August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Scribble Scramble

by 1y1e - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Create an account and get scribbling! You will rate other people's efforts and they'll rate yours! Realise how terrible you are at speed drawing simple things! Draw with your mouse and change colours by clicking spectrum or using the numbers as keyboard shortcuts!

___Browser Compatibility___
Chrome, Opera, Safari: YES (Built and tested, should be flawless)
IE10: SOMEHOW SORT OF (That was lucky)
Firefox: UH OH, NOPE (Can't put pen to paper :/ Sorry!)
iPad/tablets/phones: HA, YOU'RE FUNNY

___Developer's Note___
First time entrant, so happy to playing to my strengths and doing my sys-dev thing rather than my Plan A of Unity, since it made more sense for the multiplayer aspects. Built in Rails and embarrassingly small amounts of HTML5! Yay!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Fun3.40
#207Innovation3.50
#289Theme3.45
#322Overall3.30
#955Graphics2.20
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27am

Hahaha, this game made me feel like my drawing is worthless. I liked it though. I feel like it lacks players to have more things to rate, but it's a neat concept.

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:38pm

I was prepared to try in Chrome but I don't need another account. It's not accessible. That is not good if you want people to rate your work.

FatBasic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Haha, this concept is fun! I suck at drawing, and so does everyone else when they only have 10 seconds! Makes me feel average at drawing :-P

1y1e says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:45pm

@nikkesen, you should be able to login again fine, with exactly the same username/password, sorry there aren't any recovery options. Username is case-sensitive.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27pm

That was fun :)

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

I'm not able to test it, sorry - it asks for some kind of registration.

1y1e says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05pm

@nikkesen, @dekart: OH I understand, sorry for the confusion; Making an account is just a way to identify players with their rating, the game is inherently multiplayer by nature. I don't want your email address, just a name and a password to identify who you are :)

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:55am

Time limit is just a little short. Fun, though.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:19am

I like the concept. It is not really fun to play alone and without a login I can see it getting really popular and being full of players.

I used my imagination of what it would be like in a group maybe with camera support too and I can see it being REALLY fun.

cool concept but has some barriers that keep it a lonely experience

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:59pm

good concept - would be interesting project for an image processing fan to make it check if player actually drew what he should have. keep collecting the results, there may be master thesis sitting here.

proc says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Clean and simple. I like the progress updates that flash up telling me how much people think my drawings are bad. Will probably visit again later.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:47pm

That was very fun. I'm just a huge fan of DrawSomething and stuff like that. Very good concept

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I like content creation games. What do you do with the votes and ratings?

shard123 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:01am

Really awesome, would do great as an app I bet!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]