
Apart from the hitboxes it was a enjoyable game. :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Very well done. Loved the perspective!

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:13pm

The 2d/3d perspective was cool to see, great job on that

BenWhi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:20am

Easily one of my favorites! So simple, yet soooo much fun!

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:59pm

I like it, it's really well done :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Extremely impressive amount of acceptably polished content. Very cool level design, and nice difficulty curve all the way through. I also liked the retro graphics and audio a lot (although the dying sound was a bit too obnoxious)

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:01pm

The game over all is good! Really! i mean it.

But man, i think you could have equalized the sound effects a little.

The music is way to low, and the sound effects are... quite deafening @_@. They kinda scared me when they played.

Also, the hitboxes are not very clear to me on the arrow stage. A small tip: always make the hitboxes a little bit smaller than the actual sprite, this way you'll never miss ^_^

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:23pm

an adventure? Nice! something good came out of this ld!

mamoniem says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:27am

Man, i hate your arrows :D
Enjoying game, and loved the 2d character in 3d environment. beside the nice wrapping to the theme.

shard123 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Really nice work, arrows were frustrating though but otherwise awesome entry!

marbu says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Nice game, I liked the mix of 2d graphics on 3d levels. The perspective wasn't troublesome to me. And autotracker music, right? :P

I liked the levels, they felt varied enough, but couldn't get past the one with the two fire belts =(

Overall, good job.

Endurion says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Yep, autotracker :)

For the fire belts, there's an explanation up there, it's all about knowing where to run to.

Antidote says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:34pm

My first impressions of the game :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EiqU-swZC0

GFM says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Nice game! I was going to say about shadows but then I read your post compo updates... that was my major complaint. xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]