August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Steven Seagal: Hard to SWAT

by farmergnome - 48 Hour Compo Entry

5 hostages, 10 seconds, one man. Unofficial Steven Seagal crime fighting game.

GOAL:

Rescue the required hostages on each level.

CONTROLS:

WASD to move.
Left Mouse to shoot.
Right Mouse to move camera.

Equip your squad with different weapons on the menu, use F12 to cheat more weapons if you get a bad loadout.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Overall4.14
#23Fun3.95
#36Graphics4.19
#44Audio3.66
#48Theme3.94
#52Innovation3.92
#54Mood3.73
#62Humor3.67

Comments

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40am

This is really good! I love the idea, it's done really well, and as always the quality is superb! Awesome LD entry. :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19am

Amazing for 48 hours. Steven always gets my vote. Loved the turn-based action.

p4nurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43am

Awesome as ever! Loved the ram-raiding and the central mechanic is really tight. I hope to see an extended version of this...

Cell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

LOVE YOU PAUL

CoOz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Good job! Really great game! Love it! Make it better and with levels and i'll buy it.. Maybe you'll have some copyrights issues whith the star but it worth it. 5 stars for me

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17pm

This was really good! The polish was amazing and the gameplay was really, really fun. I liked your approach to theme and the fact that it's a turn-based shooter.

All my stars are belong to you. Please make a post-compo version.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Really fun turn based SWAT tactics game

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Absolutely hillarious. Amazing.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I am awarding you a 5/5 on every category because Steven Seagal's presence alone merits the highest of rewards.

(and the fact that, by watching the result of your game and how polished it turned out to be, it is obvious to me you did not get an hour of sleep in these 48 hours.)

Ninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Cool game! I really like the turn based aspect as well as being able to choose where your team starts. Well done!

flyingbear says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Wow, this is awesome, I can't believe how much you did in 48 hours! Crashing a van into a building to make an entrance is a mechanic that needs to be used in more games for sure!

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Definitely the most polished and complex entry I played so far. Really well done. It's good to see a bigger game on Ludum Dare from time to time. :)

farmergnome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21am

@Feysoura, I actually had an hour powernap to trick my body haha, aside from that yea, no sleep. Sleep after.

farmergnome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25am

@Jan Marcano I will spend a few hours today putting proper music in, fixing a few of the effects and adding voice over for seagal and hopefully get a trailer done today also, should be up in a few hours.

farmergnome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25am

@Jan Marcano Post comp version that is.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41am

really enjoyed the turn-based type deal of it.. the mechanic of it plays out well!

crit: I just thought steven was stronger.. like he could carry like 20 hostages and not be slowed down even a tiny bit.. so.. its a little unrealistic in that sense =)..

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11am

Wow dude, can't believe how much you did. Really fun, great job.

Sestren says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40am

Really great entry! The turn-based style adds a lot and the crashing through walls was pure awesome. The sound was excellent, as well.

thetheodor98 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Super fun game!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Impressed by what you got done in just 48 hours, and probably the funniest game I've seen so far. Reminded me of a mash up of frozen synapse and hotline Miami, good job.

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32pm

That's excellent. Outstandingly polished.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Great game! Totally Rad and super freakin hard

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Really fun and great game. :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50am

Wow, neat! The quality is great, nice graphics! :D

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:10am

What an amazing game! Loved the intro! Excellent gameplay and great use of theme :)

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

This is so ridiculously good.

ComicSans says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:16am

Wow, great job! I sometimes had trouble telling why my guys were dying, but it was a lot of fun, regardless!

sittaman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:17am

Whoa! Great game! I love the setup mechanic. Pretty brilliant.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21am

Wow, this game is amazing. I'm impressed you got this all done in 48 hours. The gameplay balance could use some work, and there are some bugs, but you probably already know that. I'd play a full version!
I'm feelin' the Hotline Miami in this.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39am

Nice game, maybe a bit more instructions on the crashing car into walls part.

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43am

Great game! Finally another addition to the pantheon of Steven Seagal games:
http://www.nintendoplayer.com/unreleased/steven-seagal-is-the-final-option/

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:45am

freakin fantastic -- love the use of the theme -- the mechanic was awesome -- loved it

Lustdante says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:03am

Wow, this is just a perfection.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:20am

Really great! One of the best and fullest compo games i've played so far

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:17am

Great idea!!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:29am

It reminds me "Hotline Miami" but its really awesome~ loved this one, great job :)

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Hey very good idea! :D
I miss the old turn-based games :D

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Start a new age for turn based game.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Nice job, man!
Strategy gameplay,theme interpretation and visuals are impressive.
Well done!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Well done! Awesome game style!

Anachron says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:12am

Gratuitous police violence for.. the... WIN!!!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:30am

Was enjoying this so much, forgot I was playing an LD48 game. Almost forgot to rate it!

lekochen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:13am

Fantastic entry! How many levels are there?

farmergnome says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:21am

Infinite, its all procedural.

pcmccull says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:10am

Really amazing that you did that in 48 hours. Fun game! Great use of the 10 seconds.

rezoner says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

Oh brilliant. I am actually clicking everything that is related. Amazing gamedeveloper you are.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Awesome game. I would pay lots of money for a full fledged version of this.

Also, Steven Seagal. This nets a few bonus points to you, sir.

Toshiro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

God, how did you do to do that in only 48 hours ? That's not real !
Congratulations, you made a real polished game. I admire.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

Absolutely amazing what you did in such a short amount of time!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

This is really, really impressive. Would love to see a more developed version of this or maybe a video of you playing because I'm not sure how exactly the game should be played. It is really cool and stylish and funny, but I struggled to find how to play the game "properly", if at all possible. Mighty amazing achievement anyway, though

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:45pm

All games should have Steven Seagal in them!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:08am

Great little game! Very Hotline Miami-esque. Super high replay value. Great work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:54pm

So lot fiches! Good graphics!

Kumquat says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:32pm

I love it!

farmergnome says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:18am

Thanks guys, glad you like it! I guess at some point I might extend the comp version if people still are keen to play more.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Amazing interpretation of the theme! Really unique turn based concept, although I think it would work really well with more time (out of your control since this was 10 sec theme) or maybe some other kind of rule for movement (distance or number of shots/etc). This would make for an amazing post-compo game, so I'll check out your latest version right away! As always, your games are really fun and engaging. Great job!

LegacyCrono says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Haha, when I saw "Steven Seagal" at the game list I hardly believed in my eyes. Kudos for the reference!
And then, to my amusement, this is not only the best Seagal game ever, but also one of the most solid games I've played so far. As many has pointed out, there's some Hotline Miami vibe there (might be the flashing colors), but it's also very different. It's really fun and challenging, it requires some serious planning and it takes some time until you manage to avoid getting everyone killed. The AI could be *much* better, though. Generally enemies will gang up against one single unit or get stuck in walls. But given the time restraints this was really well done.
In any case, bravo! You really should keep working on it! :D

d__adee says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:46pm

It's an awesome game! :D
Take all my stars!

aquilicoco says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Great game!

Taiters says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Amazing haha! Well done!

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Amazing game, the concept is fun, and the turn based mechanics are very well implemented. I enjoyed playing it a lot! :D

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:09am

Amazing. So well polished and FUN! The guns are satisfying when they connect. The gameplay is innovative. The music and sounds are good. I'm all kinds of impressed with this entry!

My only complaint is that it's not obvious that the game can't be beaten, and I invested a little too much time trying before coming back here :).

farmergnome says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:24am

Thanks guys, I am working on various post competition missions for it now (and endings, so it shouldn't be too long I wouldn't think, real life got in the way of progress), I will throw it up on my site where the post - comp version is hosted when it is done.

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:50am

Bouncing laser beams through multiple bad guys interested me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered clarifying the time cost of an action?

entrusC says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:00am

Well done - I think this is one of the best entries! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]